food stamps http://wamc.org en VT House Rejects Higher Taxes On Rich http://wamc.org/post/vt-house-rejects-higher-taxes-rich <p></p><p></p><p>The Vermont House has rejected raising income tax rates on top earners so the state can make up for cuts in federal support for food stamps. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 00:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 86873 at http://wamc.org VT House Rejects Higher Taxes On Rich Congressional Corner With Paul Tonko http://wamc.org/post/congressional-corner-paul-tonko-15 <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>Food shortages have become an increasing problem across the country.</p><p>In today’s Congressional Corner, New York representative Paul Tonko tells WAMC’s Alan Chartock that funding for SNAP benefits should be restored.</p><p> Tue, 10 Dec 2013 15:50:00 +0000 Alan Chartock 79707 at http://wamc.org Congressional Corner With Paul Tonko Leahy Pushes for SNAP Funding http://wamc.org/post/leahy-pushes-snap-funding <p></p><p></p><p>The Farm Bill is the nation’s agricultural, nutrition and food policy vehicle. It provides funding for SNAP, the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program - also known as food stamps. Vermont U.S. Senator Patrick Leahy on Monday was at a community action agency to discuss his efforts to fight proposed cuts to SNAP and talk about legislation to expand incentives for businesses to donate to food banks. Tue, 03 Dec 2013 23:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 79080 at http://wamc.org Leahy Pushes for SNAP Funding Two NY Congressmen Continue Pushing For A Farm Bill http://wamc.org/post/two-ny-congressmen-continue-pushing-farm-bill <p>The five-year Farm Bill was defeated Thursday in the U.S. House of Representatives by a vote of 234-195. Two Congressmen from the Hudson Valley share a similar goal with the federal Farm Bill, yet voted differently.</p><p>Republican Congressman Chris Gibson and Democratic Congressman Sean Patrick Maloney sit on the House Agriculture Committee, and while both voted to advance the bill from there in May, they cast different votes Thursday. Gibson voted in favor of the Federal Agriculture Reform and Risk Management, or FARRM, Act of 2013, and says he was disappointed with the outcome.</p> Fri, 21 Jun 2013 20:02:50 +0000 Allison Dunne 67612 at http://wamc.org Two NY Congressmen Continue Pushing For A Farm Bill Two Hudson Valley Congressmen Explain Their Farm Bill Approach http://wamc.org/post/two-hudson-valley-congressmen-explain-their-farm-bill-approach <p>The Farm Bill, which contains the nation’s food stamp program, is slated to be voted upon this week in the House of Representatives. Two Congressmen from the Hudson Valley say their approach to the bill is for the greater good of agriculture in their region. However, their views do not sit well with many in their parties.</p> Tue, 18 Jun 2013 17:01:18 +0000 Allison Dunne 67299 at http://wamc.org Two Hudson Valley Congressmen Explain Their Farm Bill Approach Activists Protest Possible Cuts To Food Stamps http://wamc.org/post/activists-protest-possible-cuts-food-stamps <p>&nbsp;&nbsp; Activists held a series of demonstrations across the country today to call on influential Democratic members of Congress to prevent cuts to the food stamp program.&nbsp; One of &nbsp;the demonstrations was in Springfield, Massachusetts.</p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 17 Jun 2013 22:20:00 +0000 Paul Tuthill 67233 at http://wamc.org Activists Protest Possible Cuts To Food Stamps Residents Form Soup Line At Congressman's Office, Protest A Vote http://wamc.org/post/residents-form-soup-line-congressmans-office-protest-vote <p>Some two dozen low-income Hudson Valley residents showed up outside the office of their Congressman Thursday to express disappointment and anger over his recent vote concerning a national food stamp program.</p> Fri, 14 Jun 2013 16:52:18 +0000 Allison Dunne 67045 at http://wamc.org Residents Form Soup Line At Congressman's Office, Protest A Vote Top Welfare Official To Live On Food Stamp Budget http://wamc.org/post/top-welfare-official-live-food-stamp-budget <p>The man in charge of administering much of the social services system in Massachusetts is trying to live for a week on a food budget equal to what is provided by a federal assistance program.&nbsp; It is part of a national campaign by anti-hunger groups to highlight the importance of the program at a time when it is threatened with deep cuts.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 14 Jun 2013 16:15:00 +0000 Paul Tuthill 67030 at http://wamc.org Top Welfare Official To Live On Food Stamp Budget