DEC http://wamc.org en Albany Oil Spill Rattles Officials http://wamc.org/post/albany-oil-spill-rattles-officials <p>A relatively minor oil spill at the Port of Albany has apparently set the scene for a summer of scrutiny, with county officials putting crude-by-rail transporter Global Partners LLC under the microscope.</p><p>Albany's river port has emerged as a major hub for rail and barge shipments of crude oil. A series of incidents involving rail cars moving crude oil internationally has prompted concerns about spills and fires from some residents and environmental groups.&nbsp; A weekend spill underscores those concerns.</p> Mon, 30 Jun 2014 22:59:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 93818 at http://wamc.org Albany Oil Spill Rattles Officials Regulations On Invasive Species In Effect At Boat Launches http://wamc.org/post/regulations-invasive-species-effect-boat-launches <p></p><p></p><p>New regulations have gone into effect in New York State requiring boats at DEC boat launches be clear of any plant or animal matter before entering the water. As those rules go into effect, legislation is pending in Albany that would make such “clean, drain and dry” regulations applicable at all boat launches. Thu, 05 Jun 2014 18:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 91989 at http://wamc.org Regulations On Invasive Species In Effect At Boat Launches The Saga Of The Albany Bear http://wamc.org/post/saga-albany-bear <p>A bear cub that took refuge in a tree across the street from a public school in an Albany neighborhood captivated the city for more than a day, the story attracting national attention and stirring a mini-debate over euthanization.&nbsp; There is no happy ending.</p><p>The young black bear wandered far from home, survived being hit by two cars and shot with tranquilizer darts and a shotgun before finally falling from a tree where it sought refuge in a city neighborhood.</p> Thu, 29 May 2014 17:03:56 +0000 Dave Lucas 91541 at http://wamc.org The Saga Of The Albany Bear Update: Bear Down In Albany http://wamc.org/post/update-bear-down-albany <p></p><p>The saga of the so-called "Albany Bear" has come to an end.</p><p></p> Wed, 28 May 2014 20:57:01 +0000 Dave Lucas 91479 at http://wamc.org Update: Bear Down In Albany Albany "Bear Watch" http://wamc.org/post/albany-bear-watch <p><span style="font-family: monospace; font-size: 16px; line-height: normal; ">A bear up a tree in Albany has kept officials up all night - &nbsp;</span></p><p></p> Wed, 28 May 2014 11:40:58 +0000 Dave Lucas 91418 at http://wamc.org Albany "Bear Watch" NYS Land Protection Grants Announced http://wamc.org/post/nys-land-protection-grants-announced <p>Earth Week celebration got a lift Thursday in New York with an announcement of $1.4 million in conservation grants to land trusts statewide.</p><p></p><p>Grants were distributed to 50 nonprofit land trusts around the state.&nbsp; Department of Environmental Conservation Commissioner Joe Martens made the announcement at Indian Ladder Farms in Altamont:</p><p><iframe allowfullscreen="" frameborder="0" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/ly9aIQVJA9U?rel=0" width="420"></iframe></p> Fri, 25 Apr 2014 18:13:37 +0000 Dave Lucas 89037 at http://wamc.org NYS Land Protection Grants Announced Onondaga Lake Cleanup Resumes http://wamc.org/post/onondaga-lake-cleanup-resumes <p>The cleanup of Onondaga Lake in central New York is set to resume. Fri, 04 Apr 2014 12:19:05 +0000 Patrick Garrett 87440 at http://wamc.org More Questions About Oil Trains After Derailments http://wamc.org/post/more-questions-about-oil-trains-after-derailments <p></p><p>Citizens living along the Hudson River in downtown Albany are in a heightened state of awareness and worry over those so-called "oil trains" that routinely roll through their backyards.</p><p>On Friday, federal and state authorities participated in a series of inspections at the Port of Albany and its adjacent rail yard, as well as inspections in Albany and Buffalo along rail tracks and in rail cars. Inspectors found oil tank cars with wheel defects and brake shoe defects.</p> Mon, 03 Mar 2014 17:37:54 +0000 Dave Lucas 85007 at http://wamc.org More Questions About Oil Trains After Derailments Neighbors Meet Again To Voice Port Concerns http://wamc.org/post/neighbors-meet-again-voice-port-concerns <p></p><p></p><p>Three Albany Common Council Members continue their efforts to ensure local residents have their say as plans move forward to build a crude oil heating facility at the Port of Albany.</p> Wed, 26 Feb 2014 19:18:01 +0000 Dave Lucas 84693 at http://wamc.org Neighbors Meet Again To Voice Port Concerns More Fracking Pro And Con - The Battle Rages On http://wamc.org/post/more-fracking-pro-and-con-battle-rages <p>The future of hydraulic fracturing has been in limbo since the New York state Department of Environmental Conservation began a review of the practice in 2008. Now, six public hearings are being held across New York to receive public comment on the draft State Energy Plan... one of them in Albany today.&nbsp; Environmental groups are also at the Capitol today calling on Governor Andrew Cuomo to put renewable energy ahead of fossil fuels in his effort to reduce greenhouse gas emissions 80 percent by 2050.</p><p></p> Tue, 18 Feb 2014 17:08:11 +0000 Dave Lucas 84088 at http://wamc.org More Fracking Pro And Con - The Battle Rages On