Commentary & Opinion

Commentary & Opinion
12:46 pm
Thu March 21, 2013

Sean Philpott: Fighting the Invincible Foe

Unbeknownst to most, mankind is at war with an invincible foe. Their numbers are legion and few if any of the weapons we have in our arsenal can stop them. I'm not talking about the rampaging zombie hordes shown on The Walking Dead or in trailers for the upcoming movie World War Z. Rather, I'm talking about antibiotic resistant bacteria.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:23 pm
Wed March 20, 2013

Keith Strudler: NCAA Tournament Picks

Yesterday was a two hour delay in our school district. That’s mainly because we’ve already used up all our snow days, so cancelling the whole day would have cut into spring break, and no one wants that. So in our two hours of free time, my five year old son and I did what most families did, I’m sure. We filled out NCAA tournament brackets. I did mine, and Sloan did his. If Sloan wins, he doesn’t have to put his clothes away for a week. If I win, well, there’s nothing on the table, but I’ll probably feel less guilty when I eat half his Halloween candy next year.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:58 pm
Wed March 20, 2013

Herbert London: Starting Over

Dr. Herbert London

The baseball gods regard spring training as a time of renewal. There aren’t any losses. All teams have the same record and players abound in hope for the future. Young pitchers are promising and Las Vegas odds are meaningless. Baseball heaven has angels dancing over the outfield.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:30 pm
Tue March 19, 2013

Stephen Gottlieb: The Choice of a Pope

I have held back from talking about the choice of a pope. After all, a pope is a decision to be made by and for our Catholic brothers and sisters. And it seems improper for non-Catholics to get into that issue.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:45 pm
Tue March 19, 2013

Richard Iannuzzi: New Yorkers Speak, but Do Legislators Hear?

The first signs of Spring are often its sounds—the first chirping robin, the honking of geese travelling North or the crack of the bat at a ballgame on a crisp afternoon. 

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:34 pm
Tue March 19, 2013

Paul Elisha: No Race Prejudice in America? Take Another Look

With the sum of today’s techno-centric capability at unbelievable levels of accomplishment, in this nation, it’s hard to believe that America’s biggest problem is still race prejudice – specifically and sadly, prejudice of Whites against Blacks.  As the Nobel Prize recipient for literature, in 1992, Derek Walcott put it:  “There are no large issues in America, outside of race.”

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:37 pm
Mon March 18, 2013

Blair Horner: Health Inequality Grows

It’s well established that the income gap between rich and poor in America has increased over the past few decades.  Income inequality among developed nations is highest in the United States.  Most of the growth in this inequality has been between the middle class and top earners, with the disparity becoming more extreme the further one goes up in income.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:45 pm
Mon March 18, 2013

Rob Edelman: The Not-So-Wonderful Oz

Why does Hollywood remake or rework classic movies? Why would moviemakers want to improve on what is universally acknowledged as perfection, or at least near-perfection?

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:20 pm
Mon March 18, 2013

Liz Benjamin: Light and Shade

Liz Benjamin
Credit YNN, Capital Tonight

Governor Cuomo made a big show last week of marking Sunshine Week - a national initiative launched in 2005 by the American Society of News Editors to highlight the importance of open government and the dangers of excessive and unnecessary secrecy.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:30 pm
Sat March 16, 2013

Bob Goepfert - “Five Guys Named Moe” at Cohoes Music Hall

“Five Guys Named Moe” is a trifle but what a delicious trifle.  The musical playing at Cohoes Music Hall through March 17 is a delicious piece of entertainment.

Read more

Pages