Commentary & Opinion

Commentary & Opinion
12:30 pm
Thu January 10, 2013

Sean Philpott: The Importance of Being Fat

Sean Philpott

Sean Philpott - the importance of being fat

For many Americans, the New Year is often a time to look back on both the successes and failures of the past. More importantly, it is also a time to look forward and to think about the changes we want or need to make in order to live happier and healthier lives.

Read more
11:36 am
Thu January 10, 2013

James Taylor for Senate?

Lead in text: 
WAMC's Alan Chartock was quoted in a recent story on Politico regarding the James Taylor possibly wanting to fill Massachusetts Sen. Jon Kerry's Senate seat
Ben Affleck has bowed out, but now another famous name has been floated for Massachusetts Sen. John Kerry’s seat, MassLive.com reports: A public radio broadcaster is now encouraging singer/songwriter James Taylor to enter the race for John Kerry’s U.S. Senate seat. Alan Chartock is president and CEO of WAMC/Northeast Public Radio, an Albany,...
Commentary & Opinion
12:36 pm
Wed January 9, 2013

Herbert London: Fascism In America

Herbert London

It is often argued by critics of the Obama administration that it is socialistic,  i.e. expanding governmental authority over the means of producing and distributing goods.  Alas, there is something to be said for this point of view.  As I see it, however, a more accurate way to describe the Obama government is corporatism or a political system in which the principal economic functions are designated and given favorable treatment.  The most appropriate way to assign meaning to this phenomenon is fascism.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:40 pm
Tue January 8, 2013

Paul Elisha: I, the people

A strange and disturbing anomaly: How such self-anointed and selfishly directed, sectarian extortionists, like Grover Norquist and Ralph Reed can assert that they are appropriate spokespersons for the aspirations of any legitimate group of American citizens?  Any proud and proven representative of today’s news media, who still retains a shred of professional self-respect, should reject this notion.  The profit-pointed interest of these adventurers’ involvements should serve to stress their up-to-no-good intentions, to the most disinterested observers of Public Interest activity.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:35 pm
Tue January 8, 2013

Stephen Gottlieb: Global warming demands a BTU tax

Last night at the Egg I heard Bill McKibben talk about climate change. I was very proud of Joe and Alan and WAMC for organizing it and proud of the WAMC audience for coming out in droves to hear him. The message he brings is not a happy one but it is a message we have to hear and understand; more, it’s a message we have to act on.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:17 pm
Mon January 7, 2013

Blair Horner: From one cliff to the next

Blair Horner
Credit C.W. McKeen / The Post - Standard, 2006

After long and contentious negotiations that extended late into New Year’s Day, Congress passed a measure to at least temporarily avert the most immediate consequences of the so-called “fiscal cliff.”  As you no doubt saw in media coverage over the holidays, on New Year’s Day Democratic and Republican leaders settled on a fared-down package of income tax rate increases for the well-to-do and did little on spending reductions.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
1:05 pm
Mon January 7, 2013

Liz Benjamin: Gun control battle is joined

Liz Benjamin
Credit YNN, Capital Tonight

Gov. Andrew Cuomo will deliver his third annual State of the State address Wednesday in the Empire State Plaza Convention Center.

A tip for first-time attendees: Don’t check your coat. The governor likes to keep things cold. 

Cuomo has declined to keep up the tradition of official pre-speech leaks. But he has dropped hints about the topics he'll be discussing, including responses to the two highest-profile tragedies of recent months: Superstorm Sandy and the Sandy Hook massacre.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:42 pm
Mon January 7, 2013

Rob Edelman: The Best and the Worst, Part 2

Argo, box office poster

Two of the year’s very best films-- and these are must-see items-- are arriving in movie theaters at the tail-end of 2012. They are Quentin Tarantino’s DJANGO UNCHAINED and Kathryn Bigelow’s ZERO DARK THIRTY, and they are as different as TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD and a Hope-and-Crosby road picture. But DJANGO UNCHAINED and ZERO DARK THIRTY are not the only must-see films released during the year. Some also are big-budget items that feature A-list directors and major stars. Others are more modest independent titles or foreign films.

Read more
11:16 am
Sat January 5, 2013

Predictions for the New Year

Lead in text: 
Alan Chartock is back with his annual predictions for the new year. What does he see happening in 2013?
It's time for my fearless New Year's predictions. Here are the rules: some of these will be based on things that I want to have happen. Others will be conjured up to put a hex on things that I don't want to see happen, while still others are things that I believe actually will happen.
Commentary & Opinion
3:29 pm
Wed January 2, 2013

Keith Strudler - Pennsylvania v. NCAA

It seems the topic of the hour is government spending.  So I’ll continue that dialogue, at least as it pertains to the state of Pennsylvania.  The current governor of that state Tom Corbett is angry about $60 million of state funds that are scheduled to be spent largely out of state.  It’s a result of the penalty levied by the NCAA on Penn State for its part in the recent child abuse scandal in its athletics department.

Read more

Pages