Solar http://wamc.org en Solar Energy Projects Bloom Across NY http://wamc.org/post/solar-energy-projects-bloom-across-ny <p></p><p>Since Governor Andrew Cuomo launched the NY-Sun initiative in 2012, his office says approximately 300 megawatts of&nbsp;photovoltaic generation capacity has been installed or is under development — more than what was installed in New York in the previous decade. Interest in solar projects has yet to peak...</p><p>Last week, the state announced that <a href="http://wamcradio.org/EarthWise/?p=4254" target="_blank">solar energy</a> installers working with nonresidential clients will be allocated $60 million in the program's third round of funding.</p><p></p> Mon, 19 May 2014 17:43:22 +0000 Dave Lucas 90783 at http://wamc.org Solar Energy Projects Bloom Across NY New Solar Business Grand Opening In Albany http://wamc.org/post/new-solar-business-grand-opening-albany <p>PosiGen Solar Solutions, a growing provider of comprehensive solar solutions programs, will host the grand opening of its first store in New York State this Saturday.&nbsp;</p><p>With its entrance into the Albany market, the company will create up to 120 new green jobs while offering consumers solar panel and energy efficiency concepts that will help all customers of any income level save on their energy bills while helping the environment.&nbsp;</p><p>Details: PosiGen Solar Solutions Grand Opening &amp; Ribbon Cutting by Mayor Kathy Sheehan</p><p>When: Saturday, May 17</p> Sat, 17 May 2014 07:00:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 90661 at http://wamc.org New Solar Business Grand Opening In Albany Solar Farm Being Built At Vermont Landfill http://wamc.org/post/solar-farm-being-built-vermont-landfill <p></p><p></p><p>Construction of a solar farm is underway at Vermont's only active landfill. Sun, 11 May 2014 18:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 90062 at http://wamc.org Solar Farm Being Built At Vermont Landfill Report Shows Solar Job Growth Throughout Northeast http://wamc.org/post/report-shows-solar-job-growth-throughout-northeast <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>The Solar Foundation has issued its national <a href="http://thesolarfoundation.org/solarstates">Solar Jobs Census 2013</a> showing what it calls “record-breaking job growth” in the solar industry, including a surge in the Northeast. Wed, 12 Feb 2014 23:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 83775 at http://wamc.org Report Shows Solar Job Growth Throughout Northeast VT Prison Wants To Install Solar Array http://wamc.org/post/vt-prison-wants-install-solar-array <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>The Vermont prison in St. Johnsbury is planning to install a solar array outside the facility's fence as a way to help save money. Thu, 09 Jan 2014 00:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 81467 at http://wamc.org VT Prison Wants To Install Solar Array Skidmore College Solar Array Gets OK From Greenfield Planning Board http://wamc.org/post/skidmore-college-solar-array-gets-ok-greenfield-planning-board <p><em>Correction 10/11/13: The fence surrounding the array will be six-feet high, not five, as previously reported.</em></p><p>Greenfield&rsquo;s planning board voted this week to approve Skidmore College&rsquo;s application for a Planned Unit Development &ndash; or PUD. The project involves the construction of a 2-megawatt solar array on a 120-acre parcel of land owned by the college that currently contains baseball and polo fields.</p><p></p> Thu, 10 Oct 2013 23:41:39 +0000 Lucas Willard 75366 at http://wamc.org Skidmore College Solar Array Gets OK From Greenfield Planning Board Utility Limits Net Metering http://wamc.org/post/utility-limits-net-metering <p></p><p></p><p>The Washington Electric Cooperative, a small utility in Vermont, has announced that it will set limits on net metering systems. That has raised concerns from advocacy groups who say such a move could discourage development of solar installations. Wed, 14 Aug 2013 22:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 71458 at http://wamc.org Utility Limits Net Metering Report Cites Twelve Top Solar States http://wamc.org/post/report-cites-twelve-top-solar-states <p></p><p></p><p>A new report released this morning ranks the top 12 solar producing states.&nbsp; Vermont and Massachusetts are among the leaders and New York is swiftly climbing the ranks. Tue, 23 Jul 2013 21:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 69853 at http://wamc.org Report Cites Twelve Top Solar States Massachusetts Sets New Solar Energy Target http://wamc.org/post/massachusetts-sets-new-solar-energy-target <p></p><p>Massachusetts Governor Deval Patrick and other state officials announced yesterday a new target for solar energy installation in the commonwealth.</p><p>In his first term, Governor Patrick set a goal of reaching 250 megawatts of solar energy installed statewide by 2017. That goal has been reached four years early, prompting the Patrick-Murray Administration to set a new target of 1.6 gigwatts of solar power by 2020.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>Massachusetts Secretary of Energy and Environmental Affairs Rick Sullivan said that the rate of solar installation is increasing rapidly.</p> Thu, 02 May 2013 16:48:04 +0000 Lucas Willard 63709 at http://wamc.org Massachusetts Sets New Solar Energy Target Community Corner: Alicia Barton, CEO of the Massachusetts Clean Energy Center http://wamc.org/post/community-corner-alicia-barton-ceo-massachusetts-clean-energy-center <p></p><p></p><p>The Massachusetts Executive Office of Energy and Environmental Affairs announced that ten communities in the commonwealth will participate in a new round of the Massachusetts Clean Energy Center's Solarize Mass program, which encourages small businesses and home owners to invest in solar energy. WAMC's Berkshire Bureau Chief Lucas Willard spoke with Executive Director and CEO of the Massachusetts Clean Energy Center Alicia Barton.</p><p></p> Fri, 05 Apr 2013 21:28:16 +0000 Lucas Willard 61587 at http://wamc.org Community Corner: Alicia Barton, CEO of the Massachusetts Clean Energy Center