Commentary & Opinion

Commentary & Opinion
3:52 pm
Mon March 2, 2015

Blair Horner: Albany Goes Dark


Two years ago, Governor Cuomo unveiled a new government portal called “open.ny.gov.”  At that time the governor proclaimed, “"This new website will dramatically increase public access to one of our most valuable assets - data. As it expands and evolves over time, open.ny.gov will spark innovation, improve efficiency, promote accountability, and bring the people back into government."

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:53 pm
Sun March 1, 2015

Listener Essay by Bobby Caruso

Public speaking is continuously ranked as America’s top fear – even over death. But what if no matter how hard you tried, fluent speech wasn’t an option? Approximately 4 million Americans have a stutter. In today’s listener essay, we hear from Western New England University student Bobby Caruso, who is among the one percent of the population with a stutter.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:54 pm
Sat February 28, 2015

Rabbi Dan Ornstein: Frozen Poetry

Throughout my neighborhood, the icicles hang down from the eaves of the roofs like colonies of bats clustered along the walls of caves.  Emerging from the heavy cover of melting and re-freezing snow, each icicle begins as gently dripping water which never quite makes it to its destined place on the earth, even under the spell of gravity. The drops congeal and are frozen in the grip of arctic temperatures which transform them into mute winter sculptures. 

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:18 pm
Sat February 28, 2015

Bill Owens: Those Oil Cars

I was traveling through Albany the other day and passed over the railroad tracks in downtown Albany, and as I did so, below me was an endless stream of oil tank cars.  I couldn’t tell if they were the famous DT111s, or the “safer 1232s.”  The recent accidents in Mount Carbon West Virginia and a remote area north of Timmons, Ontario, both resulted in substantial derailments and oil spills.  If you are stopped at any railroad crossing in northern New York, you will see endless streams of oil tank cars, as I observed in Albany. 

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:50 pm
Fri February 27, 2015

Rogovoy Report for February 27, 2015

A string quartet, street dance, an exhibit of early modernism, boogie-blues, Jewish world-beat jazz, an alternative circus, Southern bluesy folk-rock, and an original work of multimedia performance art are just a few highlights of our cultural weekend in the greater region.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
1:15 pm
Thu February 26, 2015

One For The Books

Here we are, just a few short weeks after the historic WAMC fund drive. Between the locked box that raised half of the money before the on-air drive started and three and a half days of actual fund drive, we ended up with a million dollars in the bank.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:52 pm
Thu February 26, 2015

Sean Philpott-Jones: When Doctors Discriminate

Most of you have probably never heard of Jami and Krista Contreras, a Michigan couple and the proud parents of six-month-old girl named Bay. Shortly after Bay was born, the Contrerases began interviewing pediatricians, looking for one who practiced holistic medicine.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:52 pm
Wed February 25, 2015

Herbert London: Rewriting The National Prayer Breakfast Speech

Anyone who has seen the shocking video of a Jordanian pilot being immolated, understands the savagery in the Islamic State (IS). President Obama’s National Prayer Breakfast speech on February 5 responded with nonjudgmental relativism to this act and other recent horrific events, “remember that during the Crusades and the Inquisition people committed terrible deeds in the name of Christ.” It doesn’t seem as if he does understand.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:20 pm
Wed February 25, 2015

Bill Owens: A DHS Shutdown

The recent threat to shut down the Department of Homeland Security for those of us in the North Country, given our proximity to the US/Canadian border and our dependence upon it, is truly troubling.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:52 pm
Tue February 24, 2015

Stephen Gottlieb: World-Wide Radiance Of The American Melting Pot

 In this world the grossest of inhumanity is euphemistically described as ethnic cleansing. The mutli-directional genocide of the old Yugoslavia has become routine. Boko Haram takes aim at education and at religious difference in Africa, targeting connections with America and the west. The Islamic State and al-Qaeda in the Middle East, with tentacles into much of the Muslim world, target whoever doesn’t belong and subscribe to their version of Islam or dare question their authority, They have targeted America, England, Spain, France Norway and counting. It is terrifying how quickly decent peace-loving communities have been dismembered and destroyed.

Read more

Pages