News http://wamc.org en Orange County Receives HUD Funding For Storm Recovery http://wamc.org/post/orange-county-receives-hud-funding-storm-recovery <p></p><p>Three years after Hurricane Irene hit the Hudson Valley, a New York Congressman and other elected officials announced more funding for Orange County for recovery efforts.</p> Sat, 30 Aug 2014 01:24:02 +0000 Allison Dunne 98139 at http://wamc.org Orange County Receives HUD Funding For Storm Recovery Car Sharing Comes To NY's Capital City http://wamc.org/post/car-sharing-comes-nys-capital-city <p>Car-sharing services are becoming more commonplace in the United States. Albany now has two, enabling mobility for drivers without the hassle of using an auto-rental company.</p> Fri, 29 Aug 2014 22:59:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 98117 at http://wamc.org Car Sharing Comes To NY's Capital City Legendary Announcer Tom Durkin Will Call Last Race Sunday http://wamc.org/post/legendary-announcer-tom-durkin-will-call-last-race-sunday <div><p>Tom Durkin, longtime announcer at Saratoga Race Course, will call his last race Sunday. Today, in the Winners’ Circle beside the flat track, Durkin opened up about his imminent retirement.</p><p>On Friday morning, sitting beside New York Racing Association President and CEO Chris Kay, Tom Durkin was brief in his opening remarks. Sunday will mark an end to his more than four-decade career of calling horse races, from the sport’s lower-level tracks to the heights of the Classic races.</p> Fri, 29 Aug 2014 22:10:00 +0000 Lucas Willard 98130 at http://wamc.org Legendary Announcer Tom Durkin Will Call Last Race Sunday SPAC To Increase Security After Assault http://wamc.org/post/spac-increase-security-after-assault <div class="WordSection1"><div><p></p><p><span style="font-size:10.0pt; font-family:&quot;Tahoma&quot;,&quot;sans-serif&quot;; color:black">New York State Police will have a greater presence at Saratoga Performing Arts Center after a recent sexual assault at the venue. </span></p><p><span style="font-size:10.0pt; font-family:&quot;Tahoma&quot;,&quot;sans-serif&quot;; color:black">State police will increase security as investigations continue on a sexual assault that took place at a concert on August 12<sup>th</sup>. SPAC is located within the Saratoga Spa State Park. </span></p> Fri, 29 Aug 2014 20:51:20 +0000 Lucas Willard 98131 at http://wamc.org SPAC To Increase Security After Assault New VP Takes Helm at CNSE CMOST http://wamc.org/post/new-vp-takes-helm-cnse-cmost <p></p><p>The SUNY College of Nanoscale Science and Engineering / SUNY Institute of Technology has announced the appointment of a new Vice President of the CNSE Children’s Museum of Science and Technology.</p><p>Catherine Gilbert has been chosen to lead CNSE CMOST as it prepares to expand and relocate to the Albany NanoTech complex.</p> Fri, 29 Aug 2014 20:09:56 +0000 Dave Lucas 98123 at http://wamc.org New VP Takes Helm at CNSE CMOST Troy: More Officers On Beat Patrol http://wamc.org/post/troy-more-officers-beat-patrol <p></p><p>Police have beefed up patrols in the crime-plagued "Collar City."&nbsp;</p> Fri, 29 Aug 2014 20:05:34 +0000 Dave Lucas 98122 at http://wamc.org Troy: More Officers On Beat Patrol Meteorologist Garett Argianas' Evening Forecast http://wamc.org/post/meteorologist-garett-argianas-evening-forecast-288 <p>Meteorologist Garett Argianas delivers the evening weather forecast for Friday, August 29, 2014.</p><p> Fri, 29 Aug 2014 19:46:00 +0000 Garett Argianas 98115 at http://wamc.org Meteorologist Garett Argianas' Evening Forecast Proposed Pipeline Expansion Prompts Indian Point Analysis http://wamc.org/post/proposed-pipeline-expansion-prompts-indian-point-analysis <p></p><p>The Federal Energy Regulatory Commission has put out for public comment a draft environmental impact statement concerning a proposed pipeline expansion project in the Northeast. The expansion includes property belonging to the Indian Point Nuclear power plant.</p> Fri, 29 Aug 2014 18:25:16 +0000 Allison Dunne 98108 at http://wamc.org Proposed Pipeline Expansion Prompts Indian Point Analysis Community Corner: NYS AMBER Alert Coordinator Gary Kelly http://wamc.org/post/community-corner-nys-amber-alert-coordinator-gary-kelly <div><div><p>Earlier this month, New York State Police issued an AMBER Alert&nbsp; in the search to locate two missing Amish girls who had been abducted in St. Lawrence County. The alert was called off after the girls were located.&nbsp; To help explain how the public is informed and law enforcement is directed in the event of an AMBER Alert, WAMC’s Southern Adirondack Bureau Chief Lucas Willard spoke with New York State Police Senior Investigator and AMBER Alert coordinator Gary Kelly.</p></div></div><p></p> Fri, 29 Aug 2014 17:46:50 +0000 Lucas Willard 98103 at http://wamc.org Community Corner: NYS AMBER Alert Coordinator Gary Kelly A Tale Of Two Casinos And A City http://wamc.org/post/tale-two-casinos-and-city <p>As established casinos across the Northeast close their doors or administer cost-cutting measures, New York is just getting into the game.&nbsp; And although it won’t host a casino if its own, Albany has become a key player.</p><p>The mantra has been "jobs and the economy," and New York's capital is crossing its fingers, hoping for a windfall should a casino go up in nearby Rensselaer County.</p><p>Long before final word from the gaming commission, the casino siting process has local governments and residents taking positions and forming alliances to woo or shoo casino developers.</p> Fri, 29 Aug 2014 16:50:12 +0000 Dave Lucas 98100 at http://wamc.org A Tale Of Two Casinos And A City