Commentary & Opinion

Commentary & Opinion
3:52 pm
Wed September 11, 2013

Keith Studler: Tokyo's Olympic Selection

Everything is relative, I suppose. So if a city has suffered five recessions in the past 15 years, a devastating earthquake and a nuclear emergency, it can still somehow be considered the safe choice. That’s Tokyo, and it was oddly the benign selection to host the 2020 Summer Olympic Games, chosen over the comparatively risky Madrid and Istanbul, or Constantinople, for all you They Might Be Giants Fans. Madrid has an unemployment rate approaching 25% and a long legacy of doping by top athletes. And Istanbul offers civil unrest and an unfortunate neighbor in Syria.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:50 pm
Tue September 10, 2013

Stephen Gottlieb: War And The Separation Of Powers

In 1950 Harry Truman sent troops to Korea without consulting Congress. Republican criticism did not withstand American hostility to Communism and American nostalgia for give ‘em hell Harry. It became a precedent.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:45 pm
Tue September 10, 2013

Paul Elisha: Robotics Sans Empathy = Regression

A most recent episode of the long-running and vaunted TV program , “60-Minutes,” entered the descriptive realm of ‘Historic’ in its highly documented interview with a respected physician-turned-research engineer, who shared the profound announcement that he and his colleagues have initiated the revolutionary and computerized era of ‘Robotics.’

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:52 pm
Mon September 9, 2013

Blair Horner: Comparing States

Earlier this summer, two states – Texas and Florida – ran radio commercials touting those states’ business climates in an effort to convince New York companies to move their operations.  The focus of the ads was that those states were more business friendly with lower taxes and less regulation.  Thus, the ads argued, Texas and Florida were the places to do business.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:45 pm
Sun September 8, 2013

Essay: Moving the Nest

Babies are game-changers. When you have one, your home is no longer a crash pad. It’s a nest. When I delivered my first child seven months ago, I was living in a smallish two-bedroom apartment in Queens. In the months leading up to my daughter’s birth, we spent days meticulously acquiring and setting up baby gear. We decorated, baby-proofed and organized. I spent hours researching new parent groups, parent-baby classes, the best neighborhood parks and baby-friendly restaurants in our neighborhood.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:45 pm
Fri September 6, 2013

Andrew Coates: For The Health Of Each And All

We physicians earn a place in society that yields great scientific and human insight, the impact of illness upon individual lives. Yet we are encouraged by forces inside and outside our profession to look away from the big picture.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:50 pm
Thu September 5, 2013

Bob Goepfert Reviews "Big Maggie"

For some reason you are supposed to warn people about plays that do not have loveable central characters.   The same is true for plays that make you feel and think.  Too, people feel they should be cautioned about plays that force them to understand life is complicated.  

“Big Maggie” playing at Albany Civic Theater is all of the above.  Nonetheless it is a brilliantly executed piece of theater that proves depreciating the taste level of audiences is humbug.  This is a production that deserves an audience.  

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:50 pm
Wed September 4, 2013

Keith Strudler: NFL Concussion Settlement

By almost any reasonable regard, $765 million is a lot of money. It’s the kind of number that would make Powerball ticket sales so crazy you couldn’t leave a 7-11 in under an hour. It’s the working budget of some decent sized companies, and almost enough to fund a presidential run.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:50 pm
Wed September 4, 2013

Herbert London: Thinking About Syria

Among baseball’s general managers it is often said that “the best trade is the one that was never made.” Although it is an obvious stretch to international affairs, it might also be said that the best government action is the one that isn’t taken.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:50 pm
Tue September 3, 2013

Paul Elisha: Unions And The Future

At this depressing juncture of America’s ongoing history, if for whatever uncharitable reason, someone might want to provide an even more troubling vexation to dwell upon, the charge that ours is an anti-Organized Labor chronicle would turn out to be a truly fruitless choice.  A short stint of diligent digging by this commentator has turned up some interesting rebuttals.

Read more

Pages