Commentary & Opinion

Commentary & Opinion
3:52 pm
Tue October 14, 2014

Stephen Gottlieb: War On What - Crime Or The Poor?

  Many of us have realized that sending troops into some areas can be counter-productive. No matter how many the Israelis kill, more Palestinians prepare to fight them. Our boots on the ground in Iraq and Afghanistan led many to take up arms against us. To them, we were the invaders.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:23 pm
Thu October 9, 2014

Sean Philpott-Jones: Fever Pitch

Public concern about Ebola reached a fever pitch this past week, no pun intended, following the revelation that a patient in Dallas was infected with this deadly virus.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:23 pm
Wed October 8, 2014

Herbert London: What Israel Faces

While the anti-Zionists are busily scurrying about thinking of ways to yet again chastise Israel for defending itself, it seems to me important that the public understand what this Jewish nation faces.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:25 pm
Mon October 6, 2014

Rob Edelman: The Biz of Show Biz

Here is a story that mirrors what one might describe as the business of show business.

One afternoon during the Toronto Film Festival, I planned to attend a press-and-industry screening of GIRLHOOD, a French-made coming-of-age drama. I knew nothing about GIRLHOOD, but the film sounded interesting and film festivals are ideal venues for discovering and savoring under-the-radar titles. But when I arrived at the festival screening room, I was told that the GIRLHOOD screening had been postponed until later that evening. The reason was that THE JUDGE, the new, high-profile Robert Downey, Jr./Robert Duvall film, needed to be shown instead. Apparently, THE JUDGE had been scheduled for unveiling to the press earlier in the day in one of the festival’s larger venues but, for whatever reason, that screening was postponed. It was rescheduled into four smaller theaters. One was the venue in which GIRLHOOD was supposed to be shown.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:53 pm
Sun October 5, 2014

David Nightingale: Some Roman Writings

When Julius Caesar marauded his way across Europe and England, with his legions and wooden boats, shields and swords and arrows, he later wrote much of these adventures down, either on papyrus scrolls or wax, but although the mighty Roman Empire was formed from barbaric warfare and killing, there were many Romans constructing bridges and aqueducts, poems and books. Much of this is still in evidence today – for example, the aqueducts feeding Rome, and the writings of the likes of Ovid and Catullus and Pliny.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:50 pm
Sun October 5, 2014

Sailing Between The Clearwater And The October Fund Drive

I recently sailed on the Sloop Clearwater for the first time. It was all thanks to the Osborne Foundation, who generously donated the sail to WAMC so fast-pledging listeners could sail. From my perspective as the Fund Drive Manager, it was the official wrap-up of the June Fund Drive. But for me personally, it was a privilege. A privilege made all the better from lousy weather.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:52 pm
Fri October 3, 2014

Michael Meeropol: Carbon Tax With The Revenue Rebated As A Dividend Is an Oustanding Policy Idea

Back in 1993, the original proposal from the Clinton Administration on how to close the budget deficits that they had inherited upon taking office included a revenue raiser called a BTU tax --- a tax on the amount of energy (measured in British Thermal Units) contained within all fuels sold.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:52 pm
Thu October 2, 2014

Karen Hitchcock: The Ebola Outbreak - The Need For An Abundance Of Caution

Yesterday, we all woke up to the news that the first case of Ebola in the United States had been confirmed in Dallas, Texas. A person recently arrived from Liberia, here to visit family, was admitted to Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital and is currently being treated for the disease. Dr. Tom Frieden, head of the “CDC”, the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, has stated that he is confident that this single case will be contained.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
12:46 pm
Wed October 1, 2014

Herbert London: Iran - An Ally, An Enemy, A Surrogate?

The Obama Middle East foreign policy lens is focused on one issue at the moment: the defeat of ISIS. In pursuing this goal, the Obama team is seeking allies including former enemies such as Iran, notwithstanding claims to the contrary. While the U.S. now sees Iran as a potential stabilizing force in Iraq and Syria, Tehran is chafing at what it considers the tough negotiating stance of the U.S. on its nuclear program.

Read more
Commentary & Opinion
3:52 pm
Tue September 30, 2014

Stephen Gottlieb: Facts And Fiction

Professor Stephen Gottlieb discusses the gulf between political rhetoric and fact.

Read more

Pages