New York Among Eight States Granted No Child Left Behind Waiver

May 30, 2012

New York has received a federal waiver that will allow the state education department to modify some of the provisions of the Bush-era No Child Left Behind Law.

State education officials say the waiver allows New York more flexibility in evaluating schools and directing extra help and funds to low performing schools that will now be designated "focus districts”. To be eligible for the waiver, New York is implementing new college and career readiness standards and a teacher evaluation system.  New York State Department of Education Deputy Secretary Ken Slentz.

New York State United Teachers Spokesman Carl Korn says the organization was  generally supportive of the waiver.

New York State School Boards Association General Counsel Jay Worona says the waiver should give schools more flexibility in fulfilling their obligations under the No Child Left Behind Act.

Ticonderoga School District Superintendent John C. McDonald describes the No Child Left Behind law as a square peg trying to fit into a round hole.

Eight states, including New York, Connecticut, Delaware, Maryland, and Rhode Island were granted waivers on Tuesday in this second round from U.S. Education Department.