earth day http://wamc.org en Owls Attend Earth Day In New York http://wamc.org/post/owls-attend-earth-day-new-york <p>Earth Day was celebrated at the New York State Capitol with&nbsp;a tribute to the late Pete Seeger, and a display of live owls. Mon, 05 May 2014 22:06:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 89726 at http://wamc.org Owls Attend Earth Day In New York Blair Horner: Environmentalists Advance NY’s Earth Day Agenda http://wamc.org/post/blair-horner-environmentalists-advance-ny-s-earth-day-agenda <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span>As Albany begins its post-budget agenda, it is remarkable how little the governor and state lawmakers discuss environmental issues.&nbsp; There are the occasional news releases – lip service really – about green initiatives, but little about policies that seek to reduce the pollution.</p><p> Mon, 05 May 2014 19:50:00 +0000 Blair Horner 89727 at http://wamc.org Trees Planted In City Neighborhood During Earth Day Event http://wamc.org/post/trees-planted-city-neighborhood-during-earth-day-event <p> Volunteers planted trees at an Earth Day observance in Springfield, Massachusetts today.&nbsp; The city is slowly recovering from the loss of thousands of trees during the June tornado and October snowstorm in 2011. &nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 22 Apr 2014 22:26:00 +0000 Paul Tuthill 88765 at http://wamc.org Trees Planted In City Neighborhood During Earth Day Event Jesse Feiler - Earth Day Apps http://wamc.org/post/jesse-feiler-earth-day-apps <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>This morning we discuss what Earth Day apps and where technology and Earth day intersect and can interact with our Tech Guru, <a href="http://www.northcountryconsulting.com/">Jesse Feiler</a>.</p><p> Tue, 22 Apr 2014 14:45:00 +0000 Joe Donahue 88723 at http://wamc.org Jesse Feiler - Earth Day Apps Mayor Sheehan Kicks Off "Albany Earth Week" http://wamc.org/post/mayor-sheehan-kicks-albany-earth-week <p>This morning at City Hall, Mayor Kathy Sheehan proclaimed the beginning of “Earth Week” in Albany. The mayor was joined by Congressman Paul Tonko and other government and business officials to discuss ongoing community-centric initiatives and upcoming events.</p> Mon, 21 Apr 2014 16:21:22 +0000 Dave Lucas 88648 at http://wamc.org Mayor Sheehan Kicks Off "Albany Earth Week" UMass Amherst Sets Goals To "Green" The Campus http://wamc.org/post/umass-amherst-sets-goals-green-campus <p>The University of Massachusetts Amherst Chancellor Kumble Subbaswamy has endorsed ambitious goals for “greening” the flagship campus. An environmental advisory committee has released an updated Climate Action Plan.&nbsp; It calls for the campus to reach what is known as carbon neutrality by 2050.&nbsp;&nbsp; WAMC’s Pioneer Valley Bureau Chief&nbsp; Paul Tuthill spoke with Ezra Small, the campus sustainability coordinator.</p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 22 Apr 2013 16:58:00 +0000 Paul Tuthill 62801 at http://wamc.org UMass Amherst Sets Goals To "Green" The Campus The Man Who Planted Trees http://wamc.org/post/man-who-planted-trees We welcome Jim Robinson and speak with him about his book, <em>The Man Who Planted Trees: Lost Groves, Champion Trees, and an Urgent Plan to Save the Planet</em>. Mon, 23 Apr 2012 17:02:19 +0000 Joe Donahue 37399 at http://wamc.org