WAMC http://wamc.org en Regional Police Agencies Plan Coordinated Easter Enforcement http://wamc.org/post/regional-police-agencies-plan-coordinated-easter-enforcement <p></p><p></p><p>Police agencies along the northern border will work together during Easter weekend for a joint traffic enforcement initiative. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 03:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 88439 at http://wamc.org Regional Police Agencies Plan Coordinated Easter Enforcement NH Senate Refuses To Consider Marijuana Bill http://wamc.org/post/nh-senate-refuses-consider-marijuana-bill <p></p><p></p><p>New Hampshire's Senate has refused to consider a House bill that would have decriminalized possession of up to an ounce of marijuana. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 01:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 88438 at http://wamc.org NH Senate Refuses To Consider Marijuana Bill Vermont Senate Committee Hears Challenge Of Opiate Treatment http://wamc.org/post/vermont-senate-committee-hears-challenge-opiate-treatment <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont lawmakers are learning of the challenges of meeting the needs of people in the state who are addicted to heroin and other drugs. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 23:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 88437 at http://wamc.org Vermont Senate Committee Hears Challenge Of Opiate Treatment MassDOT Surveys Commuters In Planning I-91 Project http://wamc.org/post/massdot-surveys-commuters-planning-i-91-project <p>The Massachusetts Department of Transportation as part of the planning for a major highway project in western Massachusetts is surveying commuters.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 22:51:00 +0000 Paul Tuthill 88422 at http://wamc.org MassDOT Surveys Commuters In Planning I-91 Project Tabasco And Beer-Flavored: Not Your Easter Bunny's Jelly Beans http://wamc.org/post/tabasco-and-beer-flavored-not-your-easter-bunnys-jelly-beans This Easter, you can drown your sorrows in a glass of Jellybean milk — or with a pile of beer-flavored jelly beans.<p>The new twists are a sign that jelly beans are continuing their march to candyland domination. Americans buy 16 billion beans in the Easter season alone (mid-February until the actual holiday), according to the <a href="http://www.candyusa.com/index.cfm">National Confectioners Association</a>. The candy even has its own holiday on April 22.<p>That's quite an accomplishment for a seemingly simple candy. But in fact, there's nothing simple about the bean. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 22:31:00 +0000 editor 88448 at http://wamc.org Tabasco And Beer-Flavored: Not Your Easter Bunny's Jelly Beans Even Chimps Know That A Firm Bed Makes For Quality Sleep http://wamc.org/post/even-chimps-know-firm-bed-makes-quality-sleep In the wilds of Africa, chimpanzees consistently choose to make their sleeping nests in a particular tree that offers the "just right" kind of comfort that Goldilocks famously preferred.<p>That's according to a new study in the journal <a href="http://www.plosone.org/article/info%3Adoi%2F10.1371%2Fjournal.pone.0095361;jsessionid=6EAE23D29CF422DDF26836FAA9103484">PLOS ONE</a> that could also bolster a theory that solid shut-eye may have been a key to human evolution.<p>In the latest study, scientists measured the "stiffness and bending strength" of seven trees most commonly used by chimps to ma Thu, 17 Apr 2014 22:31:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 88447 at http://wamc.org Even Chimps Know That A Firm Bed Makes For Quality Sleep Committee Proposes Hard Deadline For Single-Payer Financing Plan http://wamc.org/post/committee-proposes-hard-deadline-single-payer-financing-plan <p></p><p></p><p>Some Vermont legislators are proposing to cut funding for the state’s transition to universal health care if the governor fails to provide a financial plan for the system by next January. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 22:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 88436 at http://wamc.org Committee Proposes Hard Deadline For Single-Payer Financing Plan Obama's Favorite County — At Least When It Comes To Giving Speeches http://wamc.org/post/president-obamas-favorite-county-least-when-it-comes-giving-speeches Residents of Prince George's County, Md., might just get sick of hearing "Hail to the Chief." President Obama has visited this county to deliver policy addresses more than any other in his second term.<p>"Hello Maryland. It's good to see you," the president said enthusiastically in January at a Costco in Lanham, Md. "I love to get outside of the Beltway, even if it is just a few hundred feet away."<p>For many years, presidents have traveled to Prince George's County because it is the location of Joint Base Andrews, the home base of Air Force One. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 22:02:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 88449 at http://wamc.org Obama's Favorite County — At Least When It Comes To Giving Speeches Walmart Could Bring Debate Back To Ballston http://wamc.org/post/walmart-could-bring-debate-back-ballston <p>Walmart has announced that it once again plans to build a new store in the Southern Saratoga County town of Ballston, but the presence of the retailer in the community may still prove controversial.</p><p></p><p>The nation’s largest retailer announced plans this week to build a new store in Ballston in a commercial development near the corners of Routes 50 and 67.</p><p></p><p>Walmart says the new store would bring with it 300 jobs, most of them fulltime positions.</p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 21:43:31 +0000 Lucas Willard 88446 at http://wamc.org Walmart Could Bring Debate Back To Ballston Nobel Prize-Winning Author Gabriel Garcia Marquez Dies At 87 http://wamc.org/post/nobel-prize-winning-author-gabriel-garcia-marquez-dies-87 Nobel Prize-winning Colombian novelist Gabriel Garcia Marquez, author of <em>One Hundred Years of Solitude,</em> has died in Mexico City. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 21:37:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 88442 at http://wamc.org Nobel Prize-Winning Author Gabriel Garcia Marquez Dies At 87