2012 New York State Primary Races

Sep 14, 2012

Thursday was primary day across New York State - Hudson Valley Bureau Chief Dave Lucas has a wrap-up of election results.

For one of the most-watched upstate races, Thursday’s primary voting marked the conclusion of a bitter campaign for the Democratic nomination for Albany County District Attorney. The battle raged on in mainstream media and thru blogs and social networks, where there was intense debate ... and quite a bit of old-fashioned mudslinging... in the end DA David Soares thanked his staff for standing by him during the campaign.

Soares handily defeated challenger Lee Kindlon, virtually ensuring his being elected to a third four-year term in November. There is no GOP candidate on the ballot.

There were a few "squeakers" in the primary mix: Two Republicans State Senators who voted for same-sex marriage faced more conservative challengers -

In the 41st Senate District , Steve Saland led challenger Neil DiCarlo by 42 votes. A winner cannot be declared until 553 absentee and affidavit ballots are counted. In the 43rd Senate district 136 votes seperate Senator Roy McDonald and Saratoga County Clerk Kathy Marchione - the outcome to be decided by absentee ballots - 1706 were sent out - more than 1100 had been returned as of last count.

Citizens of New York Communications Director Charlie Albanetti wasn't surprised by the close races. He says there was a huge injection of money on both sides, those supporting gay marriage and those against.

Cecilia Tkacyzk declared victory in the Democratic primary in the new 46th Senate district in a three-way race. She goes up against  Republican Assemblyman George Amedore in the new 46th Senate District, which runs from Amsterdam in the north to Kingston in the south.

Republican Sen. James Seward beat James Blake in the51st District.

Capital Region Senator Neil Breslin emerged the victor in the redrawn 44th district after a challenge from Albany County Legislature Chairman Shawn Morse.

In what some voters called most geographically-challenged race, Assemblywoman Claudia Tenney took the 101st district State Assembly Republican Primary - The 101st stretches from New Hartford in Oneida County downstate to Orange County, the only county won by her challenger, Brian Maher, the 27 year old mayor of the Village of Walden.

Kieran Lalor won the Republican nomination in the newly created 105th Assembly District.

In the 108th Cohoes Mayor John McDonald defeated Albany Common Council President Carolyn McLaughlin in the Democratic primary to succeed retiring Assembly Majority Leader Ron Canestrari of Cohoes, while the 109th victory went to Patricia Fahy in the race is to replace Jack McEneny, who is retiring at the end of his term. In the 110th District, County Legislator Phil Steck won the Democratic primary to succeed retiring Assemblyman Bob Reilly.

The focus now shifts to the November elections, as newly designated candidates fresh from primary victories take up their stations alongside those who have already been on the campaign trail.