David Fried http://wamc.org en GOP Wins Three County Executive Races In The Hudson Valley http://wamc.org/post/gop-wins-three-county-executive-races-hudson-valley <p>Three counties in the Hudson Valley will stay in Republican hands.</p> Wed, 06 Nov 2013 08:31:37 +0000 Allison Dunne 77136 at http://wamc.org GOP Wins Three County Executive Races In The Hudson Valley Court Ruling Keeps Primary Candidate Off The Ballot http://wamc.org/post/court-ruling-keeps-primary-candidate-ballot <p>The state Court of Appeals&nbsp;Thursday affirmed an Appellate Court decision, keeping a candidate in the Democratic primary for Rockland County executive off the ballot.</p><p>The Court of Appeals, in a 7-0 decision, upheld the Appellate Court ruling, keeping Village of Suffern Mayor Dagan LaCorte off the ballot. Jerry Goldfeder, a prominent election lawyer representing LaCorte, says the ruling favors form over substance.</p> Thu, 22 Aug 2013 23:32:14 +0000 Allison Dunne 72060 at http://wamc.org Court Ruling Keeps Primary Candidate Off The Ballot Ruling Takes Primary Candidate Off The Ballot, Again http://wamc.org/post/ruling-takes-primary-candidate-ballot-again <p>A third candidate in a Democratic primary for Rockland County executive has been removed from the ballot a second time.</p> Thu, 15 Aug 2013 13:05:02 +0000 Allison Dunne 71492 at http://wamc.org Ruling Takes Primary Candidate Off The Ballot, Again Judge Rules Rockland Candidate May Return To The Ballot; An Appeal Is Filed http://wamc.org/post/judge-rules-rockland-candidate-may-return-ballot-appeal-filed <p>A third candidate in a Democratic primary for Rockland County executive is back on the ballot after a state Supreme Court decision.</p> Wed, 07 Aug 2013 23:40:06 +0000 Allison Dunne 70972 at http://wamc.org Judge Rules Rockland Candidate May Return To The Ballot; An Appeal Is Filed Primary Candidate's Petition Matter Goes To Court http://wamc.org/post/primary-candidates-petition-matter-goes-court <p>A Democratic primary candidate for Rockland County executive knocked off the ballot last week is fighting back, and the matter will be decided in court.</p><p>Rockland County Democratic Board of Elections Commissioner Kristen Stavisky says Village of Suffern Mayor Dagan LaCorte was removed last week from the ballot in the race for Rockland County executive.</p><p>She says the 1,926 signatures fell short of the 2,000 required, thus invalidating the petition. She says signatures were ruled invalid for the following reasons.</p> Mon, 29 Jul 2013 23:57:42 +0000 Allison Dunne 70282 at http://wamc.org Primary Candidate's Petition Matter Goes To Court NYS Senator Endorses Candidate In Rockland County Exec Race http://wamc.org/post/nys-senator-endorses-candidate-rockland-county-exec-race <p></p><p>A New York state senator today endorsed one of the Democratic candidates for Rockland County executive. It’s a primary race recently pared down from an even more crowded field, and now there are petition objections for one of the candidates.&nbsp;</p><p>State Senator David Carlucci, an Independent Democrat from Rockland County, endorsed Village of Suffern Mayor Dagan LaCorte. Here’s Carlucci:</p> Tue, 23 Jul 2013 02:45:57 +0000 Allison Dunne 69774 at http://wamc.org NYS Senator Endorses Candidate In Rockland County Exec Race