Commentary & Opinion

Commentary & Opinion
3:52 pm
Tue January 13, 2015

Stephen Gottlieb: Reactions To The Charlie Hebdo Shootings – Was It Just About France?

In what other country do world leaders march with arms linked against terrorism? Terrorism goes on in every continent but we mourn and gather in Europe. Terrorism happens in Haifa, Jerusalem and the West Bank – in both directions – but we mourn and gather in Europe. Do we stand for a principle or is France the principle – that France cannot be touched? Or that France is in danger? But other places are in danger. For all my criticisms of Israeli reactions, they are in considerable danger as the Palestinians have been able to use Israeli reactions to the devastation caused by their own terrorism to unite much of the world against Israel. Or is there good and bad terrorism? Were the Communists right, that’s it’s all about whose terrorists are freedom fighters?

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:47 pm
Tue January 13, 2015

Karen Magee: The Battle for Public Education

A battle for the future of public education is simmering in Albany.  It’s a battle that – as president of New York State United Teachers – I’m very comfortable having.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:52 pm
Mon January 12, 2015

Blair Horner: New York’s Next Step In Combating Global Warming

An important reason for New York State to ban hydraulic fracturing was the need to move from a fossil fuel-based economy to one based on non-greenhouse gas-emitting alternative fuels.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:50 pm
Sun January 11, 2015

David Nightingale: 4G-LTE

Advertised on TV, amongst videos for Nissans flying over snowy half-pipes, or an attractive Toyota lady exhorting us to 'let's go places', companies offering TV-plus-internet-plus-phone are talking "4G LTE". There must be many experts who know what "4G LTE" means, but the people I asked, both young and old, didn't. Actually, I didn't even find one who knew. I'm not a computer-trained person, so, for what it's worth, here's what one may find on the internet.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:52 pm
Fri January 9, 2015

Michael Meeropol: The 2016 Presidential Campaign Doesn’t Have To Descend To Competing Sound Bites

Sometime soon, Hillary Clinton and Jeb Bush will declare whether or not they are running for President, as will a host of others. The campaigns will probably be dominated by personalities, opposition research, an endless series of debates, one gaffe or another, one catchy slogan or another and virtually nothing of useful substance.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:52 pm
Thu January 8, 2015

Karen Hitchcock: The Legacy Of Governor Mario M. Cuomo

Today’s Commentary, of course, begins with deepest condolences to Mrs. Cuomo and the entire Cuomo family.  Our hearts go out to them at this most difficult time, a time when we all mourn the loss of a very special man, Governor Mario Cuomo.   

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:52 pm
Wed January 7, 2015

Herbert London: Embracing Our Enemies

For months the American government has averted its gaze to the nefarious activity of the Iranian government. As the world’s leading sponsor of terrorism, one might assume our national policy would be designed to counter this Iranian threat. In fact, it is no longer accurate to describe the war in Syria as conflict between Assad’s regime forces and the rebels. It is a war directed and fought by the Iranian Revolutionary Guard and Hezbollah with Assad playing a secondary role.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:52 pm
Tue January 6, 2015

Stephen Gottlieb: Police Accountability

I’ve been reading a case decided in the European Court of Human Rights. It involved opposing libel suits arising out of claims of police brutality in Bergen, Norway.[1] The opinion of four judges, whose names I will not try to pronounce, struck me. The judges pointed out that the purpose of the libel suits brought by the police officers “was to suppress the debate on this issue....” But they pointed out that the government has “a monopoly over force” and that monopoly “also entails the danger of force being abused to the detriment of the very values it is meant to uphold.” Therefore “abuse of force by officials is not just one of many issues of broad general interest.” Instead, “it is ... a matter of primary concern in any society.” Keeping authorities in check is particularly important for a democracy. And the ability to hold the states’ use of force in check requires protecting those who raise the alarm.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:52 pm
Mon January 5, 2015

Blair Horner: Examining Lawmakers’ Outside Income


Like the rest of the nation, New York State allows its legislators to have outside jobs – they are considered part-time.  Laws are in place to ensure that such outside income does not create a conflict-of-interest for the lawmakers – laws require a combination of requirements that lawmakers recuse themselves of decisions which may directly affect their wealth, prohibit them from using their office for personal gain, and by requiring the disclosure of the sources of outside income in order to ensure that the public – and regulatory agencies – can monitor lawmakers’ behavior.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:52 pm
Wed December 31, 2014

Herbert London: Strategic Stability In The Second Nuclear Age

The negotiations in Vienna to restrict or prevent Iran from enriching sufficient fissile material to build nuclear weapons, raises the specter of yet a new round in what some have described as “the second nuclear age.” For the uninitiated, the first nuclear age was the period in the Cold War when the U.S. and allies confronted the Soviet Union’s nuclear arsenal. The second nuclear age is defined by the multiplicity of nuclear powers linked together by varying levels of cooperation and conflict.

Read more

Pages