Entergy http://wamc.org en Entergy Submits Petition For Expanded Spent Fuel Storage http://wamc.org/post/entergy-submits-petition-expanded-spent-fuel-storage <p></p><p></p><p>The owner of Vermont Yankee has taken a step to fulfill one of the items in an agreement with the state leading to the shut down of the nuclear power plant. Mon, 30 Jun 2014 23:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 93803 at http://wamc.org Entergy Submits Petition For Expanded Spent Fuel Storage Resolution On Indian Point Can Appear Next Year http://wamc.org/post/resolution-indian-point-can-appear-next-year <p></p><p>A resolution concerning the Indian Point nuclear power plant put forth by a Hudson Valley resident will return to Entergy’s annual shareholder meeting next year.</p><p>March Gallagher of Ulster County needed at least 3 percent of the total votes on the measure to enable her resolution to return to Indian Point parent Entergy’s agenda next year. Gallagher says she had purchased Entergy shares to be able to introduce her resolution to decommission Westchester County-based Indian Point.</p> Thu, 22 May 2014 01:25:07 +0000 Allison Dunne 91014 at http://wamc.org Resolution On Indian Point Can Appear Next Year Meeting Scheduled To Discuss Energy Payment http://wamc.org/post/meeting-scheduled-discuss-energy-payment <p></p><p></p><p>The Vermont Clean Energy Development Board has scheduled a public meeting on a $5.3 million payment to the state by the owner of the Vermont Yankee nuclear plant for clean energy development. Sat, 10 May 2014 01:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 90057 at http://wamc.org Meeting Scheduled To Discuss Energy Payment Vermont Developing Rules For Post-Nuke Grants http://wamc.org/post/vermont-developing-rules-post-nuke-grants <p></p><p></p><p>The Vermont Agency of Commerce and Community Development is creating guidelines to distribute grant money that will help Windham County after the Vermont Yankee nuclear power plant shuts down. Tue, 06 May 2014 02:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 89735 at http://wamc.org Vermont Developing Rules For Post-Nuke Grants Two NY Resolutions Are On Entergy's Meeting Agenda http://wamc.org/post/two-ny-resolutions-are-entergys-meeting-agenda <p></p><p>Two resolutions concerning the Indian Point nuclear power plant are on the agenda of Entergy’s annual shareholder meeting Friday. One is from the New York State comptroller, the other from an Ulster County resident.</p> Thu, 01 May 2014 17:47:30 +0000 Allison Dunne 89479 at http://wamc.org Two NY Resolutions Are On Entergy's Meeting Agenda Vermont And Entergy Reach Agreement On Future Of Vermont Yankee Operations http://wamc.org/post/vermont-and-entergy-reach-agreement-future-vermont-yankee-operations <p></p><p></p><p>After years of contentious debate and legal battles, the state of Vermont and Entergy, the company that owns the Vermont Yankee Nuclear Power Plant announced on Monday afternoon that a settlement has been reached that will end all ongoing litigation and delineate a compressed decommissioning schedule. Tue, 24 Dec 2013 17:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 80557 at http://wamc.org Vermont And Entergy Reach Agreement On Future Of Vermont Yankee Operations District Court Returns Appeal On Nuclear Plant Tax To State Court http://wamc.org/post/district-court-returns-appeal-nuclear-plant-tax-state-court <p></p><p></p><p>The 2nd U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals in Manhattan ruled Tuesday that a generating tax imposed by the state on Vermont's only nuclear plant is legal and sent the appeal back to the state court. Wed, 11 Dec 2013 22:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 79651 at http://wamc.org District Court Returns Appeal On Nuclear Plant Tax To State Court Senator Schumer Calls For Review Of Indian Point Riverfront Security http://wamc.org/post/senator-schumer-calls-review-indian-point-riverfront-security <p>New York U.S. Senator Charles Schumer Monday stood alongside the Hudson River waterfront in Peekskill, calling for the Department of Homeland Security to review riverfront security at the Indian Point nuclear power plant.</p><p>New York’s senior senator urged the U.S. Coast Guard, which is under the jurisdiction of the Homeland Security Department, to quarterback the effort to provide a maritime security plan for Westchester County-based Indian Point.</p><p>He says federal, state, and local resources in the form of boat patrols are available.</p> Tue, 26 Nov 2013 01:23:40 +0000 Allison Dunne 78572 at http://wamc.org Senator Schumer Calls For Review Of Indian Point Riverfront Security VT Panel Urges Prompt Nuke Decommissioning http://wamc.org/post/vt-panel-urges-prompt-nuke-decommissioning <p></p><p></p><p>A panel that advises Vermont state policy makers on activities at the Vermont Yankee nuclear power plant wants the plant to be dismantled promptly after it stops operating next year. Thu, 24 Oct 2013 03:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 76190 at http://wamc.org VT Panel Urges Prompt Nuke Decommissioning Alec Baldwin Hosts Panel On Indian Point http://wamc.org/post/alec-baldwin-hosts-panel-indian-point <p>Actor Alec Baldwin hosted a panel Friday evening in Rockland County on the Indian Point nuclear power plant. A state assemblywoman and the president of an environmental group were among those on the panel, calling for the shutdown of Indian Point.</p><p>The panel discussion, &ldquo;Driving Without a License: Indian Point at the Crossroads,&rdquo; was presented by the nonprofit Radiation and Public Health Project, with which Alec Baldwin has been connected for some time. However, Baldwin says this marks his first activist role specifically pertaining to Westchester-based Indian Point.</p> Mon, 07 Oct 2013 18:35:13 +0000 Allison Dunne 75083 at http://wamc.org Alec Baldwin Hosts Panel On Indian Point