Irene and Lee http://wamc.org en Schumer To FEMA: OK $6.7M For Troy Seawall http://wamc.org/post/schumer-fema-ok-67m-troy-seawall <p>U.S. Senator Charles Schumer was at Troy's Hudson River waterfront this morning to call for $6.7 million in federal spending to reinforce the Collar City's seawall.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p>Schumer is urging the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to swiftly approve $6.7 million in federal funds for much-needed repairs and improvements to the Troy seawall, which was severely damaged by flooding from Tropical Storm Irene three years ago.&nbsp; “We’re gonna fight hard for it.”</p> Tue, 15 Apr 2014 19:20:15 +0000 Dave Lucas 88251 at http://wamc.org Schumer To FEMA: OK $6.7M For Troy Seawall NY Rising Housing Recovery Program Deadline Near http://wamc.org/post/ny-rising-housing-recovery-program-deadline-near <p>Homeowners from Greene county down through the Catskills and Hudson Valley hit by flooding have two weeks left to apply for financial assistance from the state.</p><p>To date, the NY Rising Housing Recovery Program has paid more than $280 million to 6,388 homeowners for damages that resulted from Superstorm Sandy, Hurricane Irene, or Tropical Storm Lee. The program funds repair, mortgage assistance, flood mitigation and buyouts of damaged homes.</p><p>Officials say every eligible homeowner who applied by January 20th has been issued a check for home reconstruction.</p> Fri, 28 Mar 2014 14:01:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 86908 at http://wamc.org NY Rising Housing Recovery Program Deadline Near New Yorkers: Riders on the Storms http://wamc.org/post/new-yorkers-riders-storms <p></p><p></p><p>New York has made significant progress in storm recovery efforts - Democratic Ulster County Executive Mike Hein says they're ready if and when there's a "next storm" on the horizon. Republican New York State Assemblyman Pete Lopez says many of his constituents are still reeling from the one-two punch of Irene and Lee - along with others in his district impacted by Sandy.</p> Mon, 11 Nov 2013 23:36:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 77534 at http://wamc.org New Yorkers: Riders on the Storms Kaaterskill Still Recovering From Irene & Lee http://wamc.org/post/kaaterskill-still-recovering-irene-lee <p></p><p></p><p>Climate change has claimed the Kaaterskill Creek as one of its victims. The deep impact from Hurricane Irene and Tropical Storm Lee continue to affect the creek and nearby residents.</p> Tue, 05 Nov 2013 17:45:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 77090 at http://wamc.org Kaaterskill Still Recovering From Irene & Lee NY After The Storms: Planning For The Next One http://wamc.org/post/ny-after-storms-planning-next-one <p></p><p>One year ago, New Yorkers were bracing for Superstorm Sandy - today, state government officials are gathered in Albany to compare notes on the response and brainstorm about plans to respond to future crises and calamities.</p><p>Many struggle to recover one year after Superstorm Sandy.&nbsp; Republican New York State Assemblyman Pete Lopez says many of his constituents are still reeling from the one-two punch of Irene and Lee - along with others in his district impacted by Sandy.</p> Mon, 28 Oct 2013 16:17:07 +0000 Dave Lucas 76480 at http://wamc.org NY After The Storms: Planning For The Next One Long, Winding Road To NY Flood Recovery http://wamc.org/post/long-winding-road-ny-flood-recovery <p>Two years after Hurricane Irene and Tropical Storm Lee and almost one year after Superstorm Sandy altered New York’s land and seascapes, relief aid --- from both private donors and government agencies --- has been painfully slow in coming, as communities struggle to return to normal.</p> Fri, 30 Aug 2013 16:18:16 +0000 Dave Lucas 72579 at http://wamc.org Long, Winding Road To NY Flood Recovery Cash Relief For Flood-Weary New Yorkers http://wamc.org/post/cash-relief-flood-weary-new-yorkers <p>New York State has braved several recent storms, including Sandy, Irene and Lee. Central New Yorkers have had to contend with flooding along the Mohawk River, most recently at the end of June. Now, federal and state officials have opened the floodgates of funding, which will allow money to flow into the coffers of stricken communities.</p> Fri, 26 Jul 2013 19:46:58 +0000 Dave Lucas 70106 at http://wamc.org Cash Relief For Flood-Weary New Yorkers Cuomo: Build Back NY Better than Before http://wamc.org/post/cuomo-build-back-ny-better <p>Launched in Albany Thursday, the New York Rising Community Construction program’s&nbsp;goal is to empower localities to develop and implement recovery plans after the damage done by storms Sandy, Lee and Irene, and more recently, by the severe flooding in the Mohawk Valley caused by heavy rains in late June.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 18 Jul 2013 20:42:50 +0000 Dave Lucas 69533 at http://wamc.org Cuomo: Build Back NY Better than Before DEP & Public Officials Tour Gilboa Dam Reconstruction http://wamc.org/post/dep-public-officials-tour-gilboa-dam-reconstruction <p>New York City Department of Environmental Protection officials opened the Gilboa Dam site to government leaders, the media and the public Tuesday to get a firsthand look at reconstruction.</p> Tue, 02 Apr 2013 20:11:51 +0000 Dave Lucas 61282 at http://wamc.org DEP & Public Officials Tour Gilboa Dam Reconstruction FEMA Making Recovery Progress in Greene and Schoharie Counties http://wamc.org/post/fema-making-recovery-progress-greene-and-schoharie-counties <div><p>Officials in the Greene County town of Ashland continue talks with FEMA over reimbursement for repairs to their water supply system; Hudson Valley Bureau Chief Dave Lucas has more along with an udate from FEMA regarding flood damage recovery throughout the Catskills.</p> Fri, 27 Apr 2012 20:36:49 +0000 Dave Lucas 37815 at http://wamc.org