Commentary & Opinion

Commentary & Opinion
3:48 pm
Mon April 29, 2013

Blair Horner: Sequester Cuts Begin To Bite

Americans are starting to feel the bite of the federal sequestration.  Sequestration is the term referring to the automatic, across-the-board budget cuts in the federal government’s domestic and military budgets.  Sequestration went into effect last month when Congress was unable to agree on an alternative.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:36 pm
Mon April 29, 2013

Rob Edelman: Seniors On Screen

Films like AMOUR, QUARTET, and THE BEST EXOTIC MARIGOLD HOTEL, all released last year, examine the lives and dilemmas of senior citizens. All were high-profile, but they are not the only current films whose characters are coping with old age.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:40 pm
Fri April 26, 2013

Andrew Coates: A Near Miss

Many years back during my residency training, on my first overnight as the senior admitting resident, I got a call from an emergency physician at a tiny rural hospital. Her patient had pulmonary emboli -- blood clots to arteries of the lungs. She proposed to transfer the patient to our hospital, where closer monitoring would be available.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:36 pm
Thu April 25, 2013

Karen Hitchcock: The Minerva Project -Ben Nelson’s Vision for Higher Education

Ben Nelson, former CEO of Snapfish, an online photo service, is determined to stand higher education – at least part of it - on its head.  His goal is a simple one: provide large numbers of intellectually-gifted students with an education which will challenge them and prepare them to be the “thought leaders” of tomorrow.  The approach Mr. Nelson has laid out to do this “breaks the rules” in many ways, and has been variously described as daring and innovative by some, and ineffective, reckless  and over-reaching by others.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:37 pm
Wed April 24, 2013

Keith Strudler: NFL Anti-Discrimination Policy

Kicker Alan Gendreau is hoping to make an NFL roster this year. That’s true for a lot of people right now, with the pro football draft coming Thursday followed by weeks of free agent signings and trades and mini-camps and all the things teams go through to cut down to their game day rosters. Since Gendreau is a kicker, and he sat out last year after finishing his career at Middle Tennessee State, it’s not likely you’ll hear his name on ESPN’s live draft broadcast, even in the late rounds when all but the truest diehards have switched over to The Voice or something. Picking a kicker in the NFL draft is like ordering a diet coke at Serendipity. Just not entirely satisfying.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:33 pm
Wed April 24, 2013

Herbert London: Terrorism We Encourage?

The two Boston bombers were born in Dagestan and despite their alleged grievance over the treatment of Chechens, never lived there. For law enforcement officials and counter-terror experts this radical view that inspired their heinous act is a conundrum. Even President Obama asked plaintively, “Why did young men who grew up and studied here, as part of our communities and our country resort to such violence?”

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:33 pm
Tue April 23, 2013

Stephen Gottlieb: Responding To Tragedy

Shortly after I walked out of the studio last week having recorded a piece on taxes, the news started to bristle with reports of the two bombs that exploded near the finish line of the Boston Marathon. Part of me wanted to rush back in and record something different. I’d lived a few blocks away, have many friends in Boston, shuddered for the people killed and injured, and shared the reaction that this looked like an attack on our country, on all of us. I was speechless.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:46 pm
Tue April 23, 2013

Audrey Kupferberg: Beatrice Lillie

ON APPROVAL, a British drawing room comedy from 1944, has just been released on Blu-ray.  At a glance, this film would seem to be Clive Brook’s showpiece, since he produced, directed and co-stars.  He also adapted Frederick Lonsdale’s smash hit play from 1926.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:38 pm
Tue April 23, 2013

Paul Elisha: Courageous Voices Needed To Save America!

When the conservative-driven hierarchy of the U.S. Supreme Court dared to re-design the framework of corporate essence into a temporal twin of individual human qualities and characteristics, it did so without a schematic of definitive qualifications.  As a result, the outcome was essentially left “up-for-grabs.”  In American political parlance, that translates into the singular forensic phrase:  “To the highest bidder.”

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:47 pm
Mon April 22, 2013

Andrew Coates: The Human Consequences of Austerity

I live in upstate New York. If you're hearing this, chances are you do too.

Read more

Pages