Commentary & Opinion

Commentary & Opinion
3:52 pm
Tue November 4, 2014

Stephen Gottlieb: Management And Politics

Whenever something goes wrong, politicians demand someone get fired. If the Democrats are in charge the Republicans demand someone get fired and vice versa. There’s an Ebola outbreak in Africa and one person treated in a Texas hospital died, so fire the head of the national Center for Disease Control in Atlanta![1] Ambassador Stevens was killed in Benghazi so it must have been Clinton’s fault.[2] It’s easy to strike a pose of moral outrage, blame and action – fire so and so; it was on her watch. But then what?

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:52 pm
Tue November 4, 2014

Paul Elisha: Shared Destiny

In the year 1900, in what this pundit believes to be one of the most cogent and powerful essays, Theodore Roosevelt claimed that no one is justified in doing evil for reasons of expedience.  Alas, in little more than a century later, expedience is fueling a return to the most vicious and inhumane practices of this self-proclaimed ‘democratic republic’s’ self-scarred history, in a succession of prejudicial efforts, to deny African-Americans and others of similar color, access to the civil rights ostensibly enjoyed by everyone else.  Conservative Republican officials and others of their ilk, at every level of government, from local through county, state and federal, are eagerly involved in this hateful denial, made even more detestable by their own outspoken claims of innocent ignorance.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:52 pm
Mon November 3, 2014

Blair Horner: The Growing Dangers Of Climate Change


As the brutal election season wraps up, the nation – and the world – received another dire warning of the growing dangers of global warming.  While the issue has been almost non-existent in the nation’s political debates, there is no doubt that it is the most important issue facing the world.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:50 pm
Sun November 2, 2014

David Nightingale: Schrodinger's “Cat”

The Vienna-born Erwin Schrodinger had sent papers on many topics from the trenches during his sevice as an artillery officer in WW1 – as mentioned in my essay of 2 weeks ago. By the mid-1920s he had been an important contributor to the new and revolutionary world of the quantum – along with Einstein and others.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:50 pm
Fri October 31, 2014

Rogovoy Report for October 31, 2014

This weekend’s cultural highlights include a political drama, an unusual art installation, a music documentary, an orchestral concert, an African-American dance performance, and a spooky, Halloween-themed play.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
10:23 am
Fri October 31, 2014

We're Knights Of The Roundtable

One of the best things on WAMC is the first hour of The Roundtable, every weekday morning between nine and ten.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:50 pm
Thu October 30, 2014

Karen Hitchcock: Big-Time College Sports - Does our Current Student-Athlete Model Work?

 Just last week, an eight month- long investigation of academic fraud involving student- athletes at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, one of our nation’s most prestigious public universities, was released. This investigation, led by Kenneth L. Wainstein, a longtime official at the U.S. Justice Department, revealed a well-orchestrated, long-standing and widespread corruption of the academic program at Chapel Hill. In brief, the Wainstein Report described a “shadow curriculum” that had been developed by  the departmental manager and the chair of the African and Afro-American Studies department to ensure the academic success of “at risk” student – athletes.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:52 pm
Wed October 29, 2014

Herbert London: Negotiating With Iran

It is something of an old saw to contend that if a woman says “no,” she means “maybe.” If she says “maybe” she means “yes,” but if she says “yes” she is not a “lady.” Similarly if a man says “yes,” he means “maybe,” if he says “maybe” he means “no,” but if says “no,” he could not possibly be a negotiator in Vienna for the Obama administration.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:54 pm
Tue October 28, 2014

Stephen Gottlieb: Guns Versus PR In Palestine

Whenever I speak about Israel and Palestine, I get angry and anguished letters from both sides. I understand. The world is going to heck in so many ways – growing population, destroying our environment, killing each other – why not have a few dreams about the good life in the Middle East. Dreams are much more fun than reality. Only a few have the strength to look with clear eyes and at both sides.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:52 pm
Tue October 28, 2014

Rabbi Dan Ornstein: The Mosquito

I hate mosquitoes, having endured my share of sleepless nights itching from their bites and being startled by the maddening drone of their speeding wings.  I reserve my greatest antipathy for those giant mosquitoes that sport long, ugly legs and tubular bodies.  I am not fooled by the seeming frailty of their translucent wings, which move three hundred to six hundred times per second.  They lift and land their owners with the impunity of a rogue pilot, treating every surface of the world like an open runway and the surface of skin like the unlocked door of an unguarded blood bank.

Read more

Pages