The Roundtable

Weekdays, 9 a.m.

WAMC's The Roundtable is an award-winning, nationally recognized eclectic talk program. The show airs from 9am to noon each weekday and features news, interviews, in-depth discussion, listener call-ins, music, and much (much) more! Hosted by Joe Donahue and produced by Sarah LaDuke, The Roundtable tackles serious and lighthearted subjects, looking to explore the many facets of the human condition with civility, respect and responsibility.

The show's hallmark is thoughtful interviews with A-list newsmakers, authors, artists, sports figures, actors, and people with interesting stories to tell. Since hitting the airwaves in May of 2001, The Roundtable has interviewed the likes of Arthur Miller, Kurt Vonnegut, Maya Angelou, Madeleine Albright, Jimmy Carter, John McCain, Bob Dole, Bill O'Reilly, Steve Martin, James Taylor, Stephen King, Melissa Etheridge and lots of other really cool people. Plus, Wilco does our theme song. What more can you ask for?

If you have any questions or you'd like to be on the show, email us at roundtable@wamc.org

"Book Picks" lists are here.

  In an exploration of the afterlife that is part personal, part prescriptive, Claire Bidwell Smith invites us on her journey into the unknown.

She wonders: How do we grieve our loved ones without proof that they live on? Will we ever see them again? Can they see us now, even though they are gone?

7/29/15 Panel

Jul 29, 2015

  The Roundtable Panel: a daily open discussion of issues in the news and beyond.

  In the tradition of The Great Gatsby and Mrs Dalloway, Samantha Bruce-Benjamin delivers insight into five minutes in the life of a celebrated Hamptons society hostess, set against the backdrop of The Great Hurricane of 1938.

Her new novel is: The Westhampton Leisure Hour and Supper Club. The novel is based on historical research about the Hamptons at the peak of its grandeur, the devastation that the 1938 hurricane wrought, and a real supper club called The Leisure Hour and Supper Club.

  The Phoenicia International Festival of the Voice promotes the human voice as an instrument of healing, peace and artistic expression through presenting world class performances in Phoenicia, New York and surrounding areas.

This year’s festival - running July 29-August 2 - will be a Celebration of the Diverse Voices of America. We are joined by world renowned opera singers, Executive Director Maria Todaro and Artistic Director Louis Otey. 

  Everything from bikes to bike sharing rentals like CitiBike relies on technology of one sort or another.

Jeff Olson from Alta Planning is working with NYC on CitiBike, doing a project in Saratoga, and working on the Saranac River Trail Greenway in Plattsburgh and environs. He joins us – good morning, Jeff!

Our tech guru Jesse Feiler is president of Friends of Saranac River Trail in addition to his work with technology (his latest is a book about Apple’s new HomeKit technology).

There is a lot going on with the Trail and the expansion of the Saranac River Trail Greenway including a booth at the Clinton County Fair (opening today) and a public meeting this evening at 6 PM at SUNY Plattsburgh.

  A Marine from Springfield was buried Monday after being shot and killed in Tennessee.

In today’s Congressional Corner, Massachusetts Representative Richard Neal tells WAMC’s Alan Chartock that Sullivan will be warmly remembered.

  Emmy Award–winning writer Adam Resnick began his career at Late Night with David Letterman. He went on to co-create Fox’s Get a Life, starring Chris Elliott, and has written several screenplays, including cult favorites Cabin Boy and Death to Smoochy. Resnick has written for Saturday Night Live, was a co-executive producer and writer for HBO’s The Larry Sanders Show.

Resnick uses the self-descriptor: “euphorically antisocial.” His new book is a tour of troubled psyche - memoir-in-essays entitled: Will Not Attend: Lively Stories of Detachment and Isolation.

  Suzanna Hermans from Oblong Books and Music joins us with this week's Book Picks list.

List:
What Pet Should I Get? by Dr. Seuss
The Princess and the Pony by Kate Beaton
Lillian's Right to Vote by Jonah Winter & Shane W. Evans
Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli
Ms. Marvel by G. Willow Wilson
Saint Mazie by Jami Attenberg
The Fold by Peter Clines

7/28/15 Panel

Jul 28, 2015

  The Roundtable Panel: a daily open discussion of issues in the news and beyond.

Pages