Commentary & Opinion

Commentary & Opinion
12:20 pm
Tue October 23, 2012

Paul Elisha: On paper in the digital age

The poet Frank Bidart’s “Inauguration Day,” composed for President Barak Obama’s first Inaugural, began with these lines: “Staring out across America I see, since Lincoln, gunmen nursing fantasies of purity betrayed, dreaming to restore the glories of their blood and state.”  These words projected a hope of return to earlier times of repression and the glory of purity restored.  It’s a hope that obviously lingers for some.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:40 pm
Mon October 22, 2012

Rob Edelman : Much to Ponder

On rare occasion do I see a film that so challenges me, that has so much going on in it, that I come out of the theater thinking, “I must give this movie a second look.” One such film is CLOUD ATLAS, which I saw at the Toronto Film Festival back in September and which I will re-see upon its theatrical release.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
5:01 pm
Thu October 18, 2012

Eliot Spitzer - 2nd Presidential Debate

Photo: Andre Pilarczyk

Toe to toe, interruption to interruption, like two gladiators they squared off in the arena. Candy Crowley's best efforts to maintain order couldn't survive the testosterone battle that played out before us. It was not only great TV, but a superb debate. The key takeaway: Barack is back and moderate Mitt can't survive careful scrutiny. 

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:25 pm
Thu October 18, 2012

Sean Philpott: Now Entering the Health Care Spin Zone

Last Tuesday night was the second of three scheduled presidential debates, with President Obama and Governor Romney going toe-to-toe before a public audience at Hofstra University.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:25 pm
Wed October 17, 2012

Herbert London: Mismatch: A Book With Sensible Proposals on Affirmative Action

In a recent book entitled Mismatch: How Affirmative Action Hurts Students Its Intended To Help, and Why Universities Won’t Admit It by Richard Sander and Stuart Taylor, the authors identify reforms that could make a difference in dealing with this ticklish racial issue, reforms, as I see it, that are eminently sensible.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:35 pm
Tue October 16, 2012

Stephen Gottlieb: This is an emergency

During the fund drive I heard Joe Donahue and this station working hard to bring Bill McKibben to this audience and lead us away from the catastrophe of global warming. He and the station did a great service and I am proud to be associated with them.

If your house was on fire you wouldn’t stand like a bystander waiting for it to collapse; you’d call the fire department and get anyone you could reach out of there fast.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:35 pm
Tue October 16, 2012

Liz Benjamin - The Strange Bedfellows of Campaign Season

Two endorsements made yesterday in state Senate races proved - yet again - that old adage about the game of politics and the strange bedfellows its players choose as they seek to achieve, maintain or consolidate power.

The first came from Gov. Andrew Cuomo, who is now two for two, technically speaking, in bestowing his general election support on fellow Democrats.

Cuomo's first nod went to Sen. Joe Addabbo, one of the Senate Republicans' top targets this fall who is facing a spirited challenge from a GOP rising star, New York City Councilman Eric Ulrich.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:25 pm
Tue October 16, 2012

Paul Elisha: Great Spirit

If ABC-News journalist, Martha Raddatz had done nothing else, in last week’s highly charged and hugely watched Vice-Presidential Campaign Debate but to question both the incumbent and his opponent about their respective religious beliefs, she would have made a memorable contribution.  As it turned out, she made several of which this question was not only most revealing but for this observer, the most provocative.  While both Congressman Ryan and Vice President Biden expressed strikingly different views about their shared religious faiths, as Catholics, the most revealing aspect of their an

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:30 pm
Mon October 15, 2012

Blair Horner: Help to discover new cancer treatments

For many of us, our civic participation begins and ends with voting.  Though voting is crucial to the health of our democracy, few of us have the opportunity to take part in something that can really change the lives of people all around the world.

One of those rare opportunities has just come our way.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:30 pm
Mon October 15, 2012

Rob Edelman: No Trouble With Eastwood

TROUBLE WITH THE CURVE, the latest Clint Eastwood movie, is as predictable as, well, any Hollywood movie could be. For one thing, the good guys and bad guys in the film are clear cut and, if you are accustomed to the typical “and-they-all-lived-happily-ever-after” Hollywood scenario, you can pretty much figure out where this film is headed.

Read more

Pages