Commentary & Opinion

Commentary & Opinion
11:13 am
Wed March 27, 2013

Herbert London: Taxing Bank Depositors In Cyprus

Legislators in the tax-haven island of Cyprus have rejected the draconian bank deposit tax defying German leader Angela Merkel. While the protestors danced in the street after the vote, this could be a pyrric victory. President Putin threatened to withdraw a $3.2 billion loan if the Merkel proposal were embraced, a condition that might have influenced the final tally.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:30 pm
Tue March 26, 2013

Stephen Gottlieb: The Gay Marriage Cases

Sunday night, my wife and I attended a Persian Nowruz or New Year’s festival, with many friends. We celebrated the best and happiest of the traditions they had left behind, along with other Americans who had come to take part. While celebrating the rebirth of Spring, we were also celebrating freedom with friends who had become refugees, whose humanity and efforts to use their skills to help others had become unwelcome to Iranian authorities. 

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:57 pm
Tue March 26, 2013

Paul Elisha: Judeo-Christian Ambiguities, Beliefs and Choices

As the various disparate observances approach, which, by some series of absurdities has become a misnomer, now  known as Judeo-Christian kinship, this commentator’s memory harks back to his childhood and the question he yearned to ask his biblically astute Grandfather but never dared: “Why is it that at the end of the Passover Seder, at the final ‘Amen,’ does everyone fervently respond: “Next year in Jerusalem!”?

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:34 pm
Mon March 25, 2013

Blair Horner: Obamacare's Third Birthday

This past weekend marked the third anniversary of passage of the Affordable Care Act, also known as “Obamacare.”  This is the ACA’s big year; this Fall Americans will be allowed to start enrolling in health insurance plans.  Starting on January 1, 2014, virtually all Americans will be required to have health insurance – either from the government, their employer, or through a health exchange.  Yet, even at this late date, many Americans are still unsure of its impact.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:35 pm
Mon March 25, 2013

Rob Edelman: Panahi

A SEPARATION was one of the top films of 2011. In fact, it deservedly earned the Best Foreign Film Academy Award. I mention it now because its country of origin is Iran and, over a year ago, prior to the Oscar ceremony, I put forth a question: Should the current, seemingly endless hullaballoo surrounding Iran in any way impact on one’s view of this film-- or, if you are an Oscar voter, impact on your decision to vote or not vote for A SEPARATION?

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:20 pm
Mon March 25, 2013

Liz Benjamin: The Big Ugly

Governor Cuomo's supposedly no drama budget is coming to a rather dramatic end.

The Senate held a rare weekend session – on Palm Sunday, no less – to pass a limited number of budget bills, while the Assembly, citing the Passover holiday that starts at sundown tonight, refused to return to Albany until Thursday.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:45 pm
Fri March 22, 2013

Andrew Coates: That's what you get when you kick the can down the road

"Kicking the can down the road" is an idiom that means to defer something crucial in hopes that the problem will become someone else's responsibility. The other day it occurred to me that "kicking the can down the road" has become a trademark of contemporary governments worldwide -- from the European debt crisis, to the so-called sequester, to the decision to defer changing the tax on New York's wealthy until a non-election year.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:46 pm
Thu March 21, 2013

Sean Philpott: Fighting the Invincible Foe

Unbeknownst to most, mankind is at war with an invincible foe. Their numbers are legion and few if any of the weapons we have in our arsenal can stop them. I'm not talking about the rampaging zombie hordes shown on The Walking Dead or in trailers for the upcoming movie World War Z. Rather, I'm talking about antibiotic resistant bacteria.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:23 pm
Wed March 20, 2013

Keith Strudler: NCAA Tournament Picks

Yesterday was a two hour delay in our school district. That’s mainly because we’ve already used up all our snow days, so cancelling the whole day would have cut into spring break, and no one wants that. So in our two hours of free time, my five year old son and I did what most families did, I’m sure. We filled out NCAA tournament brackets. I did mine, and Sloan did his. If Sloan wins, he doesn’t have to put his clothes away for a week. If I win, well, there’s nothing on the table, but I’ll probably feel less guilty when I eat half his Halloween candy next year.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:58 pm
Wed March 20, 2013

Herbert London: Starting Over

Dr. Herbert London

The baseball gods regard spring training as a time of renewal. There aren’t any losses. All teams have the same record and players abound in hope for the future. Young pitchers are promising and Las Vegas odds are meaningless. Baseball heaven has angels dancing over the outfield.

Read more

Pages