Commentary & Opinion

Commentary & Opinion
12:00 pm
Sat July 13, 2013

Bob Goepfert - “Anything Goes” at Proctors Theatre

Credit Instagram/Sarah LaDuke

It is hard to think of any musical with a better score than “Anything Goes.” It’s just as difficult to think of a cast who might perform those numbers better than those in the national tour playing at Proctors through Sunday.

This revival, which originated at Roundabout Theatre in New York City, is a happy musical that entertains and delights with great Cole Porter masterpieces. It opens with “I Get a Kick Out Of You” and follows with classics like “Easy to Love,” “Friendship,” “It’s De-Lovely” and “All Through the Night.”

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:47 pm
Fri July 12, 2013

Michael Meeropol: This Economist Is Now Just A Citizen Concerned About The Right To Vote

Today I want to talk about the Supreme Court’s recent decision eviscerating the Voting Rights Act of 1965.  

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:32 pm
Fri July 12, 2013

Andrew Coates: How Human Resilience Reveals An Unnecessarily Cruel System

Recently one of my patients, someone in a very frail state, insisted upon discharge the next day, over my objections. The patient's spouse was facing cancer and now was the time to be at home, not in the hospital.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:38 pm
Thu July 11, 2013

Sean Philpott: In Sickness and In Health

Just two weeks ago, the US Supreme Court struck down the Defense of Marriage Act, which barred federal recognition of same-sex marriages even if they took place in one of the 13 states or in the federal district where such weddings are legal. In a 5–4 decision, the Court ruled that key sections of the Act were unconstitutional because they deprived same-sex couples of liberties protected by the Fifth Amendment.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:47 pm
Wed July 10, 2013

Keith Strudler: MLB All Star Game

I’ll admit something I probably shouldn’t. I haven’t watched a baseball game start to finish all season. That won’t change until I actually go to a Mets game in a couple of weeks, and then it’s because I don’t really have a choice. Although I could just stand in the Shake Shack line for a few innings.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
1:07 pm
Wed July 10, 2013

Herbert Wolff Reviews Animal Crackers

Let’s see if I have the chronology right.  About 100 years ago, five brothers formed a vaudeville act.  Their names were Leonard, Adolph, Julius, Herbert and Milton.  Their stage names were Chico, Harpo, Groucho, Zeppo and Gummo.  The family name was Marx.  Their vaudeville schtick was on-stage outrageous behavior, off-hand wisecracks, and occasional music interludes.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:41 pm
Wed July 10, 2013

Herbert London: Egypt About To Face Reality

The skies over Cairo were filled with celebratory fireworks as Egypt’s military officers removed president Mohammed Morsi, suspended the Islamic Constitution and installed an interim government presided over by a senior jurist. But these fireworks could be succeeded by a series of new fireworks that are distant from celebration.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:46 pm
Tue July 9, 2013

Stephen Gottlieb: Intransigence – The Auto-Immune Disease Of Democracy

Obviously I’ve been following the news from Egypt like everyone else. You don’t need commentators to tell you that ousting a democratically elected government is undemocratic and unacceptable. But I want to talk about Morsi’s mistakes because they illustrate a major misunderstanding of democracy.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:40 pm
Tue July 9, 2013

Paul Elisha: The American Dream

In his “History of the Decline and Fall of The Roman Empire,” Edward Gibbon wrote: “All that is human must retrograde if it does not advance.”  More to the point of American history, the Irish philosopher, George Berkley (in 1752) paraphrased John Quincy Adams’ note: “Westward the course of empire takes its way,” thus: “The first four acts already past, a fifth shall close the drama with the day:  time’s noblest offspring is the last.”

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:50 pm
Mon July 8, 2013

Blair Horner: The Nation Gets Graded On Its Patient Pain Control Polices

Early last month a report graded each of the 50 states’ policies on how well they controlled patients’ pain.  The report showed that much progress had been made over the last decade in implementing balanced policies that increase access to effective pain medications and establish a system to mitigate drug abuse.  However, much more needs to be done.

Read more

Pages