News http://wamc.org en Governor Says Vermont Can't Take Many Immigrant Children http://wamc.org/post/governor-says-vermont-cant-take-many-immigrant-children <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont Governor Peter Shumlin says the state doesn't have the facilities to accept large numbers of immigrant children. Thu, 31 Jul 2014 02:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 96021 at http://wamc.org Governor Says Vermont Can't Take Many Immigrant Children Massachusetts Lawmakers OK Two Spending Bills http://wamc.org/post/massachusetts-lawmakers-ok-two-spending-bills <p></p><p></p><p>Massachusetts lawmakers have given final approval to two bills that would let the state borrow up to $2.3 billion to pay for major infrastructure and information technology projects. Thu, 31 Jul 2014 00:20:00 +0000 Jim Levulis 96012 at http://wamc.org Massachusetts Lawmakers OK Two Spending Bills Adirondack Village's Drinking Water Cited for Lead http://wamc.org/post/adirondack-villages-drinking-water-cited-lead <p></p><p></p><p>State health officials say an Adirondack village's drinking water has too much lead. Wed, 30 Jul 2014 23:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 96020 at http://wamc.org Adirondack Village's Drinking Water Cited for Lead Gillibrand Tours Trudeau Institute Lyme Disease Labs http://wamc.org/post/gillibrand-tours-trudeau-institute-lyme-disease-labs <p></p><p></p><p>New York U.S. Senator Kirsten Gillibrand toured the Trudeau Institute in Saranac Lake earlier this week.&nbsp; The research center is famed for its study of lung diseases, but a new arm of the institute will be dedicated to immuno-engineering studies of Lyme disease. Wed, 30 Jul 2014 22:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 96016 at http://wamc.org Gillibrand Tours Trudeau Institute Lyme Disease Labs Inner City Oasis Of Hope Faces Foreclosure http://wamc.org/post/inner-city-oasis-hope-faces-foreclosure <p></p><p></p><p>A century-old community center in the heart of an inner-city neighborhood in Springfield, Massachusetts is facing an uncertain future.&nbsp; Officials fear the center may be sold at a foreclosure auction before the summer is out.</p><p> The basketball gym at the Dunbar Community Center, where countless youngsters – including future NBA stars Travis Best and Vinny Del Negro – learned the game, could soon go quiet and dark. Community leaders have been trying for months to stave off the forced sale of the historic center, which they now believe is imminent.</p> Wed, 30 Jul 2014 22:29:00 +0000 Paul Tuthill 96005 at http://wamc.org Inner City Oasis Of Hope Faces Foreclosure County's Democratic Party Without Headquarters As Election Day Inches Closer http://wamc.org/post/countys-democratic-party-without-headquarters-election-day-inches-closer <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>With Election Day inching closer, Democrats living farthest from the state capital of Boston are without a party office. That could present a challenge for a group that has strengthened its roots over the past few years. Wed, 30 Jul 2014 22:10:00 +0000 Jim Levulis 95991 at http://wamc.org County's Democratic Party Without Headquarters As Election Day Inches Closer Cuomo's Opponents Up The Ante In Moreland Commission Criticisms http://wamc.org/post/cuomos-opponents-ante-moreland-commission-criticisms <p>Governor Andrew Cuomo’s opponents in the November races are stepping up accusations over the ethics commission scandal, and citing sections of state law that they say might have been broken by the governor’s aides.</p><p>Lieutenant Governor candidate Tim Wu, who along with Zephyr Teachout is challenging Cuomo and Kathy Hochul in the state Democratic primary, teaches New York State criminal law at Columbia University.</p> Wed, 30 Jul 2014 22:10:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 96006 at http://wamc.org Cuomo's Opponents Up The Ante In Moreland Commission Criticisms Veterans’ Bill Negotiated By Senator Sanders Passes Conference Committee http://wamc.org/post/veterans-bill-negotiated-senator-sanders-passes-conference-committee <p></p><p></p><p>House and Senate negotiators late Monday approved a compromise bill to spend about $17 billion to overhaul the Department of Veterans Affairs. Vermont’s junior U.S. Senator was a key part of the negotiations. Wed, 30 Jul 2014 21:50:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 96015 at http://wamc.org Veterans’ Bill Negotiated By Senator Sanders Passes Conference Committee Albany: Call If You Detect 'Uncommon Scents' http://wamc.org/post/albany-call-if-you-detect-uncommon-scents <p></p><p>Residents of downtown Albany living in the shadow of the Port and its infamous oil trains now have a way to report strong odors, which have become commonplace during the summer months.</p><p>Peter Iwanowicz, Chairman of County Executive Dan McCoy’s Expert Advisory Committee on Crude Oil Safety, says those living or working near oil transport facilities – rail terminals and siding areas near the Port of Albany can call the “Uncommon Scents” hotline to report nefarious odors. Dial 2-1-1.</p> Wed, 30 Jul 2014 20:49:28 +0000 Dave Lucas 96009 at http://wamc.org Albany: Call If You Detect 'Uncommon Scents' New Mass. Abortion Clinic Law Comes Weeks After Supreme Court Ruling http://wamc.org/post/new-mass-abortion-clinic-law-comes-weeks-after-supreme-court-ruling <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Gov. Deval Patrick has signed a bill designed to tighten security around abortion clinics in Massachusetts. Wed, 30 Jul 2014 20:46:56 +0000 Jim Levulis 96008 at http://wamc.org New Mass. Abortion Clinic Law Comes Weeks After Supreme Court Ruling