Democrat Vs. Democrat: Race For Albany City Treasurer

Aug 8, 2013

Gary Domalewicz and Darius Shahinfar, Democratic candidates for Albany City Treasurer
Credit WAMC composite photo by Dave Lucas

As the September 10 Democratic primary draws closer, with current Albany City Treasurer Kathy Sheehan running for mayor, two candidates for Chief Fiscal officer have emerged, each democrat believing he is best-suited to take over the position.

In May, the Albany County Democratic Committee endorsed Sheehan as Jerry Jennings' successor over Corey Ellis. The party also backed county Legislator Gary Domalewicz for city treasurer.

Domalewicz has been an Albany County Legislator since 1993, representing residents of the 11th Legislative District and since the 2010 re-districting, he represents the 10th Legislative District.

He's backed by Albany County Executive Dan McCoy. Comptroller Mike Conners and County Legislature Chairman Shawn Morse.

Darius Shahinfar is an Albany Law School grad who has been a city resident since 1994. His wife, Noelle Kinsch, is currently an Albany County legislator representing the 6th District.  Shahinfar counts Kathy Sheehan among his biggest supporters, along with State Assembly members Patricia Fahy and Phil Steck.

Shahinfar will also appear on the ballot on the Working Families and Independent party lines.

Domalewicz and Shahinfar are the only declared candidates in the race for City Treasuer, so the election will effectively be decided on primary day.

Democrats believe voter turnout will be greater than in previous years, driven by the mayoral race since Jerry Jennings' decision May 15th not to seek another term.

Additional information: Under the Albany City Charter, the Treasurer is the Chief Fiscal Officer, responsible for the collection, receipt, care and custody of all taxes and monies due to the City. The Treasurer is also responsible for the preparation of the City’s financial statements.

In addition, the City Treasurer supervises Albany’s Parking Violations Bureau and computer services department.