Commentary & Opinion

Commentary & Opinion
12:38 pm
Wed May 1, 2013

Herbert London: Egypt, Syria & Israel

Independence Day marked a major event in Israel’s history: A 65th Anniversary, a day of pomp, ceremony and remembrance. But it is also a day to take stock of Israel’s strategic position in the Middle East. Despite the relative calm, there are storm clouds on the horizon.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:24 pm
Tue April 30, 2013

Stephen Gottlieb: A 28th Amendment

I got into a discussion about a proposed 28th Amendment to our Constitution a few days ago. Turns out there's more than one proposal calling itself the 28th Amendment. I'm talking about the one that begins, "The rights protected by the Constitution of the United States are the rights of natural persons only." There may be similar ones. There certainly are some calling themselves the 28th Amendment that address very different subjects and are totally misinformed. But the restriction of constitutional rights to natural persons is worth talking about.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
11:41 am
Tue April 30, 2013

Paul Elisha: The Unaffordable Loss

Two days ago, this ninety-year-old and extremely unhappy American combat veteran discovered the one irreplaceable loss, he and thousands of fellow sufferers tragically could not afford.  For me, the catalyst was a simple yet vitally necessary pair of shoes.  Having problem feet created my necessity.  Creating the shoes is the proud tradition of the SAS Shoe Makers, of San Antonio, Texas.  Actually, they were organized on the Siesta Valley Ranch, outside of San Antonio, inspired by a time when pride in craftsmanship was the vital asset that fuelled the human condition.  That craftsmanship (

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:48 pm
Mon April 29, 2013

Blair Horner: Sequester Cuts Begin To Bite

Americans are starting to feel the bite of the federal sequestration.  Sequestration is the term referring to the automatic, across-the-board budget cuts in the federal government’s domestic and military budgets.  Sequestration went into effect last month when Congress was unable to agree on an alternative.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:36 pm
Mon April 29, 2013

Rob Edelman: Seniors On Screen

Films like AMOUR, QUARTET, and THE BEST EXOTIC MARIGOLD HOTEL, all released last year, examine the lives and dilemmas of senior citizens. All were high-profile, but they are not the only current films whose characters are coping with old age.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:40 pm
Fri April 26, 2013

Andrew Coates: A Near Miss

Many years back during my residency training, on my first overnight as the senior admitting resident, I got a call from an emergency physician at a tiny rural hospital. Her patient had pulmonary emboli -- blood clots to arteries of the lungs. She proposed to transfer the patient to our hospital, where closer monitoring would be available.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:36 pm
Thu April 25, 2013

Karen Hitchcock: The Minerva Project -Ben Nelson’s Vision for Higher Education

Ben Nelson, former CEO of Snapfish, an online photo service, is determined to stand higher education – at least part of it - on its head.  His goal is a simple one: provide large numbers of intellectually-gifted students with an education which will challenge them and prepare them to be the “thought leaders” of tomorrow.  The approach Mr. Nelson has laid out to do this “breaks the rules” in many ways, and has been variously described as daring and innovative by some, and ineffective, reckless  and over-reaching by others.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:37 pm
Wed April 24, 2013

Keith Strudler: NFL Anti-Discrimination Policy

Kicker Alan Gendreau is hoping to make an NFL roster this year. That’s true for a lot of people right now, with the pro football draft coming Thursday followed by weeks of free agent signings and trades and mini-camps and all the things teams go through to cut down to their game day rosters. Since Gendreau is a kicker, and he sat out last year after finishing his career at Middle Tennessee State, it’s not likely you’ll hear his name on ESPN’s live draft broadcast, even in the late rounds when all but the truest diehards have switched over to The Voice or something. Picking a kicker in the NFL draft is like ordering a diet coke at Serendipity. Just not entirely satisfying.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:33 pm
Wed April 24, 2013

Herbert London: Terrorism We Encourage?

The two Boston bombers were born in Dagestan and despite their alleged grievance over the treatment of Chechens, never lived there. For law enforcement officials and counter-terror experts this radical view that inspired their heinous act is a conundrum. Even President Obama asked plaintively, “Why did young men who grew up and studied here, as part of our communities and our country resort to such violence?”

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:33 pm
Tue April 23, 2013

Stephen Gottlieb: Responding To Tragedy

Shortly after I walked out of the studio last week having recorded a piece on taxes, the news started to bristle with reports of the two bombs that exploded near the finish line of the Boston Marathon. Part of me wanted to rush back in and record something different. I’d lived a few blocks away, have many friends in Boston, shuddered for the people killed and injured, and shared the reaction that this looked like an attack on our country, on all of us. I was speechless.

Read more

Pages