Dutchess County Executive Marc Molinaro http://wamc.org en House Passes Legislation Curtailing FERC Enforcement Of Capacity Zone http://wamc.org/post/house-passes-legislation-curtailing-ferc-enforcement-capacity-zone <p></p><p>The House of Representatives has passed an amendment put forth by two New York congressmen who want to rein in the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission and undo a new capacity zone.</p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 23:21:14 +0000 Allison Dunne 94696 at http://wamc.org House Passes Legislation Curtailing FERC Enforcement Of Capacity Zone Dutchess Road Will Be Dedicated To Honor Veterans http://wamc.org/post/dutchess-road-will-be-dedicated-honor-veterans <p></p><p>A road in a Hudson Valley town will be dedicated Saturday morning to honor local veterans.</p> Sat, 14 Jun 2014 10:14:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 92607 at http://wamc.org Dutchess Road Will Be Dedicated To Honor Veterans Dutchess County Exec Supports Lawsuit Against FERC http://wamc.org/post/dutchess-county-exec-supports-lawsuit-against-ferc <p></p><p>The Dutchess County executive has joined the legal fight to dismantle a new capacity zone. He says county residents cannot afford to pay the price of higher electric bills resulting from the new zone and is calling on a federal agency to halt the zone’s implementation.</p><p>Dutchess County Executive Marc Molinaro Monday filed an amicus brief with the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, against the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission.</p> Wed, 21 May 2014 17:03:01 +0000 Allison Dunne 90968 at http://wamc.org Dutchess County Exec Supports Lawsuit Against FERC County Exec Comments on NYS Senate Candidate's Pullout http://wamc.org/post/county-exec-comments-nys-senate-candidates-pullout <p></p><p></p><p>After a Republican candidate this week announced he was withdrawing from the race for a New York state Senate seat in the Hudson Valley, the Dutchess County executive who supported him weighs in.</p><p>Dutchess County Legislature Chairman Rob Rolison announced he was pulling out of the race for the 41st Senate District, citing too many about personal attacks than a focus on the future of the state and Republican Party. Here’s Dutchess County Executive Marc Molinaro.</p> Wed, 21 May 2014 11:31:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 90921 at http://wamc.org County Exec Comments on NYS Senate Candidate's Pullout County Exec Says FERC Is Ignoring His Concerns http://wamc.org/post/county-exec-says-ferc-ignoring-his-concerns <p></p><p>The Dutchess County executive says he finds it disturbing that a federal agency has provided no response to his and many others’ concerns about a new capacity zone that is expected to raise electric rates for many Hudson Valley residents.</p> Mon, 28 Apr 2014 17:29:31 +0000 Allison Dunne 89187 at http://wamc.org County Exec Says FERC Is Ignoring His Concerns The Vote: Getting Young Voters To The Polls In Off-Year Elections http://wamc.org/post/vote-getting-young-voters-polls-year-elections <p>Voter turnout in off-year elections is generally much lower than in presidential election years, and turnout among young voters is no exception. Three politicians who have set records for being the youngest in one political office or another have ideas about where the problems lie. WAMC’s Hudson Valley Bureau Chief Allison Dunne has part two in our special series The Vote.</p> Tue, 29 Oct 2013 17:35:18 +0000 Allison Dunne 76584 at http://wamc.org The Vote: Getting Young Voters To The Polls In Off-Year Elections Former NFL Receiver Delivers Speech In Newburgh For United Way http://wamc.org/post/former-nfl-receiver-delivers-speech-newburgh-united-way <p>A former New York Giants player is in Newburgh Friday morning, to help kick off a campaign for the common good.</p> Fri, 13 Sep 2013 12:33:06 +0000 Allison Dunne 73541 at http://wamc.org Amid Charges Comes Concern About Voter Confidence http://wamc.org/post/amid-charges-comes-concern-about-voter-confidence <p>With the indictment of the Dutchess County Democratic elections commissioner and a former Republican elections commissioner on misconduct and other alleged violations of election law, the job of ensuring voting integrity begins.</p> Wed, 31 Jul 2013 17:14:31 +0000 Allison Dunne 70432 at http://wamc.org Amid Charges Comes Concern About Voter Confidence Former County Exec Dies; Elected Officials Talk About Her Influence http://wamc.org/post/former-county-exec-dies-elected-officials-talk-about-her-influence <p>A former Dutchess County executive died Wednesday. She broke several barriers and, to this day, remains the county’s only woman and Democratic county executive to have held the office.</p><p>Lucille Pattison became Dutchess County executive in 1978 through a special election, after having served on the county legislature since 1973. The first woman Democratic county executive in the United States, Pattison was reelected for the next two terms, retiring in 1991. Marc Molinaro, a Republican, is the current Dutchess County executive.</p> Thu, 20 Jun 2013 17:52:49 +0000 Allison Dunne 67502 at http://wamc.org Former County Exec Dies; Elected Officials Talk About Her Influence Former Dutchess County Exec Dies http://wamc.org/post/former-dutchess-county-exec-dies <p>A former county executive in the Hudson Valley has died.</p> Thu, 20 Jun 2013 03:57:02 +0000 Allison Dunne 67449 at http://wamc.org Former Dutchess County Exec Dies