Dutchess County Executive Marc Molinaro http://wamc.org en The Vote: Getting Young Voters To The Polls In Off-Year Elections http://wamc.org/post/vote-getting-young-voters-polls-year-elections <p>Voter turnout in off-year elections is generally much lower than in presidential election years, and turnout among young voters is no exception. Three politicians who have set records for being the youngest in one political office or another have ideas about where the problems lie. WAMC’s Hudson Valley Bureau Chief Allison Dunne has part two in our special series The Vote.</p> Tue, 29 Oct 2013 17:35:18 +0000 Allison Dunne 76584 at http://wamc.org The Vote: Getting Young Voters To The Polls In Off-Year Elections Former NFL Receiver Delivers Speech In Newburgh For United Way http://wamc.org/post/former-nfl-receiver-delivers-speech-newburgh-united-way <p>A former New York Giants player is in Newburgh Friday morning, to help kick off a campaign for the common good.</p> Fri, 13 Sep 2013 12:33:06 +0000 Allison Dunne 73541 at http://wamc.org Amid Charges Comes Concern About Voter Confidence http://wamc.org/post/amid-charges-comes-concern-about-voter-confidence <p>With the indictment of the Dutchess County Democratic elections commissioner and a former Republican elections commissioner on misconduct and other alleged violations of election law, the job of ensuring voting integrity begins.</p> Wed, 31 Jul 2013 17:14:31 +0000 Allison Dunne 70432 at http://wamc.org Amid Charges Comes Concern About Voter Confidence Former County Exec Dies; Elected Officials Talk About Her Influence http://wamc.org/post/former-county-exec-dies-elected-officials-talk-about-her-influence <p>A former Dutchess County executive died Wednesday. She broke several barriers and, to this day, remains the county’s only woman and Democratic county executive to have held the office.</p><p>Lucille Pattison became Dutchess County executive in 1978 through a special election, after having served on the county legislature since 1973. The first woman Democratic county executive in the United States, Pattison was reelected for the next two terms, retiring in 1991. Marc Molinaro, a Republican, is the current Dutchess County executive.</p> Thu, 20 Jun 2013 17:52:49 +0000 Allison Dunne 67502 at http://wamc.org Former County Exec Dies; Elected Officials Talk About Her Influence Former Dutchess County Exec Dies http://wamc.org/post/former-dutchess-county-exec-dies <p>A former county executive in the Hudson Valley has died.</p> Thu, 20 Jun 2013 03:57:02 +0000 Allison Dunne 67449 at http://wamc.org Former Dutchess County Exec Dies NYS GOP Chair Floats Names to Challenge Governor Cuomo http://wamc.org/post/nys-gop-chair-floats-names-challenge-governor-cuomo <p>Five names were recently floated as potential candidates to challenge New York Governor Andrew Cuomo in the 2014 election. Four of the five are in the Hudson Valley.</p><p>Ed Cox is chairman of the New York State Republican Party.</p><p>One is Westchester County Executive Rob Astorino.</p><p>He refers to running for county executive. And the federal agency he says he is battling is the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, over aspects of an affordable housing agreement. As to whether he is ruling out a run for governor, Astorino replies:</p> Wed, 17 Apr 2013 18:08:38 +0000 Allison Dunne 62479 at http://wamc.org NYS GOP Chair Floats Names to Challenge Governor Cuomo