Commentary & Opinion

Commentary & Opinion
3:50 pm
Thu November 7, 2013

Karen Hitchcock: Public Higher Education - Disinvestment Puts Quality At Risk

Late one evening not long ago, I had left the TV tuned to the David Letterman show while I finished up some writing.  As the former president of two different public universities – one in the United States and one in Canada – imagine my shock when I heard the following: “I’m dumb, I went to a state college.” Let me repeat that:  “I’m dumb,” said Mr. Letterman, “ I went to a state college.”

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:39 pm
Thu November 7, 2013

Sean Philpott: Punishing The Promoters

Earlier this week, the US Justice Department announced that pharmaceutical giant Johnson & Johnson agreed to pay more than $2 billion in fines and penalties for illegally marketing the drug Risperdal to doctors and patients.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:52 pm
Wed November 6, 2013

Herbert London: The World I’ve Known Has Come To An End

There was a time not so long ago when I could select my own doctor. There was a time when I could choose my health insurance company. There was a time when everyone believed Marxism was a failure, an idea relegated to the ash heap of history. There was a time when class warfare occurred in other places far away, but Americans believed in opportunity, not sponging from others.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:50 pm
Tue November 5, 2013

Stephen Gottlieb: Casinos And The Board Of Elections

 When this is aired, I will be in Washington, D. C., where my students and I went to the U.S. Supreme Court to hear cases argued that we have been studying. Since it is also election day, I had to fill out an absentee ballot. On the ballot, the casino proposition leads the group of ballot propositions. Governor Cuomo had “submitted a concurrent resolution to the State Legislature to amend article I, § 9 of the State Constitution to allow for ‘casino gambling regulated by the state.’”(1)  
Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:50 pm
Tue November 5, 2013

Paul Elisha: Technology And Equality

As a nation organized by émigrés stirred by selfish design or desperation, should one expect out-comes according to what originally impelled them?  Hardly—and yet, much of what our visionary antecedents desired came to pass, despite selfish side-steps and stubborn reluctance, by single-minded saboteurs.  But when such hindrance becomes the stock-in-trade of those invested with responsible representation, just to gain political or financial profit or mere personal satisfaction --- honorable defenders must mount forceful opposition.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:52 pm
Mon November 4, 2013

Blair Horner: A Voters’ Guide To The NY Ballot Questions

This Election Day voters will have an opportunity to amend the New York State constitution.  When you get to the polling place, in addition to voting for candidates, you will have the opportunity to vote on six proposed changes to the state constitution.  If you want to get the text of the actual amendments, you can access the language by going to the state Board of Elections website at www.elections.ny.gov.

Read more
Weather
12:25 pm
Mon November 4, 2013

Meteorologist Paul Caiano's Midday Forecast

Paul Caiano
Credit WNYT

It was a chilly weekend and it appears that the cooler weather will be with us for a while.  How long? Newschannel 13 meteorologist Paul Caiano sheds some light on this question. 

Commentary & Opinion
11:17 am
Mon November 4, 2013

Essay: Superstorm Sandy, One Year Later

It’s weird to say that it has been a year since Superstorm Sandy hit. It doesn’t feel like it has been a year. Twelve months have indeed gone by, but the memory is still fresh.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:43 pm
Sun November 3, 2013

David Nightingale: October/November

October transitions into November, and not all the leaves down yet. Some still hang, brown and a tinge of orange, waiting for real heavy gusts to decide for them, once and for all, and sweep them to their colleagues, to join the beige sacking that now covers our part of the earth.                  

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:50 pm
Fri November 1, 2013

Michael Meeropol: On Medicaid And The Affordable Care Act

Today I want to talk about the Affordable Care Act, a.k.a. Obamacare.   No, I am not interested in talking about the computer glitches in the federal exchanges sign up web site.  Instead, I want to focus on the major success in the ACA and a strong effort to sabotage that success.  I am referring to the expansion of Medicaid.

Read more

Pages