campaign finance http://wamc.org en Congressional Corner With Richard Neal http://wamc.org/post/congressional-corner-richard-neal-9 <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>The Supreme Court’s McCutcheon decision echoed 2010’s Citizens United case.</p><p>In today’s Congressional Corner, Massachusetts Representative Richard Neal tells WAMC’s Alan Chartock that campaign finance reform is now highly unlikely at the presidential level.</p><p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 14:50:00 +0000 Alan Chartock 88479 at http://wamc.org Congressional Corner With Richard Neal Advocate: Cuomo Missed Chance To Counteract Supreme Court Ruling http://wamc.org/post/advocate-cuomo-missed-chance-counteract-supreme-court-ruling <p>The U.S. Supreme Court Decision <em>McCutcheon v FEC</em>, striking down some campaign donation limits, is expected to have an effect in New York. Reform advocates say Governor Andrew Cuomo and lawmakers missed a key chance this week to counteract the ruling.</p><p> Thu, 03 Apr 2014 18:21:42 +0000 Karen DeWitt 87369 at http://wamc.org Advocate: Cuomo Missed Chance To Counteract Supreme Court Ruling Protests Erupt Over Supreme Court Campaign Finance Ruling http://wamc.org/post/protests-erupt-over-supreme-court-campaign-finance-ruling <p></p><p></p><p>On Wednesday, the U.S. Supreme Court struck a limit on the total amount individuals can donate to political campaigns. In a hastily organized protest, about a half-dozen people held placards at one of Plattsburgh’s busiest intersections. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 16:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 87362 at http://wamc.org Protests Erupt Over Supreme Court Campaign Finance Ruling 4/3/14 Panel http://wamc.org/post/4314-panel <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>Today's panelists are WAMC’s Alan Chartock, University at Albany professor and Investigative Journalist Rosemary Armao and Daily Freeman Publisher Emeritus, Ira Fusfeld.</p><p>Topics include:<br />Fort Hood<br />SCOTUS Political Donation Cap<br />Campaign spending polls<br />ACA Numbers<br />Texas Abortion lawsuit</p><p> Thu, 03 Apr 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Joe Donahue 87340 at http://wamc.org 4/3/14 Panel New Campaign Finance Reports Reveal Incumbents Currently Unchallenged http://wamc.org/post/new-campaign-finance-reports-reveal-incumbents-currently-unchallenged <p></p><p></p><p>Campaign finance reports were required to be filed this week at the Vermont Secretary of State’s office. The March filing shows that there are no Republican challengers to any of the Democratically-held statewide elected officers. Wed, 19 Mar 2014 22:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 86232 at http://wamc.org New Campaign Finance Reports Reveal Incumbents Currently Unchallenged Campaign Finance Revisions Fail http://wamc.org/post/campaign-finance-revisions-fail <p></p><p></p><p>An attempt to delay implementation of Vermont’s new campaign finance law has been forestalled by the Vermont House. Fri, 14 Feb 2014 23:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 83930 at http://wamc.org Campaign Finance Revisions Fail VT Senate Approves Campaign Finance Bill http://wamc.org/post/vt-senate-approves-campaign-finance-bill <p></p><p></p><p>A new campaign finance bill is on the way to Governor Peter Shumlin’s desk. Fri, 17 Jan 2014 03:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 82004 at http://wamc.org VT Senate Approves Campaign Finance Bill Cuomo: Reform A Priority, But Not Top Priority http://wamc.org/post/cuomo-reform-priority-not-top-priority <p>The new legislative session is just a few weeks away. New York Governor Andrew Cuomo says he’ll still make anti-corruption measures a high priority as he did in 2013. &nbsp;But he says he’ll likely deal with economic issues, like proposed tax cuts, first.&nbsp; Tue, 17 Dec 2013 23:06:00 +0000 Karen DeWitt 80066 at http://wamc.org Cuomo: Reform A Priority, But Not Top Priority Future Of Public Campaign Finance Uncertain http://wamc.org/post/future-public-campaign-finance-uncertain <p></p><p>One of the most controversial recommendations in New York Governor Andrew Cuomo’s anti-corruption commission report released this week is to enact public financing of campaigns for statewide elections. Wed, 04 Dec 2013 23:07:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 79147 at http://wamc.org Future Of Public Campaign Finance Uncertain Galbraith Angers Vermont Senate Colleagues http://wamc.org/post/galbraith-angers-vermont-senate-colleagues <p></p><p></p><p>The Vermont Senate has defeated an effort by Senator Peter Galbraith to amend a campaign finance bill. Sat, 11 May 2013 13:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 64394 at http://wamc.org Galbraith Angers Vermont Senate Colleagues