Commentary & Opinion

Commentary & Opinion
3:52 pm
Mon February 16, 2015

Blair Horner: Grading The Governor's Proposed Higher Education Budget


Like many areas of the governor’s proposed $141 billion-plus state budget, his higher education plans include items that help and others that hurt.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:45 pm
Fri February 13, 2015

Rogovoy Report for February 13, 2015

This week’s highlights including a new play festival, a multimedia performance, an indie-rock singer-songwriter, Bach remixed with jazz, West African kora music, and a tribute to Miles Davis.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:52 pm
Thu February 12, 2015

David Nightingale: E.O.Wilson (1929 - )

Evolutionary biology is an enormous subject and I have no training in it. But to read from whence we came is of widespread interest. We may read from Darwin, or Stephen Jay Gould, or Wallace, or Dawkins, or even my old high school friend W.D.Hamilton, but this brief essay looks at the evolutionary biologist E.O.Wilson. Because of time constraints it will of course not do him justice.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:52 pm
Thu February 12, 2015

Sean Philpott-Jones: How to Die in Canada

Last week, our neighbors to the north took a huge step towards legalizing physician aid-in-dying. On Friday, the Supreme Court of Canada unanimously struck down that country's ban on the practice, suspending two sections of the Criminal Code that outlawed assisted suicide and euthanasia, and ordering the Canadian Parliament and the various provincial legislatures to draft new legislation that would allow physician aid-in-dying.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:52 pm
Wed February 11, 2015

Herbert London: Hezbollah And Its Quandary

Operating out of Lebanon, Hezbollah is a terrorist organization that pulls the strings in this nation north of Israel. It has influence in the army, in the parliament and even on the streets of major cities. It has this influence because President Assad of Syria offers financial and military support and Iran is the ultimate broker controlling Assad’s fragile government and exporting the missiles Hezbollah has stockpiled.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:50 pm
Tue February 10, 2015

Stephen Gottlieb: Speaking Across The Aisle About The Killing Of Babies

I’d like to speak across the aisle. We have values in common even though we sometimes draw different conclusions. My point is simple. We are all against killing babies, their brothers, sisters, mothers and fathers. A religious revival in this country has focused on one form of what many consider baby-killing. There are, however, other ways of killing babies in unspeakable numbers.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:52 pm
Tue February 10, 2015

Karen Magee: Calling Governor "Out Of Touch"

Governor Cuomo has made it clear: He doesn’t respect teachers or public education.  He doesn’t understand the stress placed on students by high-stakes tests.  Nor does he seem to have any use for parents’ voice, or the democratic way that communities build their local school budgets.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:52 pm
Mon February 9, 2015

Blair Horner: Ethics Reform Redux


In the old “Peanuts” cartoon, Lucy holds the football for Charlie Brown and assures him that this time she really means it, she will hold the football and not pull it away.  So he should charge and kick the football.  And every year – despite having previously seen her pull the ball away at the last minute – Charlie believes her.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:52 pm
Fri February 6, 2015

Michael Meeropol: What The Candidates Have To Say About President Obama's 2016 Tax Proposals

Today I want to talk about some of the tax changes proposed in the 2016 budget just submitted by President Obama.   It would be a great public service if we could get the predicted presidential candidates to respond to some of the specific elements of his proposals.   I wish that those interested in running for the Democratic nomination would be forced to explain which of these proposals she or he supports and which he or she doesn’t support and – most importantly – why?    The Republicans probably have it easier because they can just complain about how many billions (or trillions) of dollars of tax increases are in that proposal and leave it at that.  In fact that is just what they did when the budget was first released.  However, but even given the Republican mantra against any tax increases, it would be great to force them to get more specific about their objections.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:50 pm
Fri February 6, 2015

Rogovoy Report for February 6, 2015

This weekend our region features choral legends from South Africa; the man largely credited with launching the alt-country movement; coffee inspired artworks; funk, blues, and bluegrass; small works of art and big works of classical music performed a major orchestra.

Read more

Pages