Commentary & Opinion

Commentary & Opinion
1:13 pm
Thu December 18, 2014

Sean Philpott-Jones: Physician, Torture Thyself

Last week, the US Senate Intelligence Committee released its long awaited report describing the techniques the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) used to interrogate suspected terrorists and other combatants captured during our long running War on Terror.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:51 pm
Wed December 17, 2014

Keith Strudler: The Los Angeles Market For Professional Football

Los Angeles has a lot. It's got movie stars and great weather and Disney and beaches and enough night clubs to entertain the Kardashians. But what they don't have is an NFL franchise. They used to. In fact, they had two, assuming we count the LA metro area, which includes Anneheim, the former home of the then Los Angeles and now St. Louis Rams. At some concurrent moments, the Raiders called the Los Angeles Coloseum home, before they returned to Oakland. But since 1995, the city of angels has been home to exactly one less NFL team than Jacksonville, Charlotte, New Orleans, and Buffalo, respectively, cities that collectively don't approach LA's populace.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:52 pm
Wed December 17, 2014

Herbert London: What We Are “Sure” We Know About Foreign Policy

What we do know, or think we know, that just isn’t true? There are myths, riddles and indeterminate conditions, but for many these factors are ignored in favor of what one believes to be true.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:52 pm
Tue December 16, 2014

Stephen Gottlieb: Enhanced Interrogation

We've been hearing people talk about “enhanced interrogation” for quite a while. Then the Senate Intelligence Committee Report on the CIA’s use of torture was released this week. And we got another dose of “enhanced interrogation.” We’ve been hearing it so much one stops noticing. That's the technique of the big lie – say it often enough and people accept it.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:52 pm
Mon December 15, 2014

Blair Horner: New York Is Losing Control Of The War On Tobacco

Tobacco kills more than 400,000 Americans every year and costs the country about $100 billion in health care bills.  Tobacco-caused diseases account for nearly 1 of every 5 deaths annually.  These include 46,000 heart attack deaths and 3,400 lung cancer deaths among nonsmokers who are exposed to secondhand smoke.  Despite successes in curbing tobacco use over the past four decades, it still is the leading preventable cause of death in the United States.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:52 pm
Mon December 15, 2014

Rob Edelman: Mentors

WHIPLASH is one of the season’s justifiably lauded new films. It is the story of a young music prodigy, played by Miles Teller, who is studying at a first-class conservatory. Here, he is intimidated-- and that is no over-exaggeration-- by a brutal, bullying, sociopathic instructor, who is played by character actor J.K. Simmons in what just may be this year’s runaway Best Supporting Actor Oscar winning performance.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:53 pm
Wed December 10, 2014

Herbert London: The Stark Choice With Iran

It is high time to face reality. The extension of talks in Vienna suggest that despite flexibility in negotiations on the part of P5+1, Iran believes it can get a more conciliatory deal by holding out another seven months.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:52 pm
Tue December 9, 2014

Stephen Gottlieb: Killing Garner

Are we safer with or without the police around? When juries, grand juries and prosecutors regularly decide that plain, on camera, evidence doesn’t show murder, what protects people?

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:52 pm
Tue December 9, 2014

Paul Elisha: The 2nd Amendment And Reality

 In frequent past circumstances, this currently dispirited paladin was moved to remind certain ‘Second Amendment’ advocates (who’ve had what more of us should believe are misdirected objectives), about its starkly restrictive preamble.  Few of them seem, either to have read and /or correctly interpreted it.  In his first inaugural address, after being elected the third American President, in 1801, Thomas Jefferson said that the sum of a good government is to restrain its citizens….”from injuring one another.” He said this was necessary, “…..to close the circle of our felicities.”

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:52 pm
Mon December 8, 2014

Blair Horner: 40 Years Of New York's Tuition Assistance Program

Forty years ago, 1974, the “Godfather Part II” was a hit in movie theaters, the cost of a first class stamp was a dime, President Ford granted a pardon to disgraced former President Nixon, and the Universal Product Code, aka the bar code, was first introduced.

Read more

Pages