Commentary & Opinion

Commentary & Opinion
1:22 pm
Mon June 24, 2013

Rob Edelman: Mixing Special Effects and Intelligence

MAN OF STEEL, the just-released action film which brings to the fore the beloved superhero known as Superman, is yet another special effects-laden extravaganza spotlighting slam-bang good guy-bad guy encounters. If this is to your liking, you probably will relish MAN OF STEEL. But if you are looking for some narrative cohesion and intelligence amid all the mayhem, MAN OF STEEL surely will disappoint.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:40 pm
Fri June 21, 2013

Audrey Kupferberg: Oz The Great And Powerful On DVD

OZ THE GREAT AND POWERFUL, Disney’s recent rendering of the classic OZ stories, is in some ways predictable and in other ways, not.  On June 11, this title was released on DVD and BluRay.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
4:09 pm
Wed June 19, 2013

Keith Strudler: Poor Officiating Hurt Spurs

I suppose it’s low hanging fruit to write a column criticizing NBA refs. That’s like criticizing the IRS or the DMV. Calling an NBA game correctly is as easy as catching a Cheetah with a bicycle; it’s just not possible. Not with the unbridled speed and athleticism— all inconceivable when the game was created. Today’s professional basketball is lightning fast, fiercely physical, and hard to assess in slow motion, much less full speed. So, just getting most calls right is a herculean task. It’s like keeping most of the kindergarten class quiet during story time.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:42 pm
Wed June 19, 2013

Herbert London: The Lack Of Seriousness

Have we reached a stage in our national development where seriousness on almost any subject is impossible? Examples abound.

Edward Snowden, who leaked National Security Agency surveillance projects to the British Guardian, said, “I can’t in good conscience allow the U.S. government to destroy privacy, Internet freedom and basic liberties for people around the world with this massive surveillance machine they’re secretly building.” And he noted, “the public should decide, not the government.”

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:49 pm
Tue June 18, 2013

Stephen Gottlieb: The Earth Has Its Own Ways Of Cooling Down

Let me begin by congratulating the station on a successful fund drive. These guys are terrific, the work they do is important.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:50 pm
Tue June 18, 2013

Paul Elisha: In The Ongoing American Saga, We All Have A Part To Play!

Back around 1934 or 1935, when this ancient veteran was in his early teens, my perennial friend and I would saunter the streets of our neighborhood, chanting the latest in ‘smart-aleck’ sayings: “I’m a peaceful guy and I’ll kill the first person who doesn’t believe me!”

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:30 pm
Mon June 17, 2013

Blair Horner: A Big Gift For Big Tobacco?

This week is the scheduled end of the legislative session.  Often the end of session is a time when special interest legislation surfaces – it looks like this year is no exception.

Lawmakers are considering legislation that would give a gift to the tobacco industry.  Under the proposal, tobacco companies – and only tobacco companies, no other types of businesses – would not have to post a bond that is the equivalent of the judgment against them in court. 

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:45 pm
Mon June 17, 2013

Rob Edelman: No “Fun” Here

I have in my hands a DVD of FUN SIZE, a PG-13-rated comedy aimed at the younger demographic that is presented by Nickelodeon Movies, an offshoot of the Nickelodeon cable television network, which produces programming for a teen and pre-teen audience.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:53 pm
Sun June 16, 2013

Michael Meeropol: Opposing The Keystone XL Pipeline Same As Imposing A Tax on Oil From Tar-Sands

Members of my family live in New York’s 18th  Congressional District.  Previously, I have criticized the former representative from this district, Republican Nan Hayworth.  Today I want to strongly criticize the Democrat who beat her, Sean Patrick Maloney.  Recently, he voted in support of building the last section of the Keystone Pipeline – a terrible vote in my opinion.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:50 pm
Fri June 14, 2013

Andrew Coates: Celebrating Our Nurse Colleagues

I practice hospital medicine.

Recently the nurses at our hospital voted to give me an award. They told me about it, discreetly, one by one, ahead of the official notice from the administration. These caregiving colleagues, upon whom our patients in the hospital depend every day, took the time to let me know that they also depend upon me. Wow. A true honor.

Read more

Pages