Commentary & Opinion

Blair Horner: Some Good News

Aug 17, 2015

The scandals and controversies that have engulfed Albany surely feed public cynicism.  However, the vast majority of the time, government is providing services that help people, and it does so in a reasonably efficient and ethical way.

After a lot of arm twisting, the Gulf Arab states publicly backed the Obama administrations nuclear agreement with Iran. On the surface, this appears as a diplomatic victory for the president as he seeks to build support for his signature foreign policy initiative. But is this true?

Stephen Gottlieb: Government And Our Trip South

Aug 11, 2015

Many people in this country believe that the Founding Fathers established our Constitution to get government off of people’s backs. My wife and I just traveled to North Carolina where that idea is big. They expect people to take care of themselves without the help of the nanny state. We are all expected to earn and pay our own way.

Herbert Wolff Reviews "Macbeth"

Aug 11, 2015

Lovers of Shakespeare attending a performance of Macbeth await the familiar opening curtain and the appearance of three witches dancing around a boiling cauldron and the familiar lines: “Double, double…toil and trouble.”

Blair Horner: Ethics Stays In The News

Aug 10, 2015

When Albany is in the dog days of summer, it is usually quiet at the state Capitol.  Lawmakers are doing whatever they do during the summer and, in recent decades, the governor is usually downstate.

Herbert Wolff Reviews "Frankie and Johnny"

Aug 9, 2015

Here’s a recipe.

Michael Meeropol: Black Lives Matter

Aug 7, 2015

Recently, at the convention of Netroots Nation Presidential candidates Martin O’Malley and Bernie Sanders were confronted by members of the audience demanding that they address the BLACK LIVES MATTER movement.   Both men missed the opportunity to show that they GOT IT.

Rogovoy Report for August 7, 2015

Aug 7, 2015

We are in the home stretch of the summer cultural season in our region but there are still plenty of things to do and see.

About a century ago there was no switch we could flip to cool things down, except perhaps for a simple fan... but now, in sweltering and humid summers we have much to thank Mr Willis Carrier for.

Willis Haviland Carrier's family came from New England. His male ancestor emigrated from Wales in 1663, and married an early settler from Massachusetts, a woman who was later accused of being a witch because she defied the Andover town fathers in a boundary dispute. Refusing to admit to being a witch she had been hung from the gallows in Salem.

  ‘Shipwrecked,' being produced by Saratoga Shakespeare at the back box theater at Skidmore College in Saratoga Springs, is a very theatrical event in which three actors play 25 roles and create a number of locales with minimal scenery and costumes.  It’s an often funny work that is deliciously performed and imaginatively staged.   

The humor is not always laugh out loud, but it always charming enough to bring a smile to your face.