Shumlin Signs Vermont Minimum Wage Increase Law
Vermont's wage is going up.
On Monday, Governor Peter Shumlin signed into law a bill that will increase the state's minimum wage in stages to $10.50 an hour by 2018.
Shumlin signed the law Monday at the Red Hen Bakery in Middlesex.
He says Vermont is one of a number of states that recognizes that working people cannot support families on the minimum wage.
Vermont's minimum wage is currently $8.73 an hour.
The new law calls for increasing the minimum to $9.60 in 2016, $10 in 2017 and $10.50 in 2018.
The bill also calls for annual raises in the wage — tied to inflation — starting in 2019.
Copyright 2014 Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.