poverty http://wamc.org en Richard Iannuzzi: In The Grip Of Poverty, Inequality http://wamc.org/post/richard-iannuzzi-grip-poverty-inequality <p>In his new book, <em>So Rich, So Poor</em>, former Clinton and Kennedy policy advisor Peter Edelman writes that poverty and inequality stem from the same root causes.&nbsp; They cannot be separated – certainly not in America today. Fri, 22 Nov 2013 20:50:00 +0000 Richard Iannuzzi 78377 at http://wamc.org Blair Horner: Health Inequality Grows http://wamc.org/post/blair-horner-health-inequality-grows <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">It’s well established that the income gap between rich and poor in America has increased over the past few decades.&nbsp; Income inequality among developed nations is highest in the United States.&nbsp; Most of the growth in this inequality has been between the middle class and top earners, with the disparity becoming more extreme the further one goes up in income.</span></p><p> Mon, 18 Mar 2013 19:37:00 +0000 Blair Horner 60093 at http://wamc.org Massachusetts To Stop Sheltering Homeless In Motels http://wamc.org/post/massachusetts-stop-sheltering-homeless-motels <p></p><p></p><p>The state aims to phase out the use of motel rooms as emergency shelters for homeless families over the next 18 months and halt the program completely by June 30, 2014.&nbsp; Aaron Gornstein, the Undersecretary of&nbsp; The Department of &nbsp;Housing and Community Development&nbsp; said eliminating the motel system is in the best interest of taxpayers and homeless families.</p><p> Wed, 02 Jan 2013 23:35:00 +0000 Paul Tuthill 54940 at http://wamc.org Massachusetts To Stop Sheltering Homeless In Motels Massachusetts Funding Collaborative Announces Record Donations http://wamc.org/post/massachusetts-funding-collaborative-announces-record-donations <p>A group of Massachusetts based foundations and corporations have announced millions in donations to help low income people survive the winter.&nbsp;&nbsp; WAMC’s Pioneer Valley Bureau Chief Paul Tuthill reports.</p><p></p><p></p><p>&nbsp;&nbsp; The statewide funding collaborative, <a href="http://massneeds.org/">MassNeeds</a>, on Tuesday announced that $8.4 million has been raised &nbsp;to help poor people with the basic needs of food, heat and shelter this winter. The money comes from 41 corporate, private and public foundations and will be shared by 150&nbsp; charities .</p> Tue, 04 Dec 2012 23:19:00 +0000 Paul Tuthill 53287 at http://wamc.org Massachusetts Funding Collaborative Announces Record Donations Fire in the Ashes: Twenty-Five Years Among the Poorest Children in America http://wamc.org/post/fire-ashes-twenty-five-years-among-poorest-children-america <p>National Book Award-winning author, Jonathan Kozol, has been working with children in inner-city schools for nearly fifty years and has been called “today’s most eloquent spokesman for America’s disenfranchised.”</p> Mon, 17 Sep 2012 13:35:00 +0000 Joe Donahue 48036 at http://wamc.org Fire in the Ashes: Twenty-Five Years Among the Poorest Children in America Food Pantries Struggle To Meet Summer Demand http://wamc.org/post/food-pantries-struggle-meet-summer-demand <p>Food pantries are in dire straits this summer. Programs that feed the poor are seeing rising demand, less government help and higher prices for food.&nbsp;&nbsp; WAMC&rdquo;s Pioneer Valley Bureau Chief Paul Tuthill reports.</p><p></p><p>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; An emergency food pantry in Springfield Massachusetts had to close temporarily for one day last week after its shelves went bare.</p> Wed, 18 Jul 2012 22:30:00 +0000 Paul Tuthill 43429 at http://wamc.org Food Pantries Struggle To Meet Summer Demand City Hall Protest Demands More Housing For The Poor http://wamc.org/post/city-hall-protest-demands-more-housing-poor <p>Anti poverty activists want more housing for the poor in Springfield Massachusetts. The comprehensive master plan for rebuilding from the tornado does not call for more affordable housing to be built.&nbsp; WAMC&rsquo;s Pioneer Valley Bureau Chief Paul Tuthill reports..</p><p>&nbsp;</p> Tue, 01 May 2012 22:30:00 +0000 Paul Tuthill 38048 at http://wamc.org City Hall Protest Demands More Housing For The Poor Anti-poverty Activists Urge Reversal Of Budget Cuts http://wamc.org/post/anti-poverty-activists-urge-reversal-budget-cuts <p><font size="2">&nbsp; As the Massachusetts House is set to begin debate today on a proposed $32 billion state budget for the fiscal year that begins in July, anti poverty activists are decrying proposals they claim will erode the social safety net.&nbsp; WAMC&#39;S Pioneer Valley Bureau Chief Paul Tuthill reports.<br /> Mon, 23 Apr 2012 16:25:00 +0000 Paul Tuthill 37381 at http://wamc.org Anti-poverty Activists Urge Reversal Of Budget Cuts