New York State Public Service Commission http://wamc.org en PSC Cuts United Water's Proposed Rate Increase http://wamc.org/post/psc-cuts-united-waters-proposed-rate-increase <p></p><p>The New York State Public Service Commission has rejected a requested water-rate increase in the Hudson Valley. The PSC also wants a third party to independently review management and operation practices.</p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 14:29:49 +0000 Allison Dunne 94330 at http://wamc.org PSC Cuts United Water's Proposed Rate Increase PSC Rejects United Water's Requested Rate Increase http://wamc.org/post/psc-rejects-united-waters-requested-rate-increase <p></p><p>The New York State Public Service Commission Thursday rejected a requested water-rate increase in the Hudson Valley.</p> Fri, 27 Jun 2014 10:53:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 93578 at http://wamc.org PSC Rejects United Water's Requested Rate Increase FERC Denies Rehearing On Capacity Zone Request http://wamc.org/post/ferc-denies-rehearing-capacity-zone-request <p></p><p>The Federal Energy Regulatory Commission issued an order relating to a newly-implemented energy capacity zone that is already raising electric rates. &nbsp;The order came one week before a scheduled day in court.</p> Mon, 02 Jun 2014 16:29:34 +0000 Allison Dunne 91772 at http://wamc.org FERC Denies Rehearing On Capacity Zone Request Dutchess County Exec Supports Lawsuit Against FERC http://wamc.org/post/dutchess-county-exec-supports-lawsuit-against-ferc <p></p><p>The Dutchess County executive has joined the legal fight to dismantle a new capacity zone. He says county residents cannot afford to pay the price of higher electric bills resulting from the new zone and is calling on a federal agency to halt the zone’s implementation.</p><p>Dutchess County Executive Marc Molinaro Monday filed an amicus brief with the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, against the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission.</p> Wed, 21 May 2014 17:03:01 +0000 Allison Dunne 90968 at http://wamc.org Dutchess County Exec Supports Lawsuit Against FERC Court Issues Order In Lawsuit Against FERC http://wamc.org/post/court-issues-order-lawsuit-against-ferc <p></p><p>A U.S. Court of Appeals has responded to a lawsuit filed earlier this week by a Dutchess County utility and the New York State Public Service Commission concerning a new capacity zone.</p> Sat, 17 May 2014 16:22:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 90689 at http://wamc.org Court Issues Order In Lawsuit Against FERC Court Orders FERC Response In Capacity Zone Case http://wamc.org/post/court-orders-ferc-response-capacity-zone-case <p></p><p>A U.S. Court of Appeals has responded to a lawsuit filed earlier this week by a Dutchess County utility and the New York State Public Service Commission concerning a new capacity zone.</p> Fri, 16 May 2014 19:04:48 +0000 Allison Dunne 90635 at http://wamc.org Court Orders FERC Response In Capacity Zone Case Central Hudson, PSC Take FERC Matter To Court http://wamc.org/post/central-hudson-psc-take-ferc-matter-court <p></p><p>A Dutchess County-based utility company is turning to legal action in its opposition to a new capacity zone that it says is already translating into higher electric rates. The New York State Public Service Commission has also filed an emergency motion with the court.</p> Wed, 14 May 2014 01:17:21 +0000 Allison Dunne 90376 at http://wamc.org Central Hudson, PSC Take FERC Matter To Court National Grid Removes Eminent Domain From Its Plans http://wamc.org/post/national-grid-removes-eminent-domain-its-plans <p></p><p>An energy company that is submitting a proposal to the New York State Public Service Commission for a major power line project appears to have allayed one major concern. And while community groups praise the utility’s move, they say they are not completely at ease, and have other worries.</p><p>There is an AC, or alternating current, transmission proceeding under way, and developers are working on proposals for high-voltage transmission line upgrades. One of the utility companies putting forth a proposal is National Grid. Here’s spokesman Patrick Stella.</p> Tue, 22 Apr 2014 18:51:34 +0000 Allison Dunne 88755 at http://wamc.org National Grid Removes Eminent Domain From Its Plans NYS Senator Rolls Out Affordable Energy Plan http://wamc.org/post/nys-senator-rolls-out-affordable-energy-plan <p>A New York state Senator from the Hudson Valley has unveiled an energy plan he hopes will ease financial burdens and move the state forward.&nbsp;</p><p>State Senator Terry Gipson has an affordable energy plan he says would bring relief from taxes and rate hikes to families and businesses.</p><p>“I just can’t sit by any longer and watch hardworking families and business owners suffer under these regressive energy taxes,” says Gipson.</p><p>The Democrat from Rhinebeck says his plan has five points.</p> Thu, 13 Mar 2014 18:56:39 +0000 Allison Dunne 85783 at http://wamc.org NYS Senator Rolls Out Affordable Energy Plan NYS Senate Committee To Hear About Contingency Plans For Indian Point http://wamc.org/post/nys-senate-committee-hear-about-contingency-plans-indian-point <p></p><p>A New York state senate committee next week will hold a hearing about a contingency plan if the Indian Point nuclear power plant were to be shut down. The committee&rsquo;s chairman has concerns about the proposed plan, but does not want to see the plant closed. An environmental group does.</p> Fri, 27 Sep 2013 20:20:05 +0000 Allison Dunne 74493 at http://wamc.org NYS Senate Committee To Hear About Contingency Plans For Indian Point