Commentary & Opinion

Commentary & Opinion
12:43 pm
Mon June 30, 2014

Rob Edelman: New Iranian Cinema, Part 2

CLOSED CURTAIN, a pointed, highly political allegory scripted and co-directed by Iranian filmmaker Jafar Panahi, is momentarily set for theatrical release here in the U.S.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:50 pm
Sat June 28, 2014

David Nightingale: Jonas Waldo Smith

The Chief Engineer on the Catskill Aqueduct was Jonas Waldo Smith, born in 1861 in Lincoln, Massachusetts.

Now 2000 years ago, Sextus Julius Frontinus–one-time governor of the minor Roman province of Britain–had been appointed (in his retirement) Water Commissioner for the city of Rome. This was a position of consular rank that entailed responsibility for all Rome's water, conveyed into the capital via half a dozen major aqueducts, like Aqua Marcia, Aqua Claudia, and others.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:50 pm
Fri June 27, 2014

Rogovoy Report For June 27, 2014

Before I preview the coming weekend of culture in the greater Berkshire region, a quick look back on what is sure to be on everyone’s lists of the highlights of the year.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:52 pm
Thu June 26, 2014

Karen Hitchcock: In Honor of Dr. James J. Gozzo

On June 30th, this coming Monday, an era will end at one of the Capital Region’s most respected institutions of higher education, Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences. President James Gozzo will leave the helm of this exceptional college – turning its leadership over to the new president, Dr. Gregory Dewey. I have been fortunate to have known President Gozzo for virtually all of his 16-year tenure at the college, a college which has been transformed by his presence.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:52 pm
Wed June 25, 2014

Herbert London: Choosing Sides for World War IV

With the fall of Mosul to ISIS terrorists the goal of a new state incorporating territory in northern Iraq and Syria may be a reality. As I see it, this is more than a Sunni-Shia conflict within the confines of one region. It has the potential to be the catalyst of World War IV, the Cold War being World War III.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:50 pm
Tue June 24, 2014

Stephen Gottlieb: Band-Aids Or Systemic Change?

Let me try to put some things in perspective. I spent a decade in the Legal Service Program which provides lawyers for the poor, first as a store-front lawyer, then in the management of programs or running a clinic. One of the recurring issues we used to debate was whether to focus on what we called “Band-Aids” or systemic change.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:52 pm
Tue June 24, 2014

Paul Elisha: Safety On The Roadways

Catching sight of a TV photo of conservative mischief-maker, Ralph Reed, (former anti-Indian tribes lobbying crony of the notorious Jack Abramoff) in the late news, recently, announcing that he was preparing once again to organize young Christians in a typical chapter of Ralph Reed chicanery, strongly reminded this pundit of the wisdom shared by Confucius, in his Analects, that: “Learning without thought is labor lost; while thought without learning is perilous.”  In light of all the sudden public angst about this Nation’s seemingly unsuccessful efforts to establish a well-functioning system of public education, the last thing we need is any kind of input by the likes of the crafty Mr. Reed.  Apparently, though, there is more than a little need of constructive concern, on the part of all of us, about how our young people are being educated and this brought to mind Marshall McLuhan, he of “The Medium Is The Message” fame.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:50 pm
Mon June 23, 2014

Blair Horner: A Look Ahead To November

Now that the lackluster 2014 legislative session is in the books, New York’s elected officials turn their attention to November.  The statewide offices of governor, comptroller, and attorney general are all up.  All 213 legislative seats and 27 Congressional House of Representatives are up for a vote.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:50 pm
Fri June 20, 2014

Rogovoy Report For June 20, 2014

It’s a big weekend in the greater Berkshire region for the performing arts, with panoply of chamber music, folk-rock, dance and musical theater, just for starters.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:51 pm
Thu June 19, 2014

Rabbi Dan Ornstein: The Noise Which Brings Quiet

  What I always notice about water tumbling from a cliff or gurgling downstream is the way the noise from its rush makes everything near it sound much quieter. Perhaps it is because I am in the mountains, away from the distractions of urban life, work, and daily nonsense. Maybe it is because the pulse and swirl of water gently force me to listen to the inevitable movement of time and life around me.

Read more

Pages