campaign finance http://wamc.org en Vermont Candidates File Campaign Finance Reports http://wamc.org/post/vermont-candidates-file-campaign-finance-reports <div></div><div>Candidates, political action committees and parties in Vermont were required to file updated campaign finance reports Tuesday. Incumbent Governor Peter Shumlin’s account is far ahead of his key challenger, while the lieutenant governor’s race is competitive.</div><p> Wed, 16 Jul 2014 22:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 95030 at http://wamc.org Vermont Candidates File Campaign Finance Reports Candidates File Campaign Finance Reports http://wamc.org/post/candidates-file-campaign-finance-reports <p></p><p>Republican candidate for governor, Scott Milne of Pomfret has logged contributions of more than $20,000 for his campaign this reporting period. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 00:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 94934 at http://wamc.org Candidates File Campaign Finance Reports HV Congresswoman Backs Amendment On Money In Politics http://wamc.org/post/hv-congresswoman-backs-amendment-money-politics <p></p><p></p><p>A Hudson Valley congresswoman has added her name to co-sponsors of a constitutional amendment to limit money in politics.</p> Tue, 03 Jun 2014 10:40:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 91818 at http://wamc.org HV Congresswoman Backs Amendment On Money In Politics NY Board Says Election Donor Limit Unenforceable http://wamc.org/post/ny-board-says-election-donor-limit-unenforceable <p><font size="2"><span style="font-size:10pt;">Following recent federal court decisions, New York's Board of Elections says the $150,000 limit on state campaign donations by an individual will no longer be enforced . That means an individual, or limited liability corporation, with deep pockets can contribute to as many statewide and state legislative candidates, political parties and advocacy groups as they wish, subject only to the recipients' restrictions.</span></font></p><p></p> Tue, 27 May 2014 20:32:13 +0000 Dave Lucas 91375 at http://wamc.org NY Board Says Election Donor Limit Unenforceable Vermont AG Issues Opinion On New Campaign Finance Law http://wamc.org/post/vermont-ag-issues-opinion-new-campaign-finance-law <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont’s Attorney General has issued an opinion following confusion over the implementation start of new campaign finance law. Wed, 14 May 2014 22:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 90447 at http://wamc.org Vermont AG Issues Opinion On New Campaign Finance Law Vermont Says Campaign Limits Remain For '14 Cycle http://wamc.org/post/vermont-says-campaign-limits-remain-14-cycle <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont Attorney General William Sorrell says the state's campaign finance contribution limits will remain the same through the end of the year. Tue, 13 May 2014 23:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 90366 at http://wamc.org Vermont Says Campaign Limits Remain For '14 Cycle Senate Democrats: More Reasons Than Ever To Adopt Reform Bills http://wamc.org/post/senate-democrats-more-reasons-ever-adopt-reform-bills <p>New York Democrats pressing for bills to reform the state’s campaign finance system, say the US Attorney’s investigations into a panel controlled by Governor Andrew Cuomo might help spur action on their measures. Tue, 06 May 2014 22:06:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 89833 at http://wamc.org Senate Democrats: More Reasons Than Ever To Adopt Reform Bills Congressional Corner With Richard Neal http://wamc.org/post/congressional-corner-richard-neal-9 <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>The Supreme Court’s McCutcheon decision echoed 2010’s Citizens United case.</p><p>In today’s Congressional Corner, Massachusetts Representative Richard Neal tells WAMC’s Alan Chartock that campaign finance reform is now highly unlikely at the presidential level.</p><p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 14:50:00 +0000 Alan Chartock 88479 at http://wamc.org Congressional Corner With Richard Neal Advocate: Cuomo Missed Chance To Counteract Supreme Court Ruling http://wamc.org/post/advocate-cuomo-missed-chance-counteract-supreme-court-ruling <p>The U.S. Supreme Court Decision <em>McCutcheon v FEC</em>, striking down some campaign donation limits, is expected to have an effect in New York. Reform advocates say Governor Andrew Cuomo and lawmakers missed a key chance this week to counteract the ruling.</p><p> Thu, 03 Apr 2014 18:21:42 +0000 Karen DeWitt 87369 at http://wamc.org Advocate: Cuomo Missed Chance To Counteract Supreme Court Ruling Protests Erupt Over Supreme Court Campaign Finance Ruling http://wamc.org/post/protests-erupt-over-supreme-court-campaign-finance-ruling <p></p><p></p><p>On Wednesday, the U.S. Supreme Court struck a limit on the total amount individuals can donate to political campaigns. In a hastily organized protest, about a half-dozen people held placards at one of Plattsburgh’s busiest intersections. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 16:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 87362 at http://wamc.org Protests Erupt Over Supreme Court Campaign Finance Ruling