Adirondack Council http://wamc.org en Two Adirondack Land Swaps Proposals On Ballot http://wamc.org/post/two-adirondack-land-swaps-proposals-ballot <p></p><p>Two of the six amendments on Tuesday’s ballot deal with land swaps in New York’s Adirondack Park. One of the proposals has split environmental groups. Fri, 01 Nov 2013 22:07:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 76863 at http://wamc.org Two Adirondack Land Swaps Proposals On Ballot Adirondack Group Releases Annual Assessment of Park http://wamc.org/post/adirondack-group-releases-annual-assessment-park <p></p><p></p><p>The Adirondack Council has released its annual State of the Park report and this year&rsquo;s assessment shows increased collaborations and progress on issues. Wed, 16 Oct 2013 16:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 75683 at http://wamc.org Adirondack Group Releases Annual Assessment of Park Adirondack Groups Praise U.S. High Court Review of EPA Rule Challenge http://wamc.org/post/adirondack-groups-praise-us-high-court-review-epa-rule-challenge <p></p><p></p><p>The U.S. Supreme Court will review an appeals court ruling that overturned the Environmental Protection Agency's Cross-State Air Pollution Rule. Two Adirondack environmental groups say the move is crucial for the long-term health of the region’s ecosystem. Tue, 25 Jun 2013 16:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 67813 at http://wamc.org Adirondack Groups Praise U.S. High Court Review of EPA Rule Challenge Conversation with New Adirondack Council Leader http://wamc.org/post/conversation-new-adirondack-council-leader <p></p><p></p><p>A new leader is at the helm of the Adirondack Council.&nbsp; William “Willie” C. Janeway talks about his return to the Adirondack Park as he marshals the organization’s conservation efforts. Sat, 11 May 2013 17:00:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 64396 at http://wamc.org Conversation with New Adirondack Council Leader Group Requests Hearing on Chemical Treatment of Lake Invasive http://wamc.org/post/group-requests-hearing-chemical-treatment-lake-invasive <p></p><p></p><p>The Adirondack Council wants the Adirondack Park Agency to hold a formal public hearing before deciding whether to allow the use of a chemical herbicide in a lake to kill an invasive plant. Wed, 13 Mar 2013 16:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 59748 at http://wamc.org Group Requests Hearing on Chemical Treatment of Lake Invasive Group Submits Plan to Create Wilderness Area in Adirondacks http://wamc.org/post/group-submits-plan-create-wilderness-area-adirondacks <p>The Adirondack Council is the latest conservation group to release a plan for New York State’s newly acquired land in the Adirondacks.<br><br>In August, New York State officials announced the state&nbsp; will purchase 69-thousand acres of former Finch-Pruyn lands in the Adirondacks over the next five years. Those lands must be classified under DEC Unit Management Plans.<br> Fri, 07 Dec 2012 17:20:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 53499 at http://wamc.org Group Submits Plan to Create Wilderness Area in Adirondacks Report Assesses Actions Pertaining to Adirondack Park http://wamc.org/post/report-assesses-actions-pertaining-adirondack-park <p>The <a href="http://www.adirondackcouncil.org">Adirondack Council </a>has released their annual State of the Park report, reviewing the actions of individuals, agencies and lawmakers and the subsequent impact on the 6-million acre Adirondack Park.<br> Fri, 19 Oct 2012 22:20:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 50237 at http://wamc.org Report Assesses Actions Pertaining to Adirondack Park Vox Pop : Adirondack Park Issues : 4/17/12 http://wamc.org/post/vox-pop-adirondack-park-issues-41712 <p>With over 6 million acres, New York&rsquo;s Adirondack Park is the largest park, state level protected area, and national historic landmark in the contiguous United States.</p><p>Those who live and love the Adirondacks face many issues, including how best to preserve the environmental integrity of the park while also accomadating those who live there.</p> Tue, 17 Apr 2012 19:00:00 +0000 37181 at http://wamc.org