Albany mayoral race http://wamc.org en Albany Mayor-Elect Names Transition Team http://wamc.org/post/albany-mayor-elect-names-transition-team <p></p><p>This week, Albany mayor-elect Kathy Sheehan named leaders of a transition team formed to foster a smooth shift leading to her inauguration on New Year’s Day.</p> Thu, 14 Nov 2013 17:45:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 77696 at http://wamc.org Albany Mayor-Elect Names Transition Team Women In Office: Ranks Grow In NYS http://wamc.org/post/women-office-ranks-grow-nys <p></p><p>In upstate New York and beyond, women have been taking more active roles in politics: running in races for elective office and winning them.&nbsp; Currently, 98 women serve in the U.S. Congress; 78 in the House; 20 in the Senate, including one from New York, one from Massachusetts and two from New Hampshire. Numbers provided by the Center for American Women in Politics further show that the number of women in statewide executive posts is 75. And the proportion of women in state legislatures is about a quarter.</p> Tue, 12 Nov 2013 17:32:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 77595 at http://wamc.org Women In Office: Ranks Grow In NYS Albany Voters Choose Kathy Sheehan http://wamc.org/post/albany-voters-choose-kathy-sheehan <p></p><p></p><p>There’s a new leader for New York's capital city. Kathy Sheehan ushers in a new era as Albany's first woman executive.</p><p>Shortly after 10 p.m., 20-year incumbent and outgoing Mayor Jerry Jennings took the podium at the Polish Community Center to thank fellow Democrats. Not considered a close ally of the new mayor-elect, Jennings sent out a call for unity.</p> Wed, 06 Nov 2013 17:35:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 77178 at http://wamc.org Albany Voters Choose Kathy Sheehan "We Did It" : Kathy Sheehan Elected Mayor of Albany http://wamc.org/post/we-did-it-kathy-sheehan-elected-mayor-albany <p></p><p></p><p>A resounding victory for City Treasurer Kathy Sheehan who takes the baton from the man who ran Albany for the last two decades, Jerry Jennings. Jennings made a brief appearance at the Polish Community Cneter, where Democrats had gathered to wait for election returns. He joked about the fact we was dressed casually, "no suit and tie."</p><p></p> Wed, 06 Nov 2013 05:00:42 +0000 Dave Lucas 77133 at http://wamc.org "We Did It" : Kathy Sheehan Elected Mayor of Albany Election Day Is Here http://wamc.org/post/election-day-here <p><span style="font-family: monospace; font-size: 16px; line-height: normal; ">Election Day has arrived ... the polls are open ... &nbsp;m</span><span style="font-family: monospace; font-size: 16px; line-height: normal; ">ost of the races today entail state and city offices and issues... Americans are being urged to get out and make every vote count.&nbsp; The Mayoral race in Albany will be closely-watched . City Treasurer Democrat Kathy Sheehan is expected to take the election. Tue, 05 Nov 2013 12:42:59 +0000 Dave Lucas 77058 at http://wamc.org Election Day Is Here Countdown to Nov. 5 : The Albany Six http://wamc.org/post/countdown-nov-5-albany-six <p></p> Wed, 23 Oct 2013 18:43:27 +0000 Dave Lucas 76171 at http://wamc.org Countdown to Nov. 5 : The Albany Six Reactions To 2014 Albany City Budget Proposal http://wamc.org/post/reactions-2014-albany-city-budget-proposal <p></p><p>Mayor Jerry Jennings&#39; 2014 budget proposal for Albany has elicited reactions from other political figures in the city.</p><p>Jennings, nearing the end of his 20-year term, last week unveiled a 171-million dollar spending plan, reflecting a 2-point-4 million dollar reduction in operating expenses from last year&#39;s adoptive budget.</p> Fri, 11 Oct 2013 16:32:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 75414 at http://wamc.org Reactions To 2014 Albany City Budget Proposal Sheehan Victory: Albany Democrats Ready For Change http://wamc.org/post/sheehan-victory-albany-democrats-ready-change <p>Albany Democrats have spoken. The primary is over, and City Treasurer Kathy Sheehan is well on her way to taking office as the capital city's first female chief executive...&nbsp;</p><p>Albany Democrats have a new sense of momentum - going in a positive direction, if former city councilman and mayoral candidate Corey Ellis' concession speech is any indication. Pre-election polls had already given Kathy Sheehan a large advantage going into Tuesday's primary. Her victory address at the packed Albany Pump Station reflected the anticipation&nbsp;that something new is beginning.</p> Wed, 11 Sep 2013 16:48:16 +0000 Dave Lucas 73368 at http://wamc.org Sheehan Victory: Albany Democrats Ready For Change Sheehan Takes Albany Mayoral Primary http://wamc.org/post/sheehan-takes-albany-mayoral-primary <p></p> Wed, 11 Sep 2013 04:06:50 +0000 Dave Lucas 73319 at http://wamc.org Sheehan Takes Albany Mayoral Primary NY: Primary Day At Last! http://wamc.org/post/ny-primary-day-last <p></p><p>It's off to the polls for Albany Democrats today.</p><p></p><p>The Capital City's first new mayor in 20 years is expected to be all but decided today. With party enrollment heavy on the Democratic side, observers say whoever takes the primary is the presumptive winner in November. Recent polls show City Treasurer Kathy Sheehan running ahead of former Councilman Corey Ellis on the path to succeed two-decade incumbent Democrat Jerry Jennings.</p> Tue, 10 Sep 2013 16:47:21 +0000 Dave Lucas 73271 at http://wamc.org NY: Primary Day At Last!