Commentary & Opinion

Commentary & Opinion
3:28 pm
Mon July 9, 2012

Blair Horner: A New Attack on Health Care

No sooner had the U.S. Supreme Court ruled in support of the constitutionality of the federal health care reform law, than a new attack was launched on health coverage for the poor.

One provision of the Affordable Care Act dramatically expanded the Medicaid program – which provides health insurance for the poor.  The ACA requires that states have to expand coverage to those who make just above poverty level.  If a state refused the expansion, the federal government would withdraw its funding of that state’s program.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:24 pm
Mon July 9, 2012

Rob Edelman: Take This Relationship

Lately, there have been some very interesting female characters appearing in movies. These characters are young-- they are in their twenties-- and the stories that spotlight them deal with issues involving romance and commitment.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:33 pm
Fri July 6, 2012

Michael Meeropol: Some Disturbing Implications of the Results from the Recall Election in Wisconsin

My wife, Ann and I have fond memories of the time we lived in Wisconsin.  I got my Ph D from the University of Wisconsin in Madison.  Ann, taught in the public schools and our son was born in Milwaukee.  We have always had a great deal of respect for the great progressive traditions of the State of Wisconsin.

Thus, when Governor Scott Walker introduced a budget bill into the State Legislature that would not merely cut pensions of government workers but strip them of all collective bargaining rights, I was heartened by the outpouring of opposition within the state.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
11:44 am
Wed July 4, 2012

Herbert London: The Supreme Court Uphelds ObamaCare: A Sad Day For America

 

The America I love is disappearing from the public scene. When the Supreme Court ruling upheld the constitutionality of ObamaCare, a disturbing and, in my opinion, dangerous precedent has been created, one not different from the “separate but equal” precedent behind Plessy v. Ferguson. A majority court decision confirms the view that there are virtually no limitations on the power of Congress. Using a latitudinarian interpretation of the Commerce Clause, Congress can mandate almost anything.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:31 pm
Tue July 3, 2012

Franz Litz: Answering Climate Change Deniers

 

The 4th of July holiday is here and for many of us that means gathering with family and friends. Inevitably at these gatherings, the subject of work comes up. My work focuses on climate change. Like religion and politics, climate change can make for some lively conversation.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:26 pm
Tue July 3, 2012

Paul Elisha: The Sum of Its Parts

 

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:08 pm
Mon July 2, 2012

Blair Horner: Health Care Reform Takes a Big Step Forward

 

Last week, the U.S. Supreme Court upheld the federal health care reform law which is critical to improving access to quality, affordable health care for people with cancer and their families.

The ruling is a victory for cancer patients and survivors nationwide, who for decades have been denied health coverage, charged far more than they can afford for lifesaving care, and forced to spend their life savings on necessary treatment, simply because they have a pre-existing condition.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:50 pm
Mon July 2, 2012

Rob Edelman : 3-D

Back in the early 1950s, 3-D was a gimmick employed by Hollywood to lure back into theaters patrons who were abandoning moviegoing in favor of sitting at home in their easy chairs and staring at what then was new and novel: their just-purchased television sets. And these days, in case you haven’t noticed, there has been a resurgence of 3-D in movie theaters.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:45 pm
Thu June 28, 2012

Karen Hitchcock : Higher Education at a Crossroads - Will Innovation Trump Tradition?

Let me start today’s commentary on innovation in higher education with a brief scenario.  A college professor, along with a group of teaching assistants and upper-level undergraduate students, organized his freshman physics section of some 200 students into multiple small groups to discuss the lecture they all had  already heard on-line by a Nobel Laureate who was not only an exceptional physicist, but also an exceptionally engaging teacher .   The two-hour class flew by as each small group discussed the concepts presented by the Nobel Laureate, and developed experiments to demonstrate thei

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:28 pm
Wed June 27, 2012

Herbert London: Freedom and Constraints

 

In a nation obsessed with creativity, freedom is the exalted position. For freedom gives meaning to our actions. Yet it is the defect of ideology to assume action is reducible to one simple principle, a uniquely explanatory element. In reality, freedom is a complex and composite affair.

Read more

Pages