Commentary & Opinion

Commentary & Opinion
3:35 pm
Tue February 26, 2013

Stephen Gottlieb: The Disfunctional House

I’ve spoken often about why sequester type budget cuts threaten a weak economy and can worsen the debt. Today I want to talk about history.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:43 pm
Tue February 26, 2013

Paul Elisha: Liberty and license in our democracy

With the aggressive and all-encompassing advent of computer-driven technology, to the seeming Nth degree, in American socio-economic activity, one wonders if reliable public enlightenment is still possible, via the welter of virtual warfare, between what was once the professional informational media establishment and the so-called ‘Social Media’ horde that now threatens to obliterate it?

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:45 pm
Mon February 25, 2013

Blair Horner: Sequestration Comes to Albany

The nation faces its latest budget crisis resulting from gridlock in Washington.  On March 1, budgetary “sequestration” kicks in.  Barring an unlikely last-minute deal, about $85 billion is set to be cut from military, domestic and certain health care programs beginning this Friday.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
1:51 pm
Mon February 25, 2013

Rob Edelman: The Bad... And the Good

During the first months of each new year, movie theaters are overcrowded with generally dreadful films: throwaways with such less-than-appealing titles as A GOOD DAY TO DIE HARD and BULLET IN THE HEAD or moronic comedies like IDENTITY THIEF that somehow clean up at the box office or well-intentioned films like SIDE EFFECTS, a murder mystery which also explores the issue of prescription drug abuse but is way too fanciful and crammed with plot holes. 

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:43 pm
Thu February 21, 2013

Richard Iannuzzi: Standing Up for Equity in Education

Richard Iannuzzi: Standing Up for Equity in Education

Many listeners of this radio station awakened recently to the news that the teachers union has gone to court seeking to have New York State’s property tax cap declared unconstitutional.

The property tax cap is, understandably, very popular.  And, as president of New York State United Teachers, I suspect our decision to challenge it will be unpopular.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:43 pm
Wed February 20, 2013

Keith Strudler: Miami vs NCAA

It’s been the best of times, and the worst of times for the University of Miami athletics. On the one hand, the Hurricanes have the number two men’s basketball team in the country, which is quite something for a school that usually sees basketball as simply a bridge between bowl season and spring football.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:14 pm
Wed February 20, 2013

Herbert London: The President’s Hard Authoritarianism

Herbert London - The President’s Hard Authoritarianism

For most of Barack Obama’s first term as president he talked passionately, if not persuasively, about the need for national unity. Even the Stimulus Bill – largely a laundry list of pent up Congressional desires – was described as a national effort to get the economy moving. His prime legislative initiative, Obamacare, was advertised as a way to extend medical coverage for those without insurance. Of course, it nationalized one-seventh of the American economy and set the stage for unprecedented government expansion. Although it may be premature to attach historical labels to the president’s first term, I think his record displays what might be called “soft authoritarianism.”

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:30 pm
Tue February 19, 2013

Stephen Gottlieb: More on drones

In prior commentaries I have spoken about the moral and constitutional issues in targeting people for assassination, by drones or otherwise. Today I’d like to look at the problem coldly, and try to assess whether and when those moral arguments have consequences on our effort to end terrorism. In particular, what should we make of the Obama Administration’s use of drones abroad to kill those it labels enemies. Plainly al-Qaeda has few scruples; why should we? Should we “fight fire with fire” or “sink to their level” to use two common expressions?

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
11:41 am
Tue February 19, 2013

Paul Elisha: Carve to all...

With the dawn of this storm swept year of Two Thousand and Thirteen, there’s much more than coastline geography, that appears to have been swept away.  Most of those watching The TV Weather Channel or scanning their I-Pads won’t be aware of it but the Art of Conversation has also been swept away.  Not much of a loss, to those hip-deep in complaints to local officials or state and federal politicos but a guy, named Jonathan Swift, who wrote about this subject more than three-hundred years ago, would counsel that the speediest way to action on any subject is via the path of free and forthrig

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:15 pm
Mon February 18, 2013

Rob Edelman: The 21st-Century Movie-Going Experience

These days, movie-going can be an expensive proposition-- and I would hate to have to plunk down some hard-earned money in the hope of finding relaxation in a darkened movie theater and end up sitting through a comedy that is crass and unfunny or a thriller that simply is not thrilling, not to mention the very real possibility that the person sitting next to me will be yapping away on his or her cellphone while I am trying to soak in all the on-screen dialogue.

Read more

Pages