PCBs http://wamc.org en GE Settles With Saratoga County Municipalities http://wamc.org/post/ge-settles-saratoga-county-municipalities <p></p><p>General Electric has reportedly agreed to pay close to $8 million to settle a portion of five-year-old lawsuit brought by Saratoga County municipalities related to the company’s dredging on the Hudson River. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 20:13:19 +0000 Lucas Willard 94088 at http://wamc.org GE Settles With Saratoga County Municipalities Pittsfield's Silver Lake Open For Recreation http://wamc.org/post/pittsfields-silver-lake-open-recreation <p>The city of Pittsfield recently recognized the revitalization of Silver Lake.</p> Wed, 28 May 2014 16:20:00 +0000 Jim Levulis 91430 at http://wamc.org Pittsfield's Silver Lake Open For Recreation Pittsfield Celebrates Silver Lake Revitalization http://wamc.org/post/pittsfield-celebrates-silver-lake-revitalization <p>The city of Pittsfield celebrated the opening of a once dangerously contaminated lake Friday.</p><p>Community members, business leaders and state and local officials gathered on the banks of Silver Lake marking the completion of revitalization work that began nearly two years ago.</p><p>“It is a symbol of what I think is going to be the next chapter in the city of Pittsfield and a bright future for generations to come,” said Pittsfield Mayor Dan Bianchi.</p> Sat, 24 May 2014 00:32:00 +0000 Jim Levulis 91153 at http://wamc.org Pittsfield Celebrates Silver Lake Revitalization EPA Delivers Update On Hudson River PCB Cleanup Project http://wamc.org/post/epa-delivers-update-hudson-river-pcb-cleanup-project <p>The Hudson River PCB cleanup project is nearly 75 percent complete as the fourth season of dredging comes to a close. An Environmental Protection Agency regional administrator delivered a progress report while an environmental group is calling on General Electric to clean up additional PCBs.&nbsp;</p><p>EPA Regional Administrator Judith Enck says the 2013 dredging season comes to a close in a few days, putting the entire project about a year ahead of schedule.</p> Tue, 05 Nov 2013 23:43:26 +0000 Allison Dunne 77122 at http://wamc.org EPA Delivers Update On Hudson River PCB Cleanup Project Restoration of Bartholomew's Cobble Taking Root http://wamc.org/post/restoration-bartholomews-cobble-taking-root <p>The final steps in the active restoration of a floodplain in southern Berkshire County are taking root.</p> Fri, 30 Aug 2013 17:04:00 +0000 Jim Levulis 72563 at http://wamc.org Restoration of Bartholomew's Cobble Taking Root Dredging Crews Back On Hudson River http://wamc.org/post/dredging-crews-back-hudson-river <p></p><p></p><p>Crews are back dredging the upper Hudson River in New York after high water forced a temporary suspension last week.</p><p>General&nbsp;Electric Co. says work on the multi-year Superfund project resumed Monday on two areas north of Albany contaminated by PCBs. Heavy rains and high water forced crews off the river late Wednesday.</p><p>Crews began a fourth season of the project April 29. They are more than halfway done with the goal of removing 2.65 million cubic yards of contaminated sediment from a 40-mile stretch of the upper Hudson.</p> Tue, 18 Jun 2013 12:23:29 +0000 Jaired Crofut 67274 at http://wamc.org Dredging Crews Back On Hudson River GE Agrees to Analyze Risks from Additional Hudson River PCBs http://wamc.org/post/ge-agrees-analyze-risks-additional-hudson-river-pcbs <p>General Electric has agreed to analyze its potential liability in relation to recently-discovered PCBs in the upper Hudson River. GE will soon resume its remediation of PCBs it discharged into the Hudson decades ago, and at least one environmental group hopes the company will incorporate the additional dredging this year.</p> Tue, 12 Mar 2013 17:01:25 +0000 Allison Dunne 59666 at http://wamc.org GE Agrees to Analyze Risks from Additional Hudson River PCBs Company Offers Technology to Aid in Housatonic PCB Cleanup http://wamc.org/post/company-offers-technology-aid-housatonic-pcb-cleanup <p>As state and federal officials are still working with GE on a plan to clean PCBs from the Housatonic River in the Berkshires, local activists are searching for new technologies to lessen the impact on the surrounding ecosystem. WAMC’s Berkshire Bureau Chief Lucas Willard reports…</p><p>In an event yesterday evening sponsored by local environmental groups and hosted by the Housatonic River Initiative, company BioTech Restorations presented new technologies they’ve been developing to remove harmful chemicals from contaminated soil.</p> Fri, 19 Oct 2012 21:24:09 +0000 Lucas Willard 50239 at http://wamc.org Company Offers Technology to Aid in Housatonic PCB Cleanup PCB Removal in Pittsfield Site to Begin http://wamc.org/post/pcb-removal-pittsfield-site-begin <p>Beginning next week, General Electric will be begin work on removing PCBs from Pittsfield&rsquo;s Silver Lake. WAMC&rsquo;s Berkshire Bureau Chief Lucas Willard&hellip;</p> Fri, 06 Jul 2012 19:39:22 +0000 Lucas Willard 42600 at http://wamc.org PCB Removal in Pittsfield Site to Begin Dredging Set to Start in Polluted Onondaga Lake http://wamc.org/post/dredging-set-start-polluted-onondaga-lake <p>New York State environmental officials say dredging and capping pollution in Onondaga Lake will begin this summer.&nbsp; WAMC&rsquo;s Tristan O&rsquo;Neill reports&hellip;</p><p>The work is part of a $451 million project at the Superfund site, where contamination has already been targeted with cleanups at industrial sites and improved wastewater treatment.</p><p>Decades of industrial activity poured mercury and other metals along with solvents and PCBs into the lake northwest of Syracuse.</p> Sat, 02 Jun 2012 15:00:00 +0000 Tristan O'Neill 40230 at http://wamc.org Dredging Set to Start in Polluted Onondaga Lake