joe donahue http://wamc.org en Charles Duhigg - Power of Habit http://wamc.org/post/charles-duhigg-power-habit <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>In&nbsp;his book, <em>The Power of Habit,&nbsp;</em>award-winning&nbsp;<em>New York Times</em>&nbsp;business reporter <a href="http://charlesduhigg.com/">Charles Duhigg</a> takes us to the edge of scientific discoveries that explain why habits exist and how they can be changed.</p><p> Tue, 20 Aug 2013 15:12:00 +0000 Joe Donahue 43621 at http://wamc.org Charles Duhigg - Power of Habit The Roundtable To Broadcast Live At The Hyde Collection http://wamc.org/post/roundtable-broadcast-live-hyde-collection <p>WAMC is proud to present a very special edition of The Roundtable, broadcast live from The Hyde Collection on Monday, June 24th from 9 a.m. to noon.</p><p> Fri, 21 Jun 2013 20:13:21 +0000 67613 at http://wamc.org Jane Fonda - G-CAPP http://wamc.org/post/jane-fonda-g-capp <p></p><p>New Yorkers&nbsp;from the arts, hospitality and fashion communities are planning an event featuring <a href="http://janefonda.com/">Jane Fonda</a>, as a benefit for <a href="http://gcapp.org/">G-CAPP</a> (the Georgia Campaign for Adolescent Pregnancy Prevention.) The benefit to be held October 11<sup>th</sup> in NYC is on the occasion of the 40th anniversary of the critically acclaimed film <a href="http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0067309/"><em>Klute</em></a>. Fonda received the Oscar for her performance.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 29 Sep 2012 01:23:57 +0000 Joe Donahue 48976 at http://wamc.org Jane Fonda - G-CAPP Eric Stevens - How to Train Your Dragon http://wamc.org/post/eric-stevens-how-train-your-dragon <p>The <a href="http://dreamworksdragonslive.com/vikings-dragons.html">live tour</a> of the <a href="http://www.dreamworksdragons.com/">hit movie</a>, <em>How To Train Your Dragon</em>, will deliver&nbsp;23 dragons, some with wingspans of up to 46 feet, Viking warriors and world-class circus artists and acrobats, when it perform at the Albany Times Union Center October 4th – 7th. &nbsp;Joe Donahue spoke with <a href="http://www.dreamworksanimation.com/">DreamWorks&nbsp;Animation Studio</a>'s head of Live Entertainment, Eric Stevens about the show.</p> Fri, 28 Sep 2012 14:20:42 +0000 Joe Donahue 48917 at http://wamc.org Eric Stevens - How to Train Your Dragon Jeff Greenfield - 43*: When Gore Beat Bush—A Political Fable http://wamc.org/post/jeff-greenfield-43-when-gore-beat-bush-political-fable <p></p><p>Considered one of America’s most respected political analysts, Jeff Greenfield has spent more than thirty years in network television, including as a commentator on CNN, ABC News, and CBS and currently as an anchor on PBS’s <em>Need to Know.</em></p><p>A five-time Emmy Award winner, he is a political columnist for Yahoo! News and the author of more than a dozen books, including the bestseller <em>Then Everything Changed: Stunning Alternate Histories of American Politics: JFK, RFK, Carter, Ford, Reagan.</em></p> Fri, 28 Sep 2012 14:16:41 +0000 Joe Donahue 48907 at http://wamc.org Jeff Greenfield - 43*: When Gore Beat Bush—A Political Fable Lee Woodruff - Those We Love Most http://wamc.org/post/lee-woodruff-those-we-love-most <p></p><p>In her fiction debut, writer, speaker, and best-selling author <a href="http://www.leewoodruff.com/home/">Lee Woodruff </a>offers an intimate and moving novel that explores the ways in which four lives are broken and made whole again after a shattering tragedy. Lee Woodruff &nbsp;tells us about, <em>Those We Love Most.</em></p> Fri, 28 Sep 2012 13:52:02 +0000 Joe Donahue 48916 at http://wamc.org Lee Woodruff - Those We Love Most Junot Diaz - This is How You Lose Her http://wamc.org/post/junot-diaz-how-you-lose-her <p></p><p>Pulitzer prize winning novelist <a href="http://www.junotdiaz.com/">Junot Diaz</a> will be doing a pair of events over the next week in our region. The author of the modern-day classic, <em>The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao</em>, tells us about his latest, <em>This is How You Lose Her.</em></p> Fri, 28 Sep 2012 13:48:14 +0000 Joe Donahue 48915 at http://wamc.org Junot Diaz - This is How You Lose Her Evan Thomas - Ike's Bluff http://wamc.org/post/evan-thomas-ikes-bluff <p></p><p>Upon assuming the presidency in 1953, Dwight Eisenhower came to be seen by many as a doddering lightweight. Yet behind the bland smile and apparent simplemindedness was a brilliant, intellectual tactician.</p> Thu, 27 Sep 2012 15:40:17 +0000 Joe Donahue 48912 at http://wamc.org Evan Thomas - Ike's Bluff David Cay Johnston - The Fine Print http://wamc.org/post/david-cay-johnston-fine-print <p></p><p>Investigative journalist <a href="http://blogs.reuters.com/david-cay-johnston/">David Cay Johnston</a>’s says it is time for consumers to read the fine print.</p><p>His new book is&nbsp;<em>The Fine Print.</em>&nbsp;It's about how many corporations have worked the regulatory system to their advantage and how that affects things ranging from the service you receive to the state of our infrastructure. He also examines the fees that banks and phone companies have added over the years that have made your bills incrementally larger but have added up to big money for corporations.</p> Thu, 27 Sep 2012 15:10:06 +0000 Joe Donahue 48911 at http://wamc.org David Cay Johnston - The Fine Print NYS Department of Environmental Conservation Estuary Program http://wamc.org/post/nys-department-environmental-conservation-estuary-program <p></p><p>On one day, Thursday Oct 4<sup>th</sup>, 3-thousand students, educators, and volunteers will visit 75 sites along the Hudson from New York Harbor to the mouth of the Mohawk. It is being called “A Day In the Life of Hudson River.” This is the 10th annual event, and in those ten years the DEC has had over 20,000 participants total.</p> Thu, 27 Sep 2012 14:40:24 +0000 Joe Donahue 48908 at http://wamc.org NYS Department of Environmental Conservation Estuary Program