Two Dozen Catholic Schools to Close in NY

Jan 23, 2013

Credit Joel Kramer

NEW YORK (AP) — The New York Archdiocese will close 24 Roman Catholic schools in a cost-saving move. Ten of these schools are in the Hudson Valley.

The Archdiocese will close 22 elementary schools and two high schools by the end of the school year, with more than 4,000 students affected. The closings are part of a multi-year restructuring to cut the number of schools with low enrollment and financial struggles. Those elementary schools to close include, in Ulster County, St. Joseph in Kingston, and St. Mary of the Snow, in Saugerties; in Rockland County, St. Peter and St. Augustine; St. Joseph, in Dutchess County’s Millbrook; and five schools in Westchester County. The restructuring will leave the archdiocese with 173 elementary schools and 48 high schools. Four other schools that had been targeted will stay open, including Sacred Heart in Newburgh, in Orange County; and Regina Coeli in Hyde Park, in Dutchess County.

Copyright 2013 The Associated Press and WAMC Northeast Public Radio.