hurricane

wikipedia.org

A Capital Region native is back from Saint Thomas in the U.S. Virgin Islands after riding out not one, but two hurricanes. Kinderhook, NY native K.J. Nelson spoke to WAMC News today from Plymouth, Massachusetts where his wife will stay for her pregnancy. He returned ten days ago from Saint Thomas and plans to return there Thursday.

Jeff Goodell is a contributing editor at Rolling Stone and the author of five books, including How to Cool the Planet: Geoengineering and the Audacious Quest to Fix Earth's Climate, which won the 2011 Grantham Prize Award of Special Merit. Goodell's previous books include Sunnyvale, a memoir about growing up in Silicon Valley, which was a New York Times Notable Book, and Big Coal: The Dirty Secret Behind America's Energy Future.

His new book, is The Water Will Come: Rising Seas, Sinking Cities, and the Remaking of the Civilized World and he will discuss it at Northshire Bookstore in Saratoga Springs, NY tonight and at Northshire Bookstore in Manchester, VT on Friday.

An image of Hurricane Camille in 1969
wikipedia.org

With the recovery from Hurricane Harvey underway, there is growing concern about Hurricane Irma, a major storm that could hit Florida later this week.  It was just over 48 years ago that another deadly and destructive storm slammed into the southern U.S.  

An image of Hurricane Harvey
NASA

United Way of the Dutchess-Orange Region is coordinating a supply drive through Thursday, September 7 for items need by residents of Texas impacted by Hurricane Harvey.

National Guardsmen help with search and rescue
Department of Defense

WAMC's David Guistina talks with Judy Patrick of the Daily Gazette about Hurricane Harvey, and effects that local residents will see on gas prices due to oil refineries in Texas being offline.

wikipedia

The 2017 Atlantic hurricane season is two months old, but historically it is time for people on east coast of the United States to start paying attention to storm activity over the ocean. 

FEMA app Main Menu
FEMA

Summer is here, with hazy, hot and humid days that can give way to dangerous storms. It’s also hurricane season — and as the Northeast has learned in the past several years, we’re not immune.   FEMA is helping people prepare for severe weather with a new smartphone app.

  Adam Johnson is a winner of the Pulitzer Prize for his acclaimed novel about North Korea, The Orphan Master’s Son.

Johnson’s new book - Fortune Smiles – is a collection of stories that gives voice to the perspectives we don’t often hear, while offering a new way of looking at the world. The collection was just named a National Book Award finalist.

Courtesy NOAA

 Governor Cuomo says he’s already making  preparations in case Hurricane Joaquin hits New York full force in the coming days.

Cuomo says he’s staffing up emergency operations centers, notifying national guard offices that they might have to be deployed,  and having work crews clear any trouble spots known to be prone to flooding, even though the track of the storm is still somewhat uncertain.

WAMC Photo by Dave Lucas

The National Hurricane Center in Miami has generated a forecast track for Hurricane Joaquin that closely follows the path Superstorm Sandy took, raising a New York City strike higher on the list of possibilities. Even if it’s downgraded to a tropical storm, Joaquin may pack the punch of an Irene or Lee.   "Preparedness" is the buzzword.

  Congressman Chris Gibson of New York’s 19th District was still active military when Hurricane Katrina struck the Gulf Coast 10 years ago.

In today’s Congressional Corner he speaks with Alan Chartock hurricane preparedness and severe weather recovery.

  In the tradition of The Great Gatsby and Mrs Dalloway, Samantha Bruce-Benjamin delivers insight into five minutes in the life of a celebrated Hamptons society hostess, set against the backdrop of The Great Hurricane of 1938.

Her new novel is: The Westhampton Leisure Hour and Supper Club. The novel is based on historical research about the Hamptons at the peak of its grandeur, the devastation that the 1938 hurricane wrought, and a real supper club called The Leisure Hour and Supper Club.

This week marks the seventh anniversary of one of the country's deadliest hurricanes. New Orleans and the Gulf Coast are still recovering from the devastating damage and loss of life caused by Hurricanes Katrina and Rita — the storm that would follow.

WAMC

Thirteen students from six Vermont colleges and universities are spending their summer working on long-term recovery projects from storm Irene.

The group in charge is the Vermont Campus Compact's Statewide Internships for Vermont Recovery. The program is starting today.

The undergraduate and graduate students will take on a variety of projects that range from working with flood survivors to improving emergency response plans. They will take part in the continuing cleanup effort and assess environmental damage following the storm last August.

WAMC

With the start of the 2012 Atlantic hurricane season less than a month away, hundreds of people attended a hurricane preparedness conference Wednesday in central Massachusetts.  WAMC’s Paul Tuthill reports…

The director of the National Hurricane Center, Bill Read urged hundreds of public safety officials not to be in denial when they see a forecast that has a hurricane tracking to New England.

Read said since 1990 hurricane tracking errors, 48 hours from landfall, have been cut in half. But forecasting a storm’s intensity remains tricky…

WAMC

  With the start of the 2012 Atlantic hurricane season  23 days away,  hundreds of people attended a hurricane preparedness conference Wednesday in Massachusetts.. The first of its kind event was hosted by the Massachusetts Emergency Management Agency.   WAMC’s Pioneer Valley Bureau Chief Paul Tuthill reports.