Commentary & Opinion

Commentary & Opinion
3:52 pm
Wed September 10, 2014

Keith Strudler: Ray Rice, Domestic Violence And The NFL

It’s a safe default to assume you’re always being watched. The notion of privacy is as antiquated as afternoon tea time and top hats. Particularly if you’re somebody, you live your life as if it’s on TV.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:44 pm
Wed September 10, 2014

Herbert London: No Strategy?

Since 9/11/01 the United States has been engaged in a struggle against radical Islam. The enemies have a variety of names from ISIS to al Qaeda, from Boko Harem to the Muslim Brotherhood, from Hamas to Hezbollah, but they are all active in the name of Islam and all have an imperial goal of creating a caliphate. Tactics may vary; yet they consistently maintain an extreme level of violence as a source of intimidation.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:52 pm
Tue September 9, 2014

Stephen Gottlieb: A View Of The Ballot

I got on line the other night to see what to expect at the voting booth today. We have all been hearing about the primary races for Governor and Lieutenant Governor, although polls tell us that lots of people haven’t heard of Zephyr Teachout and Tim Wu, or if they’ve heard the names don’t know why. That’s clearly not true of WAMC listeners. But what else is on the ballot? Actually plenty.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:52 pm
Mon September 8, 2014

Blair Horner: Medical Safety In New York

Well-known comic Joan Rivers died last week.  Ms. Rivers was reportedly undergoing an endoscopic procedure to repair her vocal cords.  She was having the procedure in an outpatient setting – meaning it occurred outside of a hospital.

Read more
Sports
3:52 pm
Wed September 3, 2014

Keith Strudler: Roger Federer

 You know what they say in sports. There’s nothing like that 18th title. That’s the mantra right now for tennis star Roger Federer, who’s hoping to do just that in this final week of the US Open. Federer will play Gael Monfils in the quarterfinals, the next match in what has been a relatively simple run towards the event’s final weekend. Federer would be a favorite in both this match and the semifinal, although could face the top seeded Novak Djokovic in the final, if all stays to form. Djokovic defeated Federer in the Wimbledon final earlier this year, which some assumed might be Roger’s last chance, as they say.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:46 pm
Wed September 3, 2014

Herbert London: The Horror Before Us And The Sound Of Silence

Simon and Garfunkel sang about “the sounds of silence,” that moment when you want to shriek in the face of conspicuous silence. Alas, we are experiencing this condition as the West intentionally reverses its gaze from the horrors committed in the name of Allah and cannot summon the voice to say “no.” We are reliving the late 1930’s – 1940’s when the world refused to acknowledge the bloodshed foisted by every step of jack-booted Nazis.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:52 pm
Tue September 2, 2014

Stephen Gottlieb: Forcing Us To Live In An Immoral World

We are increasingly being forced to live in an immoral world. The radical wrong has hijacked the very idea of morality so that it no longer has anything to do with helping our neighbor. We're not supposed to lift a collective finger for our fallen fellow citizens. Nothing for the unemployed, nothing for people who have been defrauded out of their homes, nothing for unions, and no taxes from those who benefit most from America's wealth – and who are coincidentally disinvesting in America.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:52 pm
Sun August 31, 2014

David Nightingale: August 2014

It's still summer time, but there've been a few unwelcome yellow leaves in our road.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
2:58 pm
Fri August 29, 2014

The Control Room Challenge

At the beginning of October comes the next fund drive. Before you groan, please try to remember how much these drives mean to the continuation of the station that you listen to and depend on.  Sooner or later, someone has to pay the piper. The only way that we can be sure that WAMC remains in its present form – with the freedom to say what we want, preserve balance, and operate as we have been doing -  is for each person to do what they can. When that happens, when everyone pitches in, the station flourishes. I was recently at Tanglewood and several folks came up to say hello. They proudly announced that they loved the station and were members. Obviously, I thanked them with everything I had in me. That’s because when someone tells me that they understand, I am incredibly, personally and humbly grateful. I know that every day people tune in and often stay tuned in. They often tell me of things that I haven’t heard and I am grateful for that, too.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:51 pm
Thu August 28, 2014

Sean Philpott-Jones: The Boys In The Ban

For over 30 years now, the United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has banned blood donations from gay and bisexual men. It is a lifetime ban. Currently, no man who has ever had sex with another man can donate blood in the US.

Read more

Pages