Commentary & Opinion

Commentary & Opinion
12:45 pm
Tue April 29, 2014

Paul Elisha: War And Peace

In the realm of recorded religious history, regardless of geographic location or form of belief, disagreements that evolve into armed violence mostly have been the result of familial differences, fuelled by ill defined loyalty and interference by meddlesome outsiders.  These invariably have led to blood feuds, unresolved to this day.  Those who interpose themselves as mediators, well meaning or not, are doomed to certain and expensive failure.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:50 pm
Mon April 28, 2014

Blair Horner: Voting In New York

The US Census published a report on voting in America last week that was the usual – the nation’s voters don’t go to the polls as often as they should and in some parts of the country, like New York, and for some age groups – mainly young voters – the turnout has been dreadful.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:50 pm
Thu April 24, 2014

David Nightingale: Small Towns

When considering a place to live, many people go for small towns, where there is frequently friendliness, trust, character and beauty. Additional qualities such as farmland, rivers, possibly mountains are all part of the mix, as are coffee shops, a book store, a library, maybe even a college campus. Fresh air is a plus – and maybe some trails for walking or biking.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:50 pm
Thu April 24, 2014

Sean Philpott: Income Inequality and Health: Can the Poor Have Longer And Better Lives?

The issue of income inequality has been in the news a lot lately. The gap between rich Americans and poor Americans has grown considerably since the 1970s. The United States now ranks first among the developed nations of the world in terms income inequality as measured by the Gini coefficient, a way of describing the distribution of wealth in a society. Globally, we're fourth overall, surpassed only by Lebanon, Russia and the Ukraine.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:42 pm
Wed April 23, 2014

Herbert London: Torquemada Invades America

Torquemada has landed in America. This nation of free and open inquiry has been seized by totalitarians who refuse to entertain other points of view. The debate about global warming is over say adherents of this position. When, if ever, has the debate about any scientific issue been over?

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:50 pm
Tue April 22, 2014

Stephen Gottlieb: Ukraine — The Limits Of Power

It's worth another look at Ukraine. Americans have taken a principled pro-democracy stand. But before we get too self-congratulatory, let's find a little perspective.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:50 pm
Tue April 22, 2014

Bob Goepfert Reviews "Boeing, Boeing"

There’s a thin line between a funny play and a farce.  It’s as subtle as the difference between humor and comedy.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:50 pm
Mon April 21, 2014

Blair Horner: Health Inequality Grows

A recent report by the New York Public Interest Research Group (NYPIRG) took a close look at how companies weigh some of the non-driving related factors when they provide price quotes to consumers.  What NYPIRG found was startling.  All else being equal, for three of the top five insurers in New York, a low wage worker with a high school degree could pay anywhere from 19%-41% more than a college educated professional for the exact same coverage.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:31 pm
Mon April 21, 2014

Karen Magee: Let’s Hit The Re-set Button

A brief introduction is in order.

My name is Karen Magee. I’m an elementary school teacher from Harrison, and mom to three great kids — the youngest in high school.  My grandmother, Helen, was a member of the International Ladies Garment Workers … and she always told me that a woman’s place is in her union.  Earlier this month, when I became the first woman elected president of New York State United Teachers, I knew that she would be proud.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
11:25 am
Sun April 20, 2014

Jeffrey Reel : Resistance to Change

Why are we not fully embracing, and running with, clean, renewable technologies? One reason is because of white fogies like me. Let me explain.

Let’s start with a quiz:  Can you identify the following country?  It must satisfy all of the following criteria:

1.  It is the world’s leading manufacturer, and exporter, of airplanes, automobiles, appliances, weapons and steel.

Read more

Pages