Patrick Leahy http://wamc.org en Leahy: Land Mine Decision Incremental http://wamc.org/post/leahy-land-mine-decision-incremental <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont Senator Patrick Leahy, who has crusaded against the production, export and use of antipersonnel land mines, says the Obama administration's announcement that the United States will no longer produce or acquire such weapons is an incremental but positive step. Sat, 28 Jun 2014 03:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 93659 at http://wamc.org Leahy: Land Mine Decision Incremental Vermont Looks to Take Lead on Campaign Amendment http://wamc.org/post/vermont-looks-take-lead-campaign-amendment <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont Senator Patrick Leahy says he'd rather see the Congress craft a constitutional amendment to overturn recent U.S. Supreme Court decisions on campaign finance than have states call a constitutional convention to address the issue. Fri, 23 May 2014 00:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 91095 at http://wamc.org Vermont Looks to Take Lead on Campaign Amendment VT Senator Supports Fighting Addiction http://wamc.org/post/vt-senator-supports-fighting-addiction <p></p><p></p><p>U.S. Senator Patrick Leahy says he looks forward to working with colleagues in the Senate to ensure that Vermont's community-driven responses to opioid and heroin addiction receive the support necessary to succeed. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 02:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 86874 at http://wamc.org VT Senator Supports Fighting Addiction Vt.'s Senators Disappointed By National Guard Cuts http://wamc.org/post/vts-senators-disappointed-national-guard-cuts <p>Vermont's two United States senators are expressing displeasure and concern over proposed cut to the National Guard.</p><p>Sen. Patrick Leahy, co-chair of the Senate National Guard Caucus, says any planned long-term cut to Army National Guard "guts our citizen-soldier force."</p><p>Sen. Bernie Sanders told WPTZ in a statement "we should be growing - rather than shrinking - the National Guard" because of its cost-efficiency.</p> Tue, 25 Feb 2014 13:35:18 +0000 Jaired Crofut 84574 at http://wamc.org Vt.'s Senators Disappointed By National Guard Cuts Senator Leahy Discusses Legislative Priorities http://wamc.org/post/senator-leahy-discusses-legislative-priorities <p></p><p></p><p>U.S. Senator Patrick Leahy met with reporters from Vermont and the region in his Burlington office Friday morning to talk about his Congressional priorities. Fri, 03 Jan 2014 23:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 81173 at http://wamc.org Senator Leahy Discusses Legislative Priorities Warren: Bill Would Bar Credit Checks By Employers http://wamc.org/post/warren-bill-would-bar-credit-checks-employers <p>Massachusetts U.S. Senator Elizabeth Warren is introducing legislation that would ban what she calls the widespread use of personal credit history by employers looking to hire workers.</p><p>Warren said the practice unfairly targets women, minorities, seniors, students and others with fewer resources to bounce back financially after a personal setback like an illness or divorce.</p><p>Those low credit ratings can follow an individual for years.</p><p>Warren told reporters there's little evidence of any correlation between a poor credit rating and job performance.</p> Wed, 18 Dec 2013 13:34:15 +0000 Jaired Crofut 80109 at http://wamc.org Warren: Bill Would Bar Credit Checks By Employers 2 Vt. Senators Applaud Ruling In NSA Phone Case http://wamc.org/post/2-vt-senators-applaud-ruling-nsa-phone-case <p>Vermont's two United States senators are applauding a federal judge's ruling that says the National Security Agency's bulk collection of Americans' telephone records likely violates the U.S. Constitution's ban on unreasonable searches.</p><p>Sens. Patrick Leahy and Bernie Sanders issued separate statements Monday after the decision of U.S. District Court Judge Richard Leon in Washington.</p> Tue, 17 Dec 2013 13:55:53 +0000 Jaired Crofut 80024 at http://wamc.org 2 Vt. Senators Applaud Ruling In NSA Phone Case Leahy Pushes for SNAP Funding http://wamc.org/post/leahy-pushes-snap-funding <p></p><p></p><p>The Farm Bill is the nation’s agricultural, nutrition and food policy vehicle. It provides funding for SNAP, the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program - also known as food stamps. Vermont U.S. Senator Patrick Leahy on Monday was at a community action agency to discuss his efforts to fight proposed cuts to SNAP and talk about legislation to expand incentives for businesses to donate to food banks. Tue, 03 Dec 2013 23:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 79080 at http://wamc.org Leahy Pushes for SNAP Funding Vt. Senators Hail Senate Passage Of Anti-Bias Bill http://wamc.org/post/vt-senators-hail-senate-passage-anti-bias-bill <p>Vermont's two U.S. senators are hailing the Senate's passage of a measure banning workplace discrimination against gay and transgender Americans.</p><p>Both Sens. Patrick Leahy and Bernie Sanders say the measure is overdue. The measure, which now goes to the House, was first introduced in the Senate nearly two decades ago.</p><p>Vermont has prohibited discrimination based on sexual orientation since 1992, and based on transgender status since 2007.</p> Fri, 08 Nov 2013 12:57:21 +0000 Jaired Crofut 77333 at http://wamc.org Vt. Senators Hail Senate Passage Of Anti-Bias Bill Dr. Alan Chartock's Morning Commentary http://wamc.org/post/dr-alan-chartocks-morning-commentary-50 <p>WAMC political observer Dr. Alan Chartock discusses the Red Sox, Vermont Sen. Patrick Leahy introducing legislation for NSA reform, the one year anniversary of Superstom Sandy and the latest regarding the Moreland Act Commission.</p><p></p> Tue, 29 Oct 2013 11:30:16 +0000 Alan Chartock 76548 at http://wamc.org Dr. Alan Chartock's Morning Commentary