Commentary & Opinion

Commentary & Opinion
12:45 pm
Wed September 19, 2012

Paul Elisha: On Israel and the 2012 U.S. Presidential Race

For those of the Jewish Faith, Rosh Hashannah – the start of a new year – is also a time to clear the air of misunderstandings and settle differences… clear one’s conscience for new and more hopeful achievements.  That said, it is shocking and hurtful, that the present Israeli Prime Minister has contaminated a pure and practically endless stream of friendship and support from the United States, with harsh complaints of dissatisfaction and veiled threats of blackmail, unethically and mischievously inserted for the first time ever, into American Presidential politics, by an ungrateful benefi

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:35 pm
Wed September 19, 2012

Herbert London: The Emerging Islamic Challenge

As the winds of Islamism blow across North Africa yielding unsettling horror, the American version of Neville Chamberlain sits in the White House, incapable of real action, but immersed in rationalization. Yes, the president did repudiate State Department moral equivalence (i.e. “offensive” film equals justifiable homicide). But he is inert, a model of confusion.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:40 pm
Tue September 18, 2012

David Nightingale: 2 Hospitals

 In the 19th century, Joseph Henry, first director of the Smithsonian, refused any salary increases, saying that public servants were there to serve, rather than to enrich themselves.

 Now, there are two hospitals in Kingston NY – the Benedictine Hospital, a Catholic hospital (founded on its present site in 1906), and the non-sectarian Kingston hospital (founded in 1894), institutions in which, over the years, my family and I have had sundry  procedures, such as appendix, hernias, and so on.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:35 pm
Mon September 17, 2012

Blair Horner: End of year federal budget cuts could mean more cancer

The White House today released a report on the impact of mandated budget cuts scheduled to go into effect on January 1, 2013.  The cuts are mandated under the Budget Control Act of 2011, which arose for the debate over the debt ceiling last year. 

The Budget Control Act required an automatic $1.2 trillion in cuts if the Joint Select Committee on Deficit Reduction (also known as the “Super Committee”) failed to agree on budget cuts on its own – which it failed to do.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:35 pm
Mon September 17, 2012

Rob Edelman: Standing Out from the Crowd

In all the years I’ve been attending the just-concluded Toronto Film Festival, I have never received so many emails from publicists alerting me to screenings or inviting me to attend media events or parties associated with specific films. There is a special sense of urgency to many of these emails, which feature phrases like “Film Alert,” “The Best Suspense Thriller at the Festival,” “Must-See Documentary,” Invite Reminder,” “Rising Norwegian Film Talent,” and “Exclusive Website premiere” in their subject lines.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:33 pm
Mon September 17, 2012

Liz Benjamin: Cuomo's Endorsements

When it comes to endorsements in last week's primaries, Gov. Andrew Cuomo is five for five.

All three of the Senate Democrats endorsed by the governor - via press release - in the week before the elections and both Assembly Democrats were successful at weathering challenges from fellow party members.

The three senators, Adriano Espaillat, Toby Ann Stavisky and Neil Breslin, won by wide margins.

Ditto for Assemblymen David Gantt and Sean Ryan.

Arguably, Cuomo didn't really have all that much on the line in these races.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:45 pm
Thu September 13, 2012

Karen Hitchcock : Election 2012 - The Democratic Education Platform and a Comparison to the GOP

In my last commentary I reviewed the major elements of the Republican education platform. Since then, the Democratic Platform has been passed, a platform which addresses a number of policy areas dealing with both K-12 and higher education, and not surprisingly, reflects a number of programs begun during President Obama’s first term in office.   

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:34 pm
Wed September 12, 2012

Herbert London: Why Obama Loses In November

The polls don’t indicate it and my colleagues don’t believe it, but I think there are many reasons to assume Mitt Romney will be the next President of the United States. For one thing, the Romney candidacy is less significant than what is emerging as a referendum on the Obama presidency. President Obama has gone negative attempting to point out why voters should not support Romney, but he has not provided a narrative for his own support. In fact, with an approval rating of 47 percent he is losing the pro Obama constituents.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:27 pm
Tue September 11, 2012

Stephen Gottlieb: Elizabeth Warren in Massachusetts and Neil Breslin in New York

In most political campaigns, I don’t know any of the contestants personally. I vote based on what I can glean about them. But I do happen to know some of the candidates this time. So let me comment about a couple of people I know in two races in the area reached by this station.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:33 pm
Tue September 11, 2012

Paul Elisha: The Tip of My Nose

Question:  In a nation in which individual freedom is its most telling characteristic, how and why would church organized and ordained control of religious belief and practice become the most actively initiated and consistently sought-after power; second only to influence of the political system itself?

Read more

Pages