New York Common Core http://wamc.org en Dr. Alan Chartock's Morning Commentary http://wamc.org/post/dr-alan-chartocks-morning-commentary-129 <p>WAMC's Dr. Alan Chartock discusses the upcoming snowstorm, the New York Board of Regents, and common core. Tue, 11 Mar 2014 11:46:31 +0000 Alan Chartock 85556 at http://wamc.org Dr. Alan Chartock's Morning Commentary Senate GOP To End Boycott Of Regents Elections, Many Will Vote No http://wamc.org/post/senate-gop-end-boycott-regents-elections-many-will-vote-no <p>Senate Republicans say they will break a long standing tradition of boycotting the election of new Regents. They now say they will attend a joint legislative session, and that many will vote no over dissatisfaction with the Common Core.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Senate Education Chair John Flanagan says Republican Senators will be attending a joint session of the legislature to appoint board of Regents members to new terms. But he says many GOP members will be voting no.</span></p> Mon, 10 Mar 2014 21:56:36 +0000 Karen Dewitt 85526 at http://wamc.org NYS Board Of Regents Reverses Course On Common Core Vote http://wamc.org/post/nys-board-regents-reverses-course-common-core-vote <p>The state Board of Regents at the last minute reversed course and decided not to hold a final vote on some changes to weaken implementation of the Common Core standards in New York.&nbsp; Tue, 11 Feb 2014 19:28:48 +0000 Karen DeWitt 83646 at http://wamc.org NYS Board Of Regents Reverses Course On Common Core Vote Senators Hear More Complaints About Common Core http://wamc.org/post/senators-hear-more-complaints-about-common-core <p></p><p>New York State’s Teacher of the Year testified at a Senate hearing that even she could not receive high marks in her teacher evaluation process, due to what she and others say is the dysfunctional implementation of &nbsp;the new Common Core standards. Thu, 14 Nov 2013 17:07:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 77778 at http://wamc.org Senators Hear More Complaints About Common Core AP-NORC Poll: Parents Support Standardized Testing http://wamc.org/post/ap-norc-poll-parents-support-standardized-testing <p></p><p>A new poll finds Standardized Tests have support among parents as a useful way to track student progress and school quality.</p> Mon, 19 Aug 2013 20:44:12 +0000 Dave Lucas 71746 at http://wamc.org AP-NORC Poll: Parents Support Standardized Testing New York Fails Common Core http://wamc.org/post/new-york-fails-common-core <p></p><p>New York is the second state to test students under the new Common Core standards, which require more writing, critical thinking and problem-solving. In the first results, students scores plummeted.</p><p>Back in April, when the New York State United Teachers thought Common Core testing was a risky experiment, the union launched an unsuccessful attempt to stop the exams from being given. NYSUT President Dick Iannuzzi said then that challenges were in store for both teachers and students and that schools weren't prepared to teach to the new standards.</p> Thu, 08 Aug 2013 16:54:15 +0000 Dave Lucas 71013 at http://wamc.org New York Fails Common Core