Most Active Stories
- Saratoga County Sheriff's Sgt. Resigns, Charged With Misconduct After Video Goes Viral
- Donation Of Historic Amusement Park May Be Brought To Referendum
- Pittsfield's 3rd Thursdays Undergoes Changes For 2015 Season
- Maloney: de Blasio "Should Have Head Examined" After Withholding Clinton Endorsement
- Williams College New Environmental Center Reaching For High Bar
New England News
Mon December 31, 2012
Adult Learner's Permit To Be Required in Conn.
New adult drivers in Connecticut will soon need a learner's permit before taking the road test for a driver's license.
The three-month permit will be mandatory for drivers 18 and older starting Wednesday.
The new law ends a 106-year practice of not requiring adult drivers in Connecticut to complete a training period before getting a driver's license.
Applicants will receive an adult learner permit after passing a 25-question knowledge test and a vision test. They will also have to take an eight-hour safe driving practices course, which costs $125.
Department of Motor Vehicles Commissioner Melody Currey says cars are more sophisticated today and traveling roads can be more dangerous for inexperienced drivers.
DMV expects more than 30,000 adult drivers each year will be affected.
Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.