Bernie Sanders http://wamc.org en Vt.'s Senators Disappointed By National Guard Cuts http://wamc.org/post/vts-senators-disappointed-national-guard-cuts <p>Vermont's two United States senators are expressing displeasure and concern over proposed cut to the National Guard.</p><p>Sen. Patrick Leahy, co-chair of the Senate National Guard Caucus, says any planned long-term cut to Army National Guard "guts our citizen-soldier force."</p><p>Sen. Bernie Sanders told WPTZ in a statement "we should be growing - rather than shrinking - the National Guard" because of its cost-efficiency.</p> Tue, 25 Feb 2014 13:35:18 +0000 Jaired Crofut 84574 at http://wamc.org Vt.'s Senators Disappointed By National Guard Cuts Sanders Joins New Climate Change Task Force http://wamc.org/post/sanders-joins-new-climate-change-task-force <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont U.S. Senator Bernie Sanders has joined 15 of his Senate colleagues in forming a new task force to highlight climate change. Tue, 21 Jan 2014 02:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 82227 at http://wamc.org Sanders Joins New Climate Change Task Force VT's Sanders Asks If NSA Is Spying On Congress http://wamc.org/post/vts-sanders-asks-if-nsa-spying-congress <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont's independent senator wants to know if the National Security Agency has been "spying" on members of Congress. Wed, 08 Jan 2014 03:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 81386 at http://wamc.org VT's Sanders Asks If NSA Is Spying On Congress Sanders Sponsoring Minimum Wage Hike http://wamc.org/post/sanders-sponsoring-minimum-wage-hike <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont Senator Bernie Sanders is sponsoring legislation to increase the federal minimum wage. Thu, 19 Dec 2013 17:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 80208 at http://wamc.org Sanders Sponsoring Minimum Wage Hike 2 Vt. Senators Applaud Ruling In NSA Phone Case http://wamc.org/post/2-vt-senators-applaud-ruling-nsa-phone-case <p>Vermont's two United States senators are applauding a federal judge's ruling that says the National Security Agency's bulk collection of Americans' telephone records likely violates the U.S. Constitution's ban on unreasonable searches.</p><p>Sens. Patrick Leahy and Bernie Sanders issued separate statements Monday after the decision of U.S. District Court Judge Richard Leon in Washington.</p> Tue, 17 Dec 2013 13:55:53 +0000 Jaired Crofut 80024 at http://wamc.org 2 Vt. Senators Applaud Ruling In NSA Phone Case Sanders Considers Presidential Run In 2016 http://wamc.org/post/sanders-considers-presidential-run-2016 <p></p><p>Former Vermont Governor Howard Dean ran a progressive campaign for president in 2004 before falling short in the Democratic primary. Could another Vermont lawmaker make a run for the White House in 2016? Speaking to WAMC’s Alan Chartock on the Congressional Corner, U.S. independent Senator Bernie Sanders addressed rumors that he could be a candidate.</p> Wed, 27 Nov 2013 01:00:00 +0000 Jessica Marshall 78624 at http://wamc.org Sanders Considers Presidential Run In 2016 Vermont U.S. Senator Sanders Supports de Blasio's Tax Plan http://wamc.org/post/vermont-us-senator-sanders-supports-de-blasios-tax-plan <p></p><p>New York City Mayor-elect Bill de Blasio may have lost support from his mentor, former Mayor David Dinkins, on his plan to hike taxes on the rich to pay for educational reforms, but he has the backing of a New York City transplant. On WAMC’s Congressional Corner program, Vermont U.S. Senator Bernie Sanders says he supports de Blasio’s platform.</p><p> Tue, 26 Nov 2013 17:50:00 +0000 78621 at http://wamc.org Vermont U.S. Senator Sanders Supports de Blasio's Tax Plan Vt. Senators Hail Senate Passage Of Anti-Bias Bill http://wamc.org/post/vt-senators-hail-senate-passage-anti-bias-bill <p>Vermont's two U.S. senators are hailing the Senate's passage of a measure banning workplace discrimination against gay and transgender Americans.</p><p>Both Sens. Patrick Leahy and Bernie Sanders say the measure is overdue. The measure, which now goes to the House, was first introduced in the Senate nearly two decades ago.</p><p>Vermont has prohibited discrimination based on sexual orientation since 1992, and based on transgender status since 2007.</p> Fri, 08 Nov 2013 12:57:21 +0000 Jaired Crofut 77333 at http://wamc.org Vt. Senators Hail Senate Passage Of Anti-Bias Bill Sanders: Eligible VT Vets Should Use VA Health System http://wamc.org/post/sanders-eligible-vt-vets-should-use-va-health-system <p></p><p></p><p>U.S. Senator Bernie Sanders is urging Vermont veterans to see if they are eligible for health care from the Department of Veterans Affairs. Tue, 20 Aug 2013 01:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 71743 at http://wamc.org Sanders: Eligible VT Vets Should Use VA Health System Congressional Corner with Bernie Sanders http://wamc.org/post/congressional-corner-bernie-sanders-4 <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>The debate over Social Security now includes the phrase “Chained CPI.”</p><p>In today’s Congressional Corner, Vermont Senator Bernie Sanders tells WAMC’s Alan Chartock that benefit programs like Social Security are in fine shape for the future.</p><p> Tue, 14 May 2013 14:50:00 +0000 Alan Chartock 64525 at http://wamc.org