Commentary & Opinion

Commentary & Opinion
11:25 am
Thu June 14, 2012

Sean Philpott: Preparing for PrEP

 

An estimated 34 million people around the world are infected with HIV, the virus that causes AIDS. Most of these individuals live in developing countries, but approximately 1.2 million Americans are infected. At least of third of those living with HIV/AIDS in the US are unaware of their status.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:20 pm
Wed June 13, 2012

Herbert London: Betrayal From Within

 

It is axiomatic to suggest that if there are three Jews in a room there is likely to be nine opinions – each one shaped by a view of reality. As a consequence, there are dozens of Jewish organizations representing every political opinion and judgment under the sun. However, on one matter there was usually convergence, the welfare of Jewish life and the state of Israel.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:16 pm
Tue June 12, 2012

Paul Elisha: On the Tolerance for Difference

The currently dis-United States of ours has arrived at a trying juncture, in its turbulent tribulations, to determine the actual status of its democratic durability.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
11:32 am
Wed June 6, 2012

Herbert London: The Muslim Brotherhood Charm Campaign

 

The Muslim Brotherhood charm campaign in the U.S. has officially been launched. Now that the Brotherhood is no longer an opposition group, but a political juggernaut controlling a majority of the seats in Egypt’s parliament, a series of meetings with experts in the U.S. have been organized to convince the wary that they are far more moderate than their reputation suggests.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
11:49 am
Tue June 5, 2012

Paul Elisha: Freedom and Chaos

 

Max Frisch, the 20th Century Swiss architect, novelist, playwright, philosopher wrote of many things but on one subject, he was most intensely prescient.  Of technology, he wrote—“Technology is the knack of arranging the world, so that we don’t have to experience it.”

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:15 pm
Mon June 4, 2012

Rob Edelman : A Rediscovered Classic

GANJA & HESS, which dates from 1973, is one of those films that can be labeled a forgotten classic. The reason why it is forgotten is that too few moviegoers saw it during its all-too-brief original theatrical run. But now, decades later, the uncut version of the film, which was written and directed by Bill Gunn, is available on DVD.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:45 pm
Fri June 1, 2012

David Nightingale : Internet Etiquette

The word 'etiquette' reminds me of vicarage ladies discussing which way their pinkies ought to point when holding a tea-cup, but I use the word here with respect to the problem of friends who don't, can't or won't, respond.

I don't email much, and typically my 'you have mail' box may have anything between zero and three new emails each morning. I know people who apparently receive as many as 80 a day, excluding advertising! (How such a phenomenon occurs I'm not sure. They must be very talkative.)

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:45 pm
Thu May 31, 2012

Karen Hitchcock: Degree Programs in the U.S. - Do They Miss the Mark?

Over the last several months, concerns regarding our nation’s system of higher education have continued to escalate…concerns regarding cost, quality, rigor and, yes, even long-term value.  And, as we all know, the employment opportunities for recent graduates of our institutions of higher education, particularly those who have earned a baccalaureate degree, have decreased substantially, despite the fact that members of the nation’s high technology sector have stated that there are not sufficient numbers of U.S.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:26 pm
Tue May 29, 2012

Stephen Gottlieb: Public Broadcasting

Commentary & Opinion
12:28 pm
Tue May 29, 2012

Paul Elisha: Where Have All the Old Soldier Gone?

Wordsworth defined poetry as – “The spontaneous overflow of powerful feelings…”  There are times when we poets have no other recourse.

WHERE HAVE ALL THE OLD SOLDIERS GONE?
(Drums and Echoes Redux, May 31- 2012)
By Paul Elisha

Have you noticed, the swagger goes first?
A feeling, that despite all the other
Endless vestments of equivalence
Yours were somehow different, is by some
Inscrutable mystique now retrospect.

Read more

Pages