Commentary & Opinion

Commentary & Opinion
12:45 pm
Mon June 17, 2013

Rob Edelman: No “Fun” Here

I have in my hands a DVD of FUN SIZE, a PG-13-rated comedy aimed at the younger demographic that is presented by Nickelodeon Movies, an offshoot of the Nickelodeon cable television network, which produces programming for a teen and pre-teen audience.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:53 pm
Sun June 16, 2013

Michael Meeropol: Opposing The Keystone XL Pipeline Same As Imposing A Tax on Oil From Tar-Sands

Members of my family live in New York’s 18th  Congressional District.  Previously, I have criticized the former representative from this district, Republican Nan Hayworth.  Today I want to strongly criticize the Democrat who beat her, Sean Patrick Maloney.  Recently, he voted in support of building the last section of the Keystone Pipeline – a terrible vote in my opinion.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:50 pm
Fri June 14, 2013

Andrew Coates: Celebrating Our Nurse Colleagues

I practice hospital medicine.

Recently the nurses at our hospital voted to give me an award. They told me about it, discreetly, one by one, ahead of the official notice from the administration. These caregiving colleagues, upon whom our patients in the hospital depend every day, took the time to let me know that they also depend upon me. Wow. A true honor.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:50 pm
Thu June 13, 2013

Richard Iannuzzi: If You Can’t Lend A Hand…

I've heard it said that if a single person raises an issue, one should listen politely.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:52 pm
Thu June 13, 2013

Keith Strudler: Lebron Vs. History

In the period of the next several days, the history of basketball may or may not be rewritten. At stake is far more than the next NBA Title, which will go to either the San Antonio Spurs or the Miami Heat. The Spurs hold a 2-1 game lead in the best of seven series and could potentially defeat the favored Heat team before ever having to return to Miami for Games 6 and 7. Or, Miami could rebound and overwhelm the Spurs with superior talent and up-tempo play, taking their second consecutive title and laying the groundwork as the league’s most current dynasty. With that comes the historical directive of one superstar LeBron James, the most dominant player in the league.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:20 pm
Wed June 12, 2013

Herbert London: Inventing Rights And The Enforcement Mechanism That Goes Along With Them

Washington is the home for rights promoters. Fads of the moment translate into rights with legal justification and a regulatory apparatus attached to them. This is the manner in which government expands without limit. Illustrations abound.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:20 pm
Tue June 11, 2013

Paul Elisha: Beware The American Military Monopoly

As a rising tide of irritation roiled what should have been an energetic second-wind, for gaining new fruit to enrich the electoral edge that OBamians have been thirsting for, this aging veteran was stunned to hear but a single voice raised to protest the temerity of military mischief-in-the-making… and that voice of a Republican rebel, at that.  To this ‘pro forma’ civil libertarian, we seem to be on the razor’s edge of a power move, by certain commanders of our various armed forces, toward an American ‘military monopoly.’

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:20 pm
Mon June 10, 2013

Rob Edelman: Inspiration

Most movies come and go. They open theatrically, earn their box office bucks and, these days, end up in DVD obscurity. Few are truly memorable. Few are, to quote Humphrey Bogart in THE MALTESE FALCON, “the stuff that dreams are made of.”

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:36 pm
Fri June 7, 2013

Karen Hitchcock: Investing In The Future

In 1972, The United Negro College Fund, now known as the U.N.C.F., adopted what was to become one of the most widely recognized slogans in the country.  That still well-known slogan was : “A Mind is a Terrible Thing to Waste.”  And now, this statement is being expanded upon in an effort to focus on the return people who donate to the fund can expect … to focus on such donations as investments in our country’s future.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:10 pm
Wed June 5, 2013

Herb London: Denial and The Obama Presidency

In 1967 Joey Bishop, the celebrated comedian and honorary member of Sinatra’s Rat Pack, starred in a film entitled “A Guide for the Married Man.” Although this is hardly a distinguished movie, one scene was worth the price of admission.

Read more

Pages