Ramos Set To Repeat As Springfield Council President As Two New Councilors Come Aboard

Dec 31, 2017

Springfield City Councilor Orlando Ramos will serve a second consecutive one-year term as council president in 2018.
Credit WAMC

New Year’s Day begins a new legislative year in the largest city in western Massachusetts.

At the Springfield City Council’s organization meeting, newly-elected members Jesse Lederman and Tim Ryan will be sworn in for two-year terms.

        Council President Orlando Ramos will be formally voted in by his colleagues to lead the body for a second consecutive year.

"I am looking forward to this opportunity because we have a lot of unfinished business, said Ramos.

  Kateri Walsh, the only woman on the 13-member council and now its longest-serving member as she begins a seventh term, has been tapped to be council vice-president.